TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-15-2005, 09:43 PM   #1 (Print)
lapaul
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
can I replace 160 gb drive with 30gb on sony svr2000

The 16o GB maxtor B drive on my Sony svr2000 died on me


I bought it modified by previous owner with two 160 Maxtor Drives and it worked for about a year then recently the B drive died


(The A drive still runs but the B drive died)

I still have the original 30 gb drive that came with the unit

I took out the 160 GB A and B drives and put in the original 30 GB drive in the A position
and the unit now works (but with only 30 or so hours recording time)


I'd like to be able to install the remaining working `160 GB drive which had been in the A slot
so I have a total of 190 GB at least till I figure out what to do next

Can I simply keep the 30 GB drive as A and put in the
160 GB drive in the B slot,

or can I put the 30 GB drive in the B slot and the 160 GB in the A slot

or do I have to do something more complicated to be able to use these two drives

and if so what

I'm reluctant to put drives in various places until I get further instructions
lapaul is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-15-2005, 10:28 PM   #2 (Print)
funtoupgrade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 911
I'm not sure it really matters which drive goes where since if one of them fails the unit does not work. You will need to "marry" the 160GB drive to the 30GB drive. I would recommend hooking up both drives per Hinsdale, making a backup of the 30GB then restoring the image to the new drive, then mfsadd them to work together. You may have to mess with unlocking the original Sony drive per Hinsdale. They can get locked again after unlocking so it is always wise to check.

__________________
funtoupgrade

TiVo 240060 with 200GB Seagate (wireless)
Humax DRT800 with 160GB Seagate (wired)

Anywhere from 0-10 misc. standalones waiting for upgrades for resale on eBay.
funtoupgrade is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-15-2005, 10:30 PM   #3 (Print)
classicsat
Astute User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 7,949
I'd keep the 160 alone as A. I wouldn't risk adding an older drive as B.

If you really insist on it, you can.

__________________
TCD240080, 160 GB HDD.
FC3 Linux box running Galleon.
TiVo desktop on XP machine.
classicsat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index