TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-29-2005, 10:02 AM   #1 (Print)
rick123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 124
Netgear FA111 wired network!!!

Finally got my tivo's hardwired onto my network with the FA111 adapters. Nothing to it. Just plug the adapter into the back of the Tivo, connect the adapter to the router (5 port extension hub from the router in my situation), and...that's it! Tivo recognizes the adapter and gets an IP address and DCN(?) automatically and your done.

What a difference from wireless (MA111 and WG111 adapters)!!!!!!

With both Tivo's wired, I transferred a 1 hour show between Tivo's in 26 minutes. I was able to watch the show while it transferred without any "hickups".

I'm gonna transfer a show onto my desktop now and see how fast it is (I'll report back).

Wired in the way to go if you have a choice!

__________________
Rick
(2)540040s w/200gb Seagates (Lifetime/2nd)
Both w/FA111 Wired Adapters

See my 540040 upgrade story here:
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb/showthread.php?t=222913
rick123 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2005, 09:21 AM   #2 (Print)
RaGINaR
Hose Handler
 
RaGINaR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Frozen North!!!
Posts: 388
Send a message via AIM to RaGINaR
I was amazed at how my connection improved just by making the Tivo "wired" and putting my computers wireless. I can almost watch a show live now, I give it a 10-minute buffer and it'll make it through a 2 hour movie no problem.

Wired is definitely where it's at though.

__________________
"Mad Dog"

R540040 - 336 hours + lifetime subscription w/ Netgear WG111.
R240080 - 376 hours + lifetime subscription. (Mom's)
RaGINaR is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2005, 04:21 PM   #3 (Print)
VinceA
Registered User
 
VinceA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bayonne, NJ
Posts: 939
Send a message via ICQ to VinceA Send a message via AIM to VinceA
We're all wired here (TiVo-wise). I've said it before and I'll say it again.... if it doesn't move, wire it. I save wireless for the laptops around here. We get great transfer speeds around here, at least in my opinion.
VinceA is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2005, 09:41 PM   #4 (Print)
DocNo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 181
Arrow

It's not that wireless sucks, it's that Tivo's wireless implementation sucks.

I have two Tivo's, each connected to each other wirelessly by having each Tivo with a wired USB adapter, and then plugged into Apple Airport expresses via ethernet.

From Tivo's perspective, they are wired since I am using wired ethernet adaptors. The AE's basically act as bridges. I get similar transfer times as others mention here for wired connections, without having run any cable anywhere. Works like a champ (plus I can stream music - even protected ITMS music - to my stereo from my laptop or desktop).

I imagine you would get similar results with other wireless bridge/adaptors, I've just never used 'em
DocNo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Coffee House - TiVo Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index