TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-27-2005, 09:42 PM   #1 (Print)
cdorval
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10
HR10-250 or Plain Old H10 ??

I have an R10 Directivo that the Mrs. can't watch TV without. I jumped on the free H10 to dabble in HD. I'm hooked on the HD & the Mrs. is hooked on the R10. She won't consider watching live content. Does this sound like the correct componet is a HR10-250? I'm trying to determine if what I really require is a $400 outlay for 1 box that does it all, or continue to pay for 2 separate boxes. Is it a no-brainer? Is the HR10-250 the right choice now at $400? Is it stable? Comments wanted. Thanks ...
cdorval is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-27-2005, 11:18 PM   #2 (Print)
ebonovic
A TiVo Junkie...
 
ebonovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tinley Park, IL USA (SW ChicagoBurbs)
Posts: 8,245
The HR10-250 is the only DirecTV HD-DVR....

You won't be able to "TiVo" and HD content from an H10/H20 to any TiVo of any type.

I have had the HR10-250 since day one, and thus I watch the greater majority of my proramming via HD... worth every penny, but only if you can get your locals (either via OTA or from the SAT).

Where are you located... As DirecTV is rolling out HD Locals via SAT, but that will require the Q1/2006 release HR20-250 (which is NOT a TiVo based unit, but it will be an HD-DVR)

You may want to wait for a little while.

__________________
- Earl (XBL: Fontano)
Favorite 05/06 TV Lines: Karma! ; Suit Up! ; Legendary.....

Non-TiVo DirecTV DVR (R15,HR20) ->
DBSTalk
ebonovic is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-28-2005, 06:45 PM   #3 (Print)
samberger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 11
so i have what i think is a similiar (or maybe same) question. i'm planning on moving to hd d*tv shortly(like next week...). i live in the sf/bay area, which has recently switched over to mpeg4. i presently have a an r10 d*tv/tivo. would i be able to combine this box with the h20 hdtv receiver so that i could still use tivo(i know, i wouldn't be able to record in hd)? my hope is that i can put off going to the all in one hdtv tivo receiver until the mpeg4 version is available.

also, with mpeg4 up and running, is there any reason that i would also need an ota antenna in addition to the dish?

thanks very much!
samberger is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > HDTV TiVo Powered PVRs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index