TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-27-2005, 03:33 PM   #1 (Print)
Wonder_lander
Image Bank Manager
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Staffordshire, UK
Posts: 360
Lightbulb Guide data/no phoneline or network

Moved house on the 17th and despite my best efforts I have been unable to get NTL to install either a phone line or broadband. Tonight I took Tivo around to a mates house and used his internet connection to download the guide data. Unfortunately it seemed to stick at 98% for "Loading data" Due to time constraints I had to pull the plug and come home. I thought it might carry on "loading" but upon reconnection it just says that it failed. The system has updated the guide data date but the data doesn't appear to have been updated to the database.

Is there anything I can do with the data that has been downloaded to get it to update or am I stuck taking my tivo to a friends again?
Wonder_lander is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 09-28-2005, 02:22 AM   #2 (Print)
Wonder_lander
Image Bank Manager
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Staffordshire, UK
Posts: 360
No-one?
Wonder_lander is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 09-28-2005, 04:32 AM   #3 (Print)
terryeden
Re: Member
 
terryeden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Newbury
Posts: 121
If you've got a laptop, you could buy a 3G datacard, use that as your internet connection.

Or, use a 3G mobile to act as your internet connection. You could use a normal mobile - but the call would probably take a while.

T
terryeden is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 09-28-2005, 04:57 AM   #4 (Print)
Wonder_lander
Image Bank Manager
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Staffordshire, UK
Posts: 360
I've thought about this but how do I bridge the network?

I currently have.....Router > Tivo and Router to Wireless Access Point - Wireless links to PC and Laptop
Wonder_lander is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 09-28-2005, 06:15 AM   #5 (Print)
LeeK
Not a New Member!
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Reading, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 64
Not too sure but....

You could connect your phone to your laptop via cable or bluetooth. The software you (probably) got with your phone will enable the laptop to see it as a modem.

You could then enable Internet Connection sharing which I think makes your laptop look as if it has two network connections, bridging Internet traffic from the LAN card to the modem. This **should** enable traffic from your tivo via the laptop out onto the net.

Sorry its a bit vague but It's a while since I've played with Internet connection sharing but I'm sure if you have a look it is possible to achieve what you're after.....


Good Luck!

__________________
160GB TiVo UK, TiVoWeb 1.9.4, Cachecard 512MB, DisplayText, Folders,Manual Record
LeeK is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 09-28-2005, 06:19 AM   #6 (Print)
Wonder_lander
Image Bank Manager
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Staffordshire, UK
Posts: 360
Anyone know how big a download it will be, last sucessful call was the 15th September and it's the sky platform
Wonder_lander is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 09-28-2005, 08:47 AM   #7 (Print)
blindlemon
tivoheaven.co.uk
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Malmesbury, UK
Posts: 3,200
If the data slices are still lying around on your TiVo's drive then I believe you can force a load to the database manually - although I've never tried it.

OzTiVo would probably be a good place to find info about this sort of thing as they roll their own guide data over there.

__________________
6023, Lifetime, 240gb (Samsung) Sky, CacheCard, Mode 0, 100+ SPs/AWLs
6022, Lifetime, 160gb (Seagate), Freeview, Turbonet, Mode 0, 90+ SPs/AWLs
601E, Lifetime, ... my 'test' machine!
blindlemon is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 09-28-2005, 09:57 AM   #8 (Print)
Wonder_lander
Image Bank Manager
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Staffordshire, UK
Posts: 360
There seems to be a reference to do this:

Quote:
# Perform a Daily Call on your TiVo.
# After it succeeds, telnet to your TiVo and do force_index30.tcl. This prompts the TiVo to start incorporating the new data as soon as possible.
Wonder_lander is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 09-29-2005, 02:22 AM   #9 (Print)
Wonder_lander
Image Bank Manager
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Staffordshire, UK
Posts: 360
Took the machine to my mates again and used their Broadband....looks like I'll need to do this weekly until NTL get someone out
Wonder_lander is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-19-2005, 08:31 AM   #10 (Print)
benallenuk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 74
Hi guys, Im currently living at my girlfriends house over xmas, She never got around to getting a landline installed as she use her mobile contract instead. Im using ppp over serial to my laptop and then running my updates through GPRS, Ive also tried just dialing up to the internet through a data call, 9.6kbps, its a little slow around 1.1kb/sec but updates will go through ok. Ive only got Anloague Cable, so only 40 channels to get data for, wouldnt like to do an update if I had Sky, lol!

If your totallu stuck then it might help!

Ben

__________________
Series 1 Tivo with 120GB HD, Trust 400VA UPS. Tivoweb, TivoNet, External Streaming Video - spare pc!
benallenuk is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo UK

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index