TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2005, 04:51 PM   #1 (Print)
Tracy RainH2o
Photo Man
 
Tracy RainH2o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 265
Need Help Making the MFS TOOLS Boot CD

I am desperately trying to make the MFS TOOLS boot CD. I have the ISO image and saved it as a CD image in Nero. I even went so far as to make the boot floppy, which works fine. I can not get my computer to boot from the CD that I made.

Details:
1. Old as dirt P1 200 MHz computer: I didn't want to risk any of my newer PCs, in case I did something stupid.
2. Entered BIOS and set it to Boot from CD ROM
3. System says "Loading Boot Record from CDROM.."
4. I get "not found Boot Failure Reboot and select proper boot device or insert boot media in selected boot device"

Any ideas on what is wrong? It is definitively reading the CDROM drive as it power up, spins and the read light blinks. I realize that I can use the boot floppy that I made but my next step will be the LBA48 and The Zipper. Niether of these will boot from CD either. Thanks for any suggestions you may have.

I have a sledge hammer and I'm not afraid to use it.
My computer should be scared.

Last edited by Tracy RainH2o : 12-11-2005 at 04:52 PM. Reason: change post title
Tracy RainH2o is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-11-2005, 05:22 PM   #2 (Print)
Gunnyman
Hamob
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Beautiful Downtown Greenville SC
Posts: 9,368
when burning it in nero are you chosing cd image from the menu?

__________________
Gunny - have I told you that your avatar always makes me smile? Waldingrl
Zipper Wiki
Join us in Vegas!
Gunnyman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-11-2005, 05:25 PM   #3 (Print)
HomeUser
Registered User
 
HomeUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: A2 Michigan
Posts: 529
With Nero cancel out of the wizard select file->open select the mfstools.iso image file you downloaded then burn.
HomeUser is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-11-2005, 05:33 PM   #4 (Print)
Tracy RainH2o
Photo Man
 
Tracy RainH2o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 265
Gunnyman,

I used the "Burn Image to Disc" option. I thought it had worked because my Tools CD for The Zipper had all the correct files, except my 000001 image file.

I know that on The Zipper guide you state not to burn as an ISO 9660. However I do not have options either way. If I use the Nero drive info tool, it lists the disc as being "ISO9660,Joliet" Is this the problem?
Tracy RainH2o is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-11-2005, 05:38 PM   #5 (Print)
Gunnyman
Hamob
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Beautiful Downtown Greenville SC
Posts: 9,368
don't think so
when you explore your boot disc in XP, what do you see?

__________________
Gunny - have I told you that your avatar always makes me smile? Waldingrl
Zipper Wiki
Join us in Vegas!
Gunnyman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-11-2005, 05:47 PM   #6 (Print)
Tracy RainH2o
Photo Man
 
Tracy RainH2o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 265
Right now I am using my wife's work computer which has Windows 2000, which I dislike.

I have file folders:
FLOPPY , ISOLINUX, MFSTOOLS.2, OTHER
MFSTOOLS.DOC
MFSTOOLS.HTM

I created the boot floppy from the CD info. with no problems, but that doesn't help me with LBA48 of The Zipper. I did exactly what HomeUser did. Open the ISO file and burn it.
Tracy RainH2o is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-11-2005, 05:49 PM   #7 (Print)
Tracy RainH2o
Photo Man
 
Tracy RainH2o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 265
Maybe I need to bring one of my XP computers home from the studio and try it. They are all fairly new Dells. I just didn't want to risk a work PC.
Tracy RainH2o is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-11-2005, 05:51 PM   #8 (Print)
Gunnyman
Hamob
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Beautiful Downtown Greenville SC
Posts: 9,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tracy RainH2o
Right now I am using my wife's work computer which has Windows 2000, which I dislike.

I have file folders:
FLOPPY , ISOLINUX, MFSTOOLS.2, OTHER
MFSTOOLS.DOC
MFSTOOLS.HTM

I created the boot floppy from the CD info. with no problems, but that doesn't help me with LBA48 of The Zipper. I did exactly what HomeUser did. Open the ISO file and burn it.

ok
I suggest you get the 5 dollar disc linked in zipper directions and burn it instead.
You will get better results.

__________________
Gunny - have I told you that your avatar always makes me smile? Waldingrl
Zipper Wiki
Join us in Vegas!
Gunnyman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-11-2005, 05:59 PM   #9 (Print)
Tracy RainH2o
Photo Man
 
Tracy RainH2o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 265
If you are talking about the LBA48 4.01, I have it. Unless I missed something, it was available as a download. I can't make it work either.
Tracy RainH2o is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-11-2005, 06:01 PM   #10 (Print)
Gunnyman
Hamob
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Beautiful Downtown Greenville SC
Posts: 9,368
perhaps that old as dirt pc just can't boot from a CD very well.

__________________
Gunny - have I told you that your avatar always makes me smile? Waldingrl
Zipper Wiki
Join us in Vegas!
Gunnyman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-11-2005, 07:39 PM   #11 (Print)
Tracy RainH2o
Photo Man
 
Tracy RainH2o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 265
OK, I have it working now.

This may be the most basic Newbie mistake, but I'll admit to it. Maybe someone else can learn from my mistake.

I have more than a few CDs that I transfer files from work to home. Needless to say they already have a session written to them. I used these CDs to make my MFS TOOLS, LBA48 and Zipper boot CDs. Granted they had 98% of the total space left on them. Well I didn't read it anywhere but apparently it has to be a "virgin" for it to work. At least it did in my case.
Tracy RainH2o is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-12-2005, 11:03 AM   #12 (Print)
classicsat
Astute User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ontario Canada.
Posts: 7,949
That is the whole point. If you are worring about wasting a disc, use a CDRW, if the reader in the upgrade PC can read it.

__________________
TCD240080, 160 GB HDD.
FC3 Linux box running Galleon.
TiVo desktop on XP machine.
classicsat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-12-2005, 02:35 PM   #13 (Print)
Tracy RainH2o
Photo Man
 
Tracy RainH2o's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Georgia
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by classicsat
That is the whole point. If you are worring about wasting a disc, use a CDRW, if the reader in the upgrade PC can read it.



I was not worried about wasting a disc. I go through hundreds of CDR and DVDR discs each year. I was ready to work on it this weekend and all of my unburned CDRs were at my studio. I really didn't think it would make a difference.

After much digging, I found one unopened CD. Lesson learned.
Tracy RainH2o is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Underground Playground > TiVo Upgrade Center

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index