TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-09-2005, 09:42 PM   #1 (Print)
tgaynor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 136
Send a message via AIM to tgaynor
Replacement HD TiVo coming

I thought I posted the below yesterday, but I can not find it. SO here it is again. If I am posting somehting that I should not and it is being removed for that reason, please let me know.

My HDMI port is bad and DirecTV is send me a new one. Can I take my drive form my current HD TiVo and put them in the new one I am getting from DirecTV?

I ask because I have about 50 hours of HD material that I have not watched yet.

Thanks
tgaynor is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2005, 09:51 PM   #2 (Print)
HomeUser
Registered User
 
HomeUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: A2 Michigan
Posts: 529
is this it? http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-v...2&&#post3547942

I Know nothing about HD TiVos but I'll respond anyway
Probably not, most newer TiVo's encrypt there programs to a key on the main board.
HomeUser is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2005, 08:39 AM   #3 (Print)
mikeny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 168
I wonder if you you could switch HDMI ports and tell them your original unit is working again and you would rather like to send back their replacement.

Caution: If it doesn't work and you screw up the new card, you will need another replacement.

__________________
HR10-250 (63 Hours HD)
Sony KD-34XBR960
CM 4221
Harmony 688
mikeny is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2005, 03:47 PM   #4 (Print)
litzdog911
TechKnow Guide
 
litzdog911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mill Creek, Washington
Posts: 7,860
Send a message via AIM to litzdog911
You cannot simply swap the drives to preserve your existing recordings. While the drive will work, assuming it's not damaged, you'll need to perform a "clear and delete everything" before you can use it in the new DVR. This is due to the encryption that HomeUser mentions above.

__________________
Sony SAT-T60 120GB (v3.1.0c2)
HR10-250 HiDef 250GB (v3.1.5f)
R10 80GB (v6.1-01)
Sony SAT-A4, B4 Receivers
Sony KV-40XBR800 HDTV
litzdog911 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2005, 05:05 PM   #5 (Print)
tgaynor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 136
Send a message via AIM to tgaynor
Quote:
Originally Posted by litzdog911
You cannot simply swap the drives to preserve your existing recordings. While the drive will work, assuming it's not damaged, you'll need to perform a "clear and delete everything" before you can use it in the new DVR. This is due to the encryption that HomeUser mentions above.


So I am going to lose all my recordings. That's not good.

Can I follow the advice above from Mikeny and switch out the HDMI car from the new one?
tgaynor is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2005, 05:30 PM   #6 (Print)
litzdog911
TechKnow Guide
 
litzdog911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Mill Creek, Washington
Posts: 7,860
Send a message via AIM to litzdog911
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgaynor
....

Can I follow the advice above from Mikeny and switch out the HDMI car from the new one?


Yes, as long as that's really the problem. There is chance that you'll swap the HDMI cards and discover the problem still remains.

If it were mine, I would just watch those old recordings (using component or composite video instead of HDMI/DVI), then send back the defective Tivo. Especially if the replacement is much newer than your old HR10-250.

__________________
Sony SAT-T60 120GB (v3.1.0c2)
HR10-250 HiDef 250GB (v3.1.5f)
R10 80GB (v6.1-01)
Sony SAT-A4, B4 Receivers
Sony KV-40XBR800 HDTV
litzdog911 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-11-2005, 08:35 AM   #7 (Print)
mikeny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 168
Just wanted to mention also that the HDMI port was reported to be redesigned after 2004 so there may be compatibility issues as well as far as swapping them.

__________________
HR10-250 (63 Hours HD)
Sony KD-34XBR960
CM 4221
Harmony 688
mikeny is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index