TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-15-2005, 10:35 AM   #1 (Print)
MitchO
Blasphemer: Uses DVR
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lyndhurst NJ
Posts: 965
ABC joins hunt for Arrested Development

Read it this morning the NY Post. Unfortunately, www.newyorkpost.com is one of those newspaper sites that require a (free) log in to read the full article, but here's the initial quote:

Quote:
December 15, 2005 -- 'ARRESTED Development" could have a second life on ABC or Showtime.
"Conversations are ongoing with both networks," an industry insider told The Post yesterday.

Both networks are contemplating picking up the quirky, Emmy-winning Fox series, according to trade reports.

ABC "is having preliminary conversations" about acquiring the show, a network spokesman told The Post yesterday.
MitchO is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-15-2005, 11:00 AM   #2 (Print)
jeff125va
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Ashburn, VA USA
Posts: 1,987
Send a message via AIM to jeff125va
I'm surprised nobody mentions it more often, but maybe if Fox went all 3 hours of prime time, they wouldn't be cancelling shows like this all the time.

Unfortunately I think ABC would keep this around about as long as they kept other great non-laugh track shows such as The Job and Sports Night.

__________________
70/470 hour HR10-250 HD TiVo
63/425 hour HR10-250 HD TiVo
230 hour Sony SAT-T60
109 hour Sony SAT-T60
35 hour Philips DSR 704
jeff125va is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-15-2005, 11:03 AM   #3 (Print)
5thcrewman
Wavy Goth Survivor
 
5thcrewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NW Compound
Posts: 2,622
"Watch Arrested Development! Coming soon to TBA!!"

__________________
"WTF is wrong with you?" -whoknows55
"I never thought I'd say this to you 5thcrewman, but I was gonna say that!" -hefe
"What he said." -Anubis
5thcrewman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-15-2005, 11:03 AM   #4 (Print)
Frank_M
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Shrewsbury, MA
Posts: 335
Here's the entire story:

---------------------------

December 15, 2005 -- 'ARRESTED Development" could have a second life on ABC or Showtime.
"Conversations are ongoing with both networks," an industry insider told The Post yesterday.

Both networks are contemplating picking up the quirky, Emmy-winning Fox series, according to trade reports.

ABC "is having preliminary conversations" about acquiring the show, a network spokesman told The Post yesterday.

"Arrested Development" hasn't been officially canceled by Fox, but isn't expected to return after its third-season order was cut from 22 episodes to 13 episodes.

The show is co-produced by Hollywood powerhouse Ron Howard, who provides the voiceover narration, and has been a critical favorite since premiering in 2003. It won an Emmy in 2004.

But it's never caught on with viewers and has averaged roughly 4 million viewers this season. That would be a terrific viewership number for cable's Showtime, but wouldn't cut-the-mustard on ABC.



A sticking point, at least for Showtime, appears to be the cost of the show, particularly the economics of paying its large cast of "name" stars (including Jason Bateman, Portia de Rossi, Jeffrey Tambor and Jessica Walter), who would demand higher salaries because of their visibility.

But it's believed that Showtime could bookend the show with its critically acclaimed comedy "Weeds," which has been renewed for a second season this week and received several Golden Globe nominations, increasing its cachet.

However, if ABC were to acquire "Arrested," it wouldn't be the first time a current series has switched broadcast networks, often with good results.

Some of the recent examples include "Buffy the Vampire Slayer," which jumped from The WB to UPN and, more famously, "JAG," which enjoyed a long run on CBS after moving over from NBC.

Showtime officials had no comment yesterday.

__________________
Sig free .... and Roy
Frank_M is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-15-2005, 11:09 AM   #5 (Print)
timr_42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: st louis, MO
Posts: 828
Send a message via Yahoo to timr_42
Well, at least according to the article, Weeds was picked up. I liked that show.

__________________
"There is a right way and a wrong way to conduct a business " Mitch Bainwol, CEO RIAA.
timr_42 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-15-2005, 11:27 AM   #6 (Print)
bidger
Registered Muser
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Elmira, NY
Posts: 2,326
I really wouldn't want ABC to pick up the show because that would mean I would have to rely on my local affiliate and that means standard definition broadcasts. I'm TiVoing it now on my HR10-250 from FOX5-NYC in HD and I've gotten used to that. Sorry to those who don't like paying for premiums, but I hope Showtime picks it up.

__________________
SONY KDF-E42A10
HR10-250
Hughes DVR80
TCD540040 w/Lifetime, networked, upgraded to 182hrs. @ Basic

"What a fun, sexy time for you!"- George-Michael Bluth, "Arrested Development"
bidger is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-15-2005, 11:51 AM   #7 (Print)
eMarkM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by MitchO
Unfortunately, www.newyorkpost.com is one of those newspaper sites that require a (free) log in to read the full article


That's what Bug Me Not is for.

__________________
Samsung HL-P5085W HDTV
Tivo HR10-250
Denon AVR-2805 Receiver
Aperion 422 5.1 Speakers
DirecTv
XBox
eMarkM is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-15-2005, 12:36 PM   #8 (Print)
Steveknj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff125va
I'm surprised nobody mentions it more often, but maybe if Fox went all 3 hours of prime time, they wouldn't be cancelling shows like this all the time.

Unfortunately I think ABC would keep this around about as long as they kept other great non-laugh track shows such as The Job and Sports Night.


I've always wondered why Fox never went to 3 hours. After all, it's now a mature network that is pretty much all locations now. I know the 10PM news or other local programming makes a lot of money for the local affiliates, so that must be the reason. After all, moving the 10 o'clock news to 11 in many markets means added competition for their news broadcasts and probably less revenue, although in the major markets, such as New York, there are 3 local news broadcasts at 10 and 3 at 11, so the competition is equal.

Still, in my mind, because Fox doesn't do the extra hour, it is STILL a second tier network.

__________________
Steve
Steveknj is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-15-2005, 12:41 PM   #9 (Print)
culprit622
tired of the rain
 
culprit622's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NorCal
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveknj
I've always wondered why Fox never went to 3 hours.


As you mentioned, here in the Bay Area that could only happen if Fox would be willing to start primetime at 7 since the Fox station here has a HUGELY successful 10p newscast that they'd never move.
culprit622 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-15-2005, 02:37 PM   #10 (Print)
edrock200
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Northern VA/DC Area
Posts: 2,455
Send a message via AIM to edrock200
Quote:
Originally Posted by bidger
I really wouldn't want ABC to pick up the show because that would mean I would have to rely on my local affiliate and that means standard definition broadcasts. I'm TiVoing it now on my HR10-250 from FOX5-NYC in HD and I've gotten used to that. Sorry to those who don't like paying for premiums, but I hope Showtime picks it up.

I didn't realize this show was in hd.

__________________
Lots of HDTivo's :)
edrock200 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-15-2005, 02:41 PM   #11 (Print)
kiljoy
Alone in the dark
 
kiljoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Park Hills, KY
Posts: 3,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by edrock200
I didn't realize this show was in hd.
It's in 480p, so it isn't.

Tony

__________________
"Works on Contingency - No Money Down"?
That's a misprint. It should read,
"Works on Contingency? No! Money Down."
-Lionel Hutz
kiljoy is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-15-2005, 02:47 PM   #12 (Print)
tem
tom
 
tem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,158
AD is definitely in HD.

__________________
no one makes friends with a failure
tem is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-15-2005, 02:48 PM   #13 (Print)
Inundated
Barely Tolerated
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 10,099
Send a message via AIM to Inundated
I don't really follow this show, but I'm pretty sure it was in HD the last time I saw it.
Inundated is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-15-2005, 02:55 PM   #14 (Print)
tem
tom
 
tem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,158
from TitanTV for next week:

Arrested Development
Making a Stand
(HD, TV14)

__________________
no one makes friends with a failure
tem is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-15-2005, 03:04 PM   #15 (Print)
That Don Guy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Benicia, CA
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by culprit622
As you mentioned, here in the Bay Area that could only happen if Fox would be willing to start primetime at 7 since the Fox station here has a HUGELY successful 10p newscast that they'd never move.

And even if Fox did start at 7, KTVU (San Francisco's Fox station) would still throw a fit, as this would mean pretty much every SF Giants weeknight game that they air would cut into the programming.

(For those of you wondering why a 10:00 news broadcast would be so popular: it is a combination of two factors - one, the stock market opens at 6:30 AM Pacific time, so a significant number of people have to be at work quite early; two, San Francisco is on a peninsula, and most of the people who work there have to cross bridges and end up sharing nine lanes of traffic (five on the Bay Bridge, four on the Golden Gate), so even people with 9-to-5 jobs have to leave early because of the significant traffic. As a result, people tend to go to bed by 11, so they watch the news at 10. It got to the point where both the CBS and NBC stations tried running prime-time from 7 to 10 (like they do in the Central and Mountain time zones) so they could air their news at 10:00 as well. The NBC experiment lasted one year, as I recall, while the CBS station (which didn't shift on Sundays) did it for a few more (and CBS's Sacramento station still does).)

-- Don
That Don Guy is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-15-2005, 03:21 PM   #16 (Print)
Bierboy
Bald & dumb user
 
Bierboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Quad-Cities
Posts: 1,330
Send a message via AIM to Bierboy
Quote:
Originally Posted by tem
AD is definitely in HD.
Affirmed....HD on our Fox affil.

__________________
Quote:
"There's a dual tuner HD box coming next year that will work with both cable and ATSC" ...Pony 11-15-05
Giddyup Pony!
Bierboy is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-15-2005, 04:13 PM   #17 (Print)
oski87
Idiot
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 495
Quote:
Originally Posted by That Don Guy
And even if Fox did start at 7, KTVU (San Francisco's Fox station) would still throw a fit, as this would mean pretty much every SF Giants weeknight game that they air would cut into the programming.

(For those of you wondering why a 10:00 news broadcast would be so popular: it is a combination of two factors - one, the stock market opens at 6:30 AM Pacific time, so a significant number of people have to be at work quite early; two, San Francisco is on a peninsula, and most of the people who work there have to cross bridges and end up sharing nine lanes of traffic (five on the Bay Bridge, four on the Golden Gate), so even people with 9-to-5 jobs have to leave early because of the significant traffic. As a result, people tend to go to bed by 11, so they watch the news at 10. It got to the point where both the CBS and NBC stations tried running prime-time from 7 to 10 (like they do in the Central and Mountain time zones) so they could air their news at 10:00 as well. The NBC experiment lasted one year, as I recall, while the CBS station (which didn't shift on Sundays) did it for a few more (and CBS's Sacramento station still does).)

-- Don


Um, no. They have the 10PM time-slot to themselves, so their numbers dominate. The same (excellent, I agree) newscast at 11 would be just another player in Bay Area local news.

I think that maybe one person in a quarter-million in the bay area works on the stock exchange or something directly related. Most of the jobs are in Silicon Valley, where we techies work flexible hours and stay up late.
oski87 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-15-2005, 04:24 PM   #18 (Print)
Stainless Steele
Wake-Maker!
 
Stainless Steele's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,513
Send a message via AIM to Stainless Steele
I can't wait for the neilsons(sp?) to start tracking tivo and dvr's in general..when they do maybe less good stuff will get axed?

__________________
Pioneer Elite PVR-57H 120hr w/HMO Lifetime (paid for HMO)
Pioneer DVR-810H 80hr w/HMO Lifetime (DID NOT PAY FOR HMO!!)
Tivo Series 2 80hrs w/HMO Lifetime (paid for HMO)
Tivo Series 2 40hrs w/HMO Lifetime (paid for HMO)
Phillips PTV300 60hrs Lifetime Turbonet (My first!! Bought it the day it came out! Will always hold a special place in my heart!) My brother is currently using this!
JavaHMO Rocks!!!!
******************************
Gateway MCE PC 901XL 200gb P4 3g
Stainless Steele is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-15-2005, 04:56 PM   #19 (Print)
GadgetFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 551
Matt Roush from TVGuide on why Fox doesn't program 3 network hours:

Quote:
Question: With all this talk about Fox's schedule and how there isn't enough room for The Simple Life to return and how Prison Break won't return until May, don't you think it's time Fox got with the program and became the real fourth network, after 18 years (truly an appropriate age to finally grow up and be an adult). Shouldn't the network move the local 10 pm/ET news to 11 to make way for original programming? — Chris

Matt Roush: This question has come up a lot lately, especially in the wake of the Prison Break situation, so this is a good time to remind everyone once again of the "business" side of the TV equation. In Fox's early days, it programmed a limited number of hours for regulatory reasons (most of which no longer exist). But even if Fox desired to program a 22-hour weekly schedule, which many months of the year (when American Idol is absent, say) would seem to be more than this network of The Swan, Stacked and Killer Instinct could handle, it's a fact that Fox's local affiliates, especially the owned-and-operated stations, make a fortune off the local news at 10 (ET). It's not in Fox's economic model to expand at this point, although it is true that some of Fox's better dramas would benefit by being able to air in the 10 pm/ET time period. (If the network could dump the 8 pm/ET hour and program shows at 10, how cool would that be?) But the short answer to a tricky, complex question is that Fox isn't going there in the foreseeable future.
GadgetFreak is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-15-2005, 04:59 PM   #20 (Print)
Rob Helmerichs
New grandfather
 
Rob Helmerichs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 8,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiljoy
It's in 480p, so it isn't.

Tony

Fox used to broadcast in 480p, but they switched to true HD a year or two ago.

__________________
"Oh no, the mother-child bond is impossible to replicate. Even by Agent Dalton and myself."
Rob Helmerichs is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-15-2005, 05:13 PM   #21 (Print)
bidger
Registered Muser
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Elmira, NY
Posts: 2,326
That's my understanding, Season 1 of AD: 480p, 2 & 3: 720p.

__________________
SONY KDF-E42A10
HR10-250
Hughes DVR80
TCD540040 w/Lifetime, networked, upgraded to 182hrs. @ Basic

"What a fun, sexy time for you!"- George-Michael Bluth, "Arrested Development"
bidger is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-15-2005, 05:42 PM   #22 (Print)
Inundated
Barely Tolerated
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 10,099
Send a message via AIM to Inundated
Yep, no way is Fox going to go to programming 10 PM/9 CT. They have no need and the stations won't let them...even their own O&O's!

And about that CBS affiliate in Sacramento...they were recently bought by CBS itself, and there was much speculation that they'd end the station's "early prime" schedule and clear shows 8-11 like all the other Pacific time affiliates.

But they looked into it, and found that the 10 PM newscast makes them boatloads of money...so even with the NETWORK owning it, they aren't changing the schedule.
Inundated is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-15-2005, 05:55 PM   #23 (Print)
Paperboy2003
Wasting time here
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Randolph, New Jersey
Posts: 950
I would definitely subscribe to ABC if they picked up Arrested Development!

__________________
'The strong can take from the weak, but the smart take from the strong.'
Paperboy2003 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-15-2005, 05:58 PM   #24 (Print)
bidger
Registered Muser
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Elmira, NY
Posts: 2,326
Good one.

__________________
SONY KDF-E42A10
HR10-250
Hughes DVR80
TCD540040 w/Lifetime, networked, upgraded to 182hrs. @ Basic

"What a fun, sexy time for you!"- George-Michael Bluth, "Arrested Development"
bidger is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-15-2005, 07:22 PM   #25 (Print)
dswallow
+258PC
 
dswallow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Long Branch, NJ, USA
Posts: 27,809
Send a message via ICQ to dswallow
Quote:
Originally Posted by bidger
That's my understanding, Season 1 of AD: 480p, 2 & 3: 720p.

Arrested Development has always been taped using HD camera equipment, so it's likely that if there ever is an HD DVD format that all 3 seasons can be released in HD.
dswallow is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-15-2005, 08:25 PM   #26 (Print)
appleye1
Obladi Oblada
 
appleye1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia
Posts: 2,233
Send a message via AIM to appleye1 Send a message via MSN to appleye1 Send a message via Yahoo to appleye1
I would definitely hope that Showtime gets it over ABC. Mainly because if it ever goes on the chopping block again I think Showtime would be more inclined to let it get shopped to another network. ABC would cancel it and let it rot.

I read that Stone Stanley wanted to look elsewhere for The Mole when it was cancelled, but ABC refused to let them. (Instead it bastardized it by turning it into Celebrity Mole. ) Showtime on the other hand, had no problem letting Stargate SG-1 go to Sci-Fi. Just a theory.

That, and I can't get ABC in HD, but I can get Showtime. Arrested Development is one of those shows that HD really benefits. (For instance, I could have never figured out what the Mary Poppins sign said if I watched the show in SD!)

__________________
Mark


"Be excellent to one another." - Pan Chun

"All people can be divided into 10 groups. Those that understand binary and those that don't."

"'You catch more flies with honey than vinegar.' People say this to you with a straight face, and I always say, who...wants...flies?" - Bill Murray


DIRECTV subscriber since 02/96
TiVo user since 12/99
appleye1 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-15-2005, 10:00 PM   #27 (Print)
JoeyJoJo
finally.
 
JoeyJoJo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Almost Nashua, NH.
Posts: 1,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5thcrewman
"Watch Arrested Development! Coming soon to TBA!!"



You sir, are funny.
JoeyJoJo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-16-2005, 09:26 AM   #28 (Print)
NoThru22
Aspirin Roulette
 
NoThru22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Flank 2 Position, MD
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to NoThru22
Fox 12-5-2005 Arrested Development 720p average 15 mbps.
NoThru22 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-16-2005, 09:46 AM   #29 (Print)
mrpantstm
Well aren't you
 
mrpantstm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 4,614
personally, I'd still prefer Showtime over ABC. Showtime would probably give it more of a chance imho and they might have some more wiggle room to try some new things.

__________________
mrpantstm really tested my mettle. - Thaed
Mommy! I like Mr. Panties! He's a funny, funny man!- edhara
Pants, thank you. I was hoping for a good laugh. You gave me 3. - Skittles
mrpantstm is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2005, 12:38 PM   #30 (Print)
hefe
Hefeweizen-heimer
 
hefe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Round Lake, IL
Posts: 13,498
Send a message via AIM to hefe
Ah, which AD thread to bump...?

Typical article picking AD as the best show. It's amazing that as many people that there are that love the show, the ratings aren't better. Truly mystifying...

http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/artic...DG2AGE3H710.DTL

Quote:
1. "Arrested Development," Fox. Because I said so. Period. I'm way past trying to explain it. But if I'm forced to make the list, I get to make the picks. Any TV show that's funny the third time you watch the same episode is rare indeed, and that owes so much to creator Mitch Hurwitz, the writing staff and a sensational cast, particularly Jason Bateman, Jessica Walter and Will Arnett. I could watch this cast read "Joey" scripts and still be entertained.


__________________
JPTMFITF4O5TISMO
Hefe's a cruel man, but fair.~edhara
That hefe, he's really smart!~Fish Man

Follow The Amazing Race in Google Earth. Complete through leg 6.
hefe is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > TiVo TV Talk > Now Playing - TV Show Talk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index