TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-19-2005, 07:08 AM   #1 (Print)
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
sanderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 5,979
UPS with regular sockets

I'm looking for a reasonably high capacity UPS but with regular 3-pin sockets on it raether than kettle leads.

Anyone know of one?

__________________
Stuart

Author of EndPad, DailyMail and others now run by other generous souls. Setup: MCE hub feeds 3 x 360s from 2 x DVB-T tuners and 1 x Sky via TiVo+eTivo. Sky+HD coming 22/5.
sanderton is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-19-2005, 09:44 AM   #2 (Print)
Automan
Victor Meldrew
 
Automan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: South Coast, Sussex, UK
Posts: 1,808
My PowerWare 9120 has 2 x 13Amp regular power sockets on its back.

I think the version / model I have was aimed at use by BT to provide power to small phone systems e.g Meridian.

Also when you say high capactity - how high?

APC do unit a 650Va unti with 13Amp outlets but at full load it has avery short runtime.

Automan.
Automan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-19-2005, 02:40 PM   #3 (Print)
iankb
Registered User
 
iankb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 5,205
I find that anything greater than a 50% load on my 625VA Belkin Gold will reduce the run-time exponentially.

__________________
Ian.

For gold text on leather in TiVoWeb, try the redbook, bluebook, greenbook and blackbook themes, now updated with button menus
iankb is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-20-2005, 06:03 AM   #4 (Print)
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
sanderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 5,979
I only need enough run time to get to the switch box and reset all the circuit breakers.

__________________
Stuart

Author of EndPad, DailyMail and others now run by other generous souls. Setup: MCE hub feeds 3 x 360s from 2 x DVB-T tuners and 1 x Sky via TiVo+eTivo. Sky+HD coming 22/5.
sanderton is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-20-2005, 08:59 AM   #5 (Print)
Ashley
Prat in a Hat
 
Ashley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Windsor UK
Posts: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderton
I only need enough run time to get to the switch box and reset all the circuit breakers.


Why do your breakers trip?

__________________
This is not a pipe: '|'
250GB 601F Tivo, TiVoWeb, SkyD.
Bog Standard 6022, BT badged Netgem.
Philips 890 DVDR, JVC DVHS.
Ashley is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-20-2005, 10:19 AM   #6 (Print)
6022tivo
A Happy Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 1,373
I have just got a IEC socket (From Maplin), that fits into my UPS output, and wired it to a4 way extension lead. This gives me four sockets, enough for my screen and PC.

__________________
Tivo 1 (6024) Turbonet, 125GB, Standard 16MB System Board Memory.
Tivo 2 (6023) Cachecard, 120GB, 32MB Upgraded System Board Memory.
Xbox 360 -> Media Centre PC (DVB)
Pioneer 505XDE
6022tivo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-22-2005, 11:02 AM   #7 (Print)
George
Yet another member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Newbury, Berks. UK
Posts: 124
I have a Belkin Universal UPS, seems to do everything I need....

http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatSect...ction_Id=201530

It has four standard 13a sockets on teh back, three protected by UPS, one surge protected only.

Available in 800, 1000 and 1200 VA ratings. Keeps my rack of computer kit going for at least 15 minutes...... (4 x PC and associated clutter).
George is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2005, 04:52 AM   #8 (Print)
benallenuk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 74
Hi, I did the same as 6022tivo, it works pretty well. I have a the follwoign plugged in and it has only gone over the rating on the UPS once, also seems to run them all for about 15minutes

1 x S1 Tivo
1 x NTL Analogue Jerrold Box
1 x Athlon 900Mhz PC
1 x Belkin Router
1 x RF Antenna

Its a Trust 400

Cheers

__________________
Series 1 Tivo with 120GB HD, Trust 400VA UPS. Tivoweb, TivoNet, External Streaming Video - spare pc!
benallenuk is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2005, 08:13 AM   #9 (Print)
AMc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London
Posts: 681
I'm interested in a UPS for my projector.

I'm worried that a power cut while playing would leave it with a hot bulb.
What would I need to run a 200W projector for a few minutes to allow me to turn it off and run the power down - I'm assuming it's somewhere between 200W on and 12W standby when the bulb is dark and the fans are on full?

Also looking for something that is small, cheap and silent when not actively covering a power cut.

Any recommendations appreciated.

__________________
Settings for TW Pace 2000 + dongle in N16
PACE|No Zeros|enter key NO|blaster NO|20004 FAST|wand position|Restart TW every 24hr
AMc is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-11-2005, 04:04 PM   #10 (Print)
pukka
Still Loving it
 
pukka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: leicestershire
Posts: 128
we get all of our UPS for customers from a company called BACKUP (01162645910) just give them a ring they will point you in the right direction.

Paul

__________________
TiVo saves you the one thing you can't buy -TIME :)

stole from cyril (thanks)
pukka is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-12-2005, 05:16 AM   #11 (Print)
Rob Nespor Bellis
Grumpy Sod
 
Rob Nespor Bellis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: ~, Brighton, UK
Posts: 456
They also have a website:

http://www.bac-ups.co.uk

Rgds,

R.
Rob Nespor Bellis is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Off Topic Areas (Non-TiVo) > UK General Chit-Chat

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index