TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-09-2005, 07:58 AM   #1 (Print)
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,483
What is with the new software?

What is with the new software?
I find it harder to use, and it is too strealined. I still like the forum, but the money would have been better spent on more bandwdith to make sure there were no out of b/w messages on friday nights.

__________________
This new software is freaking me out
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime Activated 4/11/04
Bigg is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-09-2005, 08:17 AM   #2 (Print)
David Bott
Administrator
 
David Bott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Rochester, NY USA
Posts: 2,157
We have never been out of bandwidth. The software change was needed due to holes in the old code. We needed to get up to date with the software version.

Thank you.

__________________
David Bott
TiVo Community Admin
2006 Home Theater Cruise!
Now Booking For The Mexican Riveria!
David Bott is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-09-2005, 12:02 PM   #3 (Print)
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,483
Then the server was out of processing power, as there were messages that said somthing to the effect of "The server's self protection system is going into place so that the server will not crash or jam the connection and thus you cannot get on"
I just refreshed a few times and it even tually let me in.
Is there any way I can make it look like the old software in my perferences? It is totally different, and the old icons were a lot more distinct for new thrads and such.
What was wrong with the old software? From the point of view of an end user, it seemed to be working very well, except for the server/bandwidth overloading.

__________________
This new software is freaking me out
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime Activated 4/11/04
Bigg is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-09-2005, 12:39 PM   #4 (Print)
David Bott
Administrator
 
David Bott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Rochester, NY USA
Posts: 2,157
Oh...For one...No updates and holes in the code. New software more server friendly (thus less chang of the server is busy message.). More or less, if we didn't keep current you may have come to the site some day only to find it is gone because of a hole that a hacker get in though.

__________________
David Bott
TiVo Community Admin
2006 Home Theater Cruise!
Now Booking For The Mexican Riveria!
David Bott is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-09-2005, 12:48 PM   #5 (Print)
leesweet
TC Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northern VA (South Riding), USA
Posts: 1,788
Upgrades are a fact of life in the computer world... do you still run Windows 3.1 or Word 95?

If it makes things safer and faster without major changes, I'm all for it. It must have been a quick upgrade, since David was talking about the weekend, and now *poof* it's here.

__________________
-Lee (Two HR10s, one upgraded to 800 GB.)
leesweet is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-09-2005, 01:50 PM   #6 (Print)
sotapoppy
Member
 
sotapoppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 510
Send a message via Yahoo to sotapoppy
Is it just me? I have to hit my back icon 3 times to go back one page is the new software.

__________________
Ron
sotapoppy is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-09-2005, 01:54 PM   #7 (Print)
leesweet
TC Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northern VA (South Riding), USA
Posts: 1,788
It's you.. What browser? (FF and IE are fine for me...)

__________________
-Lee (Two HR10s, one upgraded to 800 GB.)
leesweet is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-09-2005, 01:55 PM   #8 (Print)
stujac
Blue Maven
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glenside, PA
Posts: 906
There's this new feature that doesn't allow 2 searches within a 15 second period??? Only problem, the first time I entered it was not a search. I checked a private message then went to hit "new posts" and got the 15 second message. Seems like a flaw. All in all, I miss the old forum.
stujac is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-09-2005, 02:05 PM   #9 (Print)
JayDog
TiVo'ing since '99
 
JayDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: W. Sakatomato, CA
Posts: 6,432
I like the change...

As David said in another thread... without change, things are just "ho-humm"

I was always a basic user here, in that I never really messed around with subscribing to threads, or any of the other features... with this new version, I am definitelly checking this stuff out, and like what I see.
JayDog is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-09-2005, 02:08 PM   #10 (Print)
sotapoppy
Member
 
sotapoppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 510
Send a message via Yahoo to sotapoppy
Quote:
Originally Posted by leesweet
It's you.. What browser? (FF and IE are fine for me...)


I'm using IE 6.0. But this occurs on both of my PCs. It didn't happen on either PC in the old software.

__________________
Ron
sotapoppy is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-09-2005, 02:25 PM   #11 (Print)
PJO1966
I'm baaaack!
 
PJO1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 5,569
The one thing I miss is the scroll that let you jump immediately to another forum. Now you have to click on the parent directory and then go to the forum you want to jump to. Am I missing something? This seems like a step backwards.

__________________
I like how your mind works! - Anubys
PJO1966 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-09-2005, 02:28 PM   #12 (Print)
JayDog
TiVo'ing since '99
 
JayDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: W. Sakatomato, CA
Posts: 6,432
The 'scroll' is at the bottom of the page...

I think I saw David mention that may be something he 'tweaks' to add the scroll forum menu to the top of the page like it used to be...
JayDog is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-09-2005, 02:34 PM   #13 (Print)
PJO1966
I'm baaaack!
 
PJO1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 5,569
Doh!

So sorry.

__________________
I like how your mind works! - Anubys
PJO1966 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-09-2005, 02:42 PM   #14 (Print)
leesweet
TC Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northern VA (South Riding), USA
Posts: 1,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotapoppy
I'm using IE 6.0. But this occurs on both of my PCs. It didn't happen on either PC in the old software.
Hm.. just tried it again with IE6, and no problem at all. I can't see what it would help, but you could try clearing your temp files (Tools | Internet Options).

I'm sure it's not a general issue or there would be a lot of posts about it... and David uses IE6, I believe, so, it's a puzzle.

__________________
-Lee (Two HR10s, one upgraded to 800 GB.)
leesweet is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-09-2005, 02:55 PM   #15 (Print)
sotapoppy
Member
 
sotapoppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 510
Send a message via Yahoo to sotapoppy
Quote:
Originally Posted by leesweet
Hm.. just tried it again with IE6, and no problem at all. I can't see what it would help, but you could try clearing your temp files (Tools | Internet Options).

I'm sure it's not a general issue or there would be a lot of posts about it... and David uses IE6, I believe, so, it's a puzzle.


My temp files, history, etc. are swept each time I shut my browser down. Just to check, I did a manual clearing with no effect to this problem.

__________________
Ron
sotapoppy is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-09-2005, 04:32 PM   #16 (Print)
Starrbuck
HD TiVonator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 507
Send a message via AIM to Starrbuck
I like the updated software as well. Looks great, works good. Thanks!

__________________
two HR10-250s (300GB and stock)
Starrbuck is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-09-2005, 07:04 PM   #17 (Print)
JimSpence
Finally own HR10-250
 
JimSpence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Binghamton, NY
Posts: 19,904
David,
Any chance that you will offer the option to use different "skins" like in "other" forums?
Maybe one would be more to the liking of some here?

See, I didn't start a new thread.

__________________
Jim
May all terrorists drop dead!
JimSpence is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-09-2005, 07:10 PM   #18 (Print)
David Bott
Administrator
 
David Bott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Rochester, NY USA
Posts: 2,157
They take time to build them Jim. But I hope to.

__________________
David Bott
TiVo Community Admin
2006 Home Theater Cruise!
Now Booking For The Mexican Riveria!
David Bott is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-09-2005, 07:33 PM   #19 (Print)
kenr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Florham Park, NJ
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to kenr
I wish there was a way to collapse all the vertical white space you get when peoples postings are only a sentence or two. The minimum height of each post has to be at least as tall as the leftmost block that contains the posting user, info, and a few tiny logos. I've turned off the avatars, but wish there was a way to minimize that data further .

On the positive side, I love seeing what was posted quoted in the email I receive when someone posts to a subscribed thread.
kenr is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-09-2005, 07:38 PM   #20 (Print)
JimSpence
Finally own HR10-250
 
JimSpence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Binghamton, NY
Posts: 19,904
Thanks, David. You da man!

BTW, how's the weather up there in my old college stamping grounds?

__________________
Jim
May all terrorists drop dead!
JimSpence is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 02-12-2005, 10:33 AM   #21 (Print)
Bigg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,483
The new thread button is on the wrong side, the sub thread option takes two steps, and takes too long to get out of mail notifications, so I get a ton of those spammy messages about thread replys and thus my email filter takes a while to get rid of them and download them, and yes, I actually do use 3.1 for work processing sometimes. I also have XP, OSX, CollegeLinux and of course Linux on my TiVo.

__________________
This new software is freaking me out
80 HR Series 2 Lifetime Activated 4/11/04
Bigg is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-21-2005, 09:00 AM   #22 (Print)
David Bott
Administrator
 
David Bott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Rochester, NY USA
Posts: 2,157
Back Button Issue...


A member who seemed to have found the problem was nice enough to send me this that he received from support of Spy Sweeper....


It sounds as if you have the Common Ad Site Shield on. Spy Sweeper comes with this defaulted off. If you have turned it on, you may want to turn this off. The Common Ad Site shield drops entries into the Host File so it will seem that turning off the Host Shield is fixing things.

__________________
David Bott
TiVo Community Admin
2006 Home Theater Cruise!
Now Booking For The Mexican Riveria!
David Bott is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-21-2005, 03:29 PM   #23 (Print)
dgh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 4,878
At the time of the other posts in this thread, I had the three button back issue too, but I never used Spy Sweeper or anything like that. The problem went away by itself months ago.

Originally, every time I clicked on anything, I could hear IE make 2 extra clicks - like the page had meta refreshes pointed at itself, and those were what I had to backout over.

But then one day, it just fixed itself.
dgh is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Forum Extras > Forum Operations Center

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index