TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-10-2005, 02:21 AM   #1 (Print)
Automan
Victor Meldrew
 
Automan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: South Coast, Sussex, UK
Posts: 1,808
Red face Archos AV700 On QVC Today (sun 10/07)

If anyone is interested today's QVC UK special is the new Archos AV700 media device with 7" widescreen display and spare battery pack.

Only 40Gb model (100Gb model out in USA).

QVC Price BTW £360.00

I resisted as have just spent too much installing air conditioning in living room.
Bedroom next...

Automan.
Automan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-10-2005, 10:09 AM   #2 (Print)
iankb
Registered User
 
iankb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 5,205
Does anybody know whether this model actually works? I've read so many complaints about the earlier models, I would be very reluctant to touch anything from Archos.

__________________
Ian.

For gold text on leather in TiVoWeb, try the redbook, bluebook, greenbook and blackbook themes, now updated with button menus
iankb is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-10-2005, 01:41 PM   #3 (Print)
kitschcamp
Tweaked and poked
 
kitschcamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, England & Malmö, Sweden.
Posts: 1,148
Send a message via ICQ to kitschcamp Send a message via MSN to kitschcamp Send a message via Yahoo to kitschcamp
Quote:
Originally Posted by Automan
I resisted as have just spent too much installing air conditioning in living room.
Bedroom next...

We got our priorities right and did the bedroom first

__________________
Stephen

SkyEye, 160Gb+120Gb, CcheCrd 512MB, twkd recrdng sttngs, TiVoWeb and APC Back-UPS 500.
Tivo Mods. Fixed ui.itcl module
kitschcamp is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-10-2005, 02:00 PM   #4 (Print)
cyril
Registered User
 
cyril's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: London, Baker St. UK
Posts: 706
The Archos Gmini 220 has been rock solid and fantastic as a mp3 and photo wallet and usb drive.
The interface is not great though.

In London we only need air con for 3 days a year.

__________________
TiVo saves you the one thing you can't buy -TIME.
cyril is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-10-2005, 02:18 PM   #5 (Print)
Automan
Victor Meldrew
 
Automan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: South Coast, Sussex, UK
Posts: 1,808
Hairline crack in wall plaster across wall I want to mount unit.

Thus room needs decorating, crack repairing before drilling the 65mm hole for the refrigeration pipes.

Also trying to source an inverter heatpump (at a good price) - 9,000BTu.

Automan.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitschcamp
We got our priorities right and did the bedroom first
Automan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-15-2005, 01:34 PM   #6 (Print)
jpieter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1
I was one of the mad people who ordered an Archos AV700 from QVC last weekend,and i must say it is superb!!!
Although I cant get the speakers on the Archos to work ,but I wouldnt use them anyway,it has an incredible picture,MP3 use and sound and video.
The only problem that I have with it is 'How am i supposed to record DVD's'??????
I have followed everything in the manual to the letter but still cannopt get it to work???
I can watch videos,play Mp3 and look at photos on the TV with no problem at all,BUT I CANNOT RECORD DVDS???
I will have to phone there helpline if still no go over the weekend.

jpieter is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-15-2005, 01:57 PM   #7 (Print)
pendragn
Registered User
 
pendragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ames Iowa
Posts: 3,073
Here's a review of the 20 GB model. Looks very interesting.

tk

__________________
Todd O. Klindt
3x S2 DTiVos | HR10-250 3.1.5f
pendragn is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-15-2005, 03:22 PM   #8 (Print)
Rob Nespor Bellis
Grumpy Sod
 
Rob Nespor Bellis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: ~, Brighton, UK
Posts: 456
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendragn
Here's a review of the 20 GB model. Looks very interesting.

tk


That review would be for the AV400 series - good, but not as good as the *AV700* series we are talking about here

Rgds,

R.
Rob Nespor Bellis is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 08-10-2005, 09:14 AM   #9 (Print)
CMC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Smile Archos AV700

Hi guys,

About to buy Archos AV700 (the 40gb babe) after having my AV420 (3.8inch screen sp version) for a year.

Anyone knows if files recorded by AV420 can be transfered, either via the USB line or indirectly thru the PC, to AV700 to play?

Hope there is no more "oil patches" or the flickers on the screen like in AV420.
CMC is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 08-14-2005, 04:14 PM   #10 (Print)
Satfanni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1
[QUOTE=CMC]Anyone knows if files recorded by AV420 can be transfered, either via the USB line or indirectly thru the PC, to AV700 to play?

I have the 100Gb version

Youy should be able to transfer files (mpeg-4 or div-x) from the AV420 to the AV700 via the PC. You can set the AV700 to act as an external hard drive. When connected to the PC by usb cable all you need to do is to click and drag the files to the video folder of the AV700.

Good luck.

Regards.

Satfanni.
Satfanni is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 08-15-2005, 03:33 AM   #11 (Print)
CMC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 10
Smile

Hi Satfanni,

Tks! I got my 40GB version and I tried. It was ok thru the WM10. Video quality deteriated though. I have not tried to just drag the files. Will try and hope quality improves.

BTW, do you know what are Opitmal/VGA in the Resolution place. Which one is equivalent to LCD in AV420? Nowhere I could find an answer in the manual.
CMC is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 08-27-2005, 06:27 PM   #12 (Print)
bishop24
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1
Lightbulb rtfm

"The only problem that I have with it is 'How am i supposed to record DVD's'??????"


I Have the 40gb model of the av700 i did not want to spend 200 € for an extra 60gb anyway to the problem at hand.. for hours and hours now i have been fighting with my av700... Its easy to record dvd's I put SVideo cable into my dvdplayer and the sound r & l cables into the dvd sound out...

I had a problem with recording dvd's too, not that i couldnt do it, but when i did it asks what format.. of course you but in 16:9 but the archos put the black boxes on the picture!! i was so frustrated i contenplated hours on this problem there had to be a solution to this problem and there was, i noticed that the dvd player was set the tv's aspect ratio to 16:9 this needs to be changed into 4:3 so the black boxes are already there!!!! and the av700 puts its own black boxes on the already there blackboxes =) hmm was that confusing? im sorry =) I'm from finland.. i paid 551€ for my archos av700.

I also had a problem with getting a picture into av700 and it took a while to realise that the docking pod NEEDS the powercable in order to recive a signal. this fact was left out from the manual

not that it would have helped cuz i tried to play with my av700 before reading the manual, it proved most dificuilt

They really should put the "RTFM" on the cover of the manual. rtfm of course stands for "Read The Fuc*ing Manual" =)

Does anyone now if theres a DBV (digital Broadcasting Video) device yet for the av700 so i could watch tv with it =)
bishop24 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 11-30-2005, 02:29 PM   #13 (Print)
Automan
Victor Meldrew
 
Automan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: South Coast, Sussex, UK
Posts: 1,808
Got Myself A AV700 100Gb Model Today

I was in Dixons today and I noted they have the 100Gb model on offer at £450.00

Local specialist shop have the 40Gb model for £399.00 and dabs want £530.00 so I took the plunge.

Tried it on the way home and it seems okay and at present it is copying all my 10,000 mp3 files on to it.

Video's of course will be the challenge!

Automan.
Automan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-01-2005, 04:37 PM   #14 (Print)
Automan
Victor Meldrew
 
Automan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: South Coast, Sussex, UK
Posts: 1,808
It's Okay But...

Recording from composite video in yields heringbone type patterns

Tried feeding the unit with two brands of DVD player (Philips & Samsung) both with the same effect. The patterns are not to bad but....

Unti does auto pal/ntsc 4:3/16:9 from the composite video signal and at present is recording ep1 of the new Dr Who.

Unit works pretty well and on train today I watched 2 x 40 minute "one foot in the grave" and the movie "The Long Long Trailor" 1hr 30m - still life in the battery

Unit must have quite a large ram buffer as hard drive led on comes on every so often during playback.

Picture can be a bit mpegy blocky even from quite high rate recordings. I guess this is because of the ram buffer feature limiting the bitrate to the screen?

Automan.
Automan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-01-2005, 05:05 PM   #15 (Print)
Automan
Victor Meldrew
 
Automan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: South Coast, Sussex, UK
Posts: 1,808
Human Error

Hmm
Funny patterns all went away when I pushed the A/V connector in fully on the top of the AV700

Now to record some more..

Automan.
Automan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Off Topic Areas (Non-TiVo) > UK General Chit-Chat

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index