TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-17-2005, 08:03 PM   #121 (Print)
nlayton
;)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by technojunkie
I love all this talk about satellite updates. Folks those updates involve things like scheduling and which channels you receive. Software is updated via the phone line or internet if you've put in a hack. Both of my units were updated yesterday by a forced call. The calls took nearly an hour. Don't think you'll get the software by sat and the phone call just riggers it. Ain't so. Get your unit to a phone line and dial in. This upgrade doesn't sound anything like the one for TGO. No special list just dial in.



I tried this right after reading your post. No dice. I did not get the upgrade. So I tried again about 8 hours later on the theory that there was no special list, guess what, still no upgrade. SO there is a list of some type (controlled rollout) wether it's special or not is still to be determined.

__________________
THREE SD-DVR40 --> 243 Hrs
THREE HDVR2 --> 240 Hrs
HR10-250,SA2
Happiness is a warm TiVo!
nlayton is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-17-2005, 09:13 PM   #122 (Print)
KrazyKevin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Liberty, TX
Posts: 102
Are my 2 DSR7000's going to get the upgrade?
KrazyKevin is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-17-2005, 09:17 PM   #123 (Print)
rminsk
TiVoted TiVo User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 3,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by KrazyKevin
Are my 2 DSR7000's going to get the upgrade?
Yes

__________________
Be vewy vewy quiet. I am squirrel hunting.
rminsk is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-17-2005, 09:21 PM   #124 (Print)
rminsk
TiVoted TiVo User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 3,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by technojunkie
I love all this talk about satellite updates. Folks those updates involve things like scheduling and which channels you receive. Software is updated via the phone line or internet if you've put in a hack. Both of my units were updated yesterday by a forced call. The calls took nearly an hour. Don't think you'll get the software by sat and the phone call just riggers it. Ain't so. Get your unit to a phone line and dial in. This upgrade doesn't sound anything like the one for TGO. No special list just dial in.
Yup it is so! The software gets downloaded from the satellite and activated by a phone call. It will only update on the phone if you missed the satellite download. What version did you update to? 3.1.1e? 6.2 is not out yet. Your machine was most likely not hooked up when the software was available in the satellite stream.

__________________
Be vewy vewy quiet. I am squirrel hunting.
rminsk is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-17-2005, 09:44 PM   #125 (Print)
dtivofan23
TiVo addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 511
i also disagree that the software update is downloaded through the sat. once i had disconnected my tivo for over a month and also removed the tivo package from my account. when i decided to reactivate the tivo and add the packagae back to my account, that same night i connected the unit and dialed in. the call took a hour and a half and after restarting the unit it had upgraded the software. now unless directv sends these new software version to its entire subscriber base then the tivo activates it with the call, i still think the software comes through the phone.

also why would the tivo need to be connected for the entire call, why wouldnt the call just trigger the upgrade have the unit disconnect and then upgrade the units software? maybe some of you folks can answer these questions

__________________
ayooooo
dtivofan23 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-17-2005, 09:48 PM   #126 (Print)
rminsk
TiVoted TiVo User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 3,940
The software is streamed as part of the night download over the satellite and sits on your hard drive until told to be activated over the phone. It is only streamed during the nightly download for about a week or two and not every night. If your machine does not have the new software image sitting on the hard drive and is told to activate it with the phone call it will download it over the phone. If you hack your unit you can see when a new version of the software is downloaded. In fact the last time because a mistake by DirecTV my series 1 DirecTiVo downloaded all the images for all the DirecTiVos including series 2 machines. Since the series 1 was never told to activate the series 2 software it was not a problem. Before the 3.x release all software was done over the phone.

__________________
Be vewy vewy quiet. I am squirrel hunting.
rminsk is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-17-2005, 09:51 PM   #127 (Print)
dtivofan23
TiVo addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 511
hmm sounds plausable. now how do you know all this info,and im not trying to be insulting or sarcastic, i really just wanna know.

__________________
ayooooo
dtivofan23 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-17-2005, 10:32 PM   #128 (Print)
dtremain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 972
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtivofan23
hmm sounds plausable. now how do you know all this info,and im not trying to be insulting or sarcastic, i really just wanna know.
Many of the people on this board are in the industry.
dtremain is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-17-2005, 10:44 PM   #129 (Print)
bnm81002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,359
there have been reports of people getting the 6.2 upgrade over at the other forum(DDB), anyone here has gotten it yet?

__________________
Philips DSR704(2 of these)
Pioneer DVR810H
bnm81002 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-17-2005, 10:51 PM   #130 (Print)
dtivofan23
TiVo addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 511
what other forum?

__________________
ayooooo
dtivofan23 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-17-2005, 10:54 PM   #131 (Print)
bnm81002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtivofan23
what other forum?




deal data base

__________________
Philips DSR704(2 of these)
Pioneer DVR810H
bnm81002 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-18-2005, 07:02 AM   #132 (Print)
Martin Tupper
Not Actual Size
 
Martin Tupper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: ther nipular region
Posts: 905
Quote:
Originally Posted by bnm81002
there have been reports of people getting the 6.2 upgrade over at the other forum(DDB), anyone here has gotten it yet?


Just the same (erroneous?) report from TecknoJunkie and another from someone who was beta tester.

Nothing to see here folks. Move along.

__________________
Laugh while you can, monkey-boy
Martin Tupper is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-18-2005, 10:21 AM   #133 (Print)
MichaelK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtivofan23
hmm sounds plausable. now how do you know all this info,and im not trying to be insulting or sarcastic, i really just wanna know.

or they frequent the boards at at deal data base. There is alot of information over their because all hacking talk not involving theft is allowed. Here the hacking talk is somewhat restricted so the more serious hackers hang out other places.

For example- the other boards have been talkign about installing 4.0 for a year or maybe even 2. It was a banned subject on this board until a few weeks ago.
MichaelK is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-24-2005, 02:59 PM   #134 (Print)
DerekBalderson
Noob
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 21
my tivo usually knock sheculed call ack days back after I call in, but it has been set for Sat at 1:00 after 3 days of forced calling. does this mean something?
DerekBalderson is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-24-2005, 03:09 PM   #135 (Print)
loubol
There is no spoon!
 
loubol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Jose CA
Posts: 47
Direct Tivo's get new software updates over satalite and are activated via a phone call as discussed many times in this forum. However if your software version is very old (say you've been disconnected for a few months, or restored an old image) upon your first phone call in it will download the lateset version over the phone line. I recently had a HD die and restored an old image to a new hard drive and upon the first call it dloaded the lateset software (which took over an hour).
loubol is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-24-2005, 04:03 PM   #136 (Print)
DerekBalderson
Noob
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 21
i know, could it want it to call in on Sat to activate it, because it has never done this before
DerekBalderson is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-24-2005, 04:45 PM   #137 (Print)
TeeVoo43
Information Hound
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Boston
Posts: 63
Can you force the call to start the download if you don't want to 'wait' for it?
TeeVoo43 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-24-2005, 05:01 PM   #138 (Print)
rminsk
TiVoted TiVo User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 3,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeeVoo43
Can you force the call to start the download if you don't want to 'wait' for it?
No. As covered sevel times in this thread, each night a subset of the machines are randomly choosen to be bumped up to the new version of the software. After your machine has been randomly selected to run the new version of the software on the next phone call it will activate it. The rollout process can take two to three months. After the initial rollout period is done all machines including new machines that have not been activated will default to the "latest" version of the software.

__________________
Be vewy vewy quiet. I am squirrel hunting.
rminsk is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index