TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-04-2003, 09:15 AM   #1 (Print)
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
sanderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 5,979
New TiVoWeb Module: Edit Startup Script

This one is at the request of BtB, and if it breaks your TiVo it's his fault, OK?

This is a module which lets you edit the startup script (conventionally rc.sysinit.author) without messing around mounting, remounting, joe-ing, FTPing, DOS2UNIXing and the rest.



It doesn't actually edit rc.sysinit.author, instead you move the startup script to the /var/hack directory and replace rc.sysinit.author with a script which calls the one in /var/hack. The TiVoWeb module then lets you edit the one in /var/hack

Messing with your startup file can stop your TiVo booting and require you to remove the HD to fix it. Do this stuff only if you know what you are doing. You have been warned.

The first time install runs like this:

Unzip the enclosed, FTP rc.sysinit.author.new to /var/hack and startuped.itcl to the TiVoWeb /modules directory.

Then:


cd /etc/rc.d
mount -o remount,rw /


If rc.sysinit.author exists then:


cp rc.sysinit.author /var/hack/rc.sysinit.author.edit
mv rc.sysinit.author rc.sysinit.author.original


Then (whether it existed or not):


cp /var/hack/rc.sysinit.author.new /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit.author
chmod 755 rc.sysinit.author
mount -o remount,ro /
sync


Access TiVoWeb, Quick Restart, and then you can break your TiVo from the comfort of a web browser anywhere.

The "live" startup script is /var/hack/rc.sysinit.author.edit so don't go deleting that one!

Like I said, blame BtB.

Note: Do not move the commands in rc.sysinit which set up telnet and ftp into this script. For one thing it probably won't work as the network card has been been fully configured when it runs. But also if TiVo does one of its random /var clearouts you'd lose the ability to telnet in.
Attached Files
File Type: zip startuped.0.2.zip (1.1 KB, 2127 views)

__________________
Stuart

Author of EndPad, DailyMail and others now run by other generous souls. Setup: MCE hub feeds 3 x 360s from 2 x DVB-T tuners and 1 x Sky via TiVo+eTivo. Sky+HD coming 22/5.

Last edited by sanderton : 03-31-2004 at 09:03 AM.
sanderton is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-04-2003, 09:28 AM   #2 (Print)
pahunt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 1,619
Clever stuff

I can see this being very useful.

__________________
Paul

120GB 6022 | Cachecard | Freeview
pahunt is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-04-2003, 09:33 AM   #3 (Print)
Spire
Spire Refrigeration
 
Spire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: The Unknown
Posts: 3,897
Nice work.

I hope you made the description text read: Break your TiVo from the comfort of a web browser anywhere.

__________________
begin 644 .sig22&%I;"P@9F5L;&]W(&=E96LA`end

Last edited by Melody Chalis : Today at 03:47 AM.
Spire is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-04-2003, 09:56 AM   #4 (Print)
BtB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Warrington, Cheshire, UK
Posts: 83
Thanks Sanderton, I'm eagerly awaiting my first visit to the small claims court

__________________
TiVo since Oct 2000 (its gray hairs don't show :) )
2 x 80GB Maxtor TiVo, Turbonet/TiVoweb - WiFi connected
ShowShifter with LR6650 DVB-T Card
Sony VAIO GigaPocket + NMR
Freeview: Netgem I-player, Sony VXTD800, Philips DTR1500, Pace DT210, Fusion FRT101 Rewind
Philips DVDR80 Recorder
BtB is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-04-2003, 04:22 PM   #5 (Print)
pahunt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 1,619
I must be doing something wrong because I've edited .author using this module and seems to be sticking ^M on the end of each line. If I Joe /var/hack/rc.sysinit.author.edit.old it looks fine but I see the ^M when I Joe /var/hack/rc.sysinit.author.edit.

Any ideas?

__________________
Paul

120GB 6022 | Cachecard | Freeview
pahunt is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-04-2003, 05:29 PM   #6 (Print)
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
sanderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 5,979
Mine's the same. How odd - never occured to me that a native program running on Linux box would not save a file as a Unix text file!

Doesn't seem to effect its operation though, as my TiVo boots and loads all the items from the script perfectly.

__________________
Stuart

Author of EndPad, DailyMail and others now run by other generous souls. Setup: MCE hub feeds 3 x 360s from 2 x DVB-T tuners and 1 x Sky via TiVo+eTivo. Sky+HD coming 22/5.
sanderton is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-04-2003, 05:34 PM   #7 (Print)
pahunt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 1,619
I have to admit I wasn't brave enough to try it so nice to get a bit of reassurance

Thanks

__________________
Paul

120GB 6022 | Cachecard | Freeview
pahunt is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-04-2003, 05:39 PM   #8 (Print)
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
sanderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 5,979
Version 0.2 in the first post remove sthe DOS style carriage returns.

__________________
Stuart

Author of EndPad, DailyMail and others now run by other generous souls. Setup: MCE hub feeds 3 x 360s from 2 x DVB-T tuners and 1 x Sky via TiVo+eTivo. Sky+HD coming 22/5.
sanderton is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-04-2003, 05:41 PM   #9 (Print)
pahunt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 1,619
Stuart

What do the hdparm lines in your rc.sysinit.author do? Just being nosey

__________________
Paul

120GB 6022 | Cachecard | Freeview
pahunt is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-04-2003, 05:45 PM   #10 (Print)
Spire
Spire Refrigeration
 
Spire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: The Unknown
Posts: 3,897
Interesting. I'm not all that familiar with tivosh scripting, so I'm wondering: How difficult would it be to parse the input text and strip all the CRs out before dumping it into the file?

If it's a non-trivial task in TCL, I can whip up a utility in C fairly easily if you'd like. (I can provide source and an S1 binary.)

Edit: Found one here. Let me know if you'd like an S1 binary of it (in case you don't have a compiler).

__________________
begin 644 .sig22&%I;"P@9F5L;&]W(&=E96LA`end

Last edited by Melody Chalis : Today at 03:47 AM.
Spire is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-04-2003, 05:47 PM   #11 (Print)
Spire
Spire Refrigeration
 
Spire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: The Unknown
Posts: 3,897
Ooh, regsub. Okay.

__________________
begin 644 .sig22&%I;"P@9F5L;&]W(&=E96LA`end

Last edited by Melody Chalis : Today at 03:47 AM.
Spire is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-04-2003, 05:48 PM   #12 (Print)
pahunt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 1,619
Um.........

Well I've just installed 0.2 and on hitting the save button gives me

INTERNAL SERVER ERROR
--cut here--
action_save_edit '' 'set "text" "PATH=\$PATH:/var/hack:/var/hack/bin

and the lists the rest of my rc.sysinit.author

with this at at the end

error copying: target "/var/hack/rc.sysinit.author.edit.old" is not a directory
while executing
"file copy -force "/var/hack/rc.sysinit.author.edit" "/var/hack/rc.snit.author.edit" "/var/hack/rc.sysinit.author.edit.old""
(procedure "::action_save_edit" line 7)
invoked from within
"::action_$action $chan $part $env"
("eval" body line 1)
invoked from within
"eval {::action_$action $chan $part $env}"

All I did was copy the tivoweb module over the old one I assume I didn't have to do anything else

__________________
Paul

120GB 6022 | Cachecard | Freeview
pahunt is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-04-2003, 05:50 PM   #13 (Print)
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
sanderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 5,979
Quote:
Originally posted by pahunt
Stuart

What do the hdparm lines in your rc.sysinit.author do? Just being nosey


Configure the hard disk for optimal throughput. It's sometimes, ahem, useful.

__________________
Stuart

Author of EndPad, DailyMail and others now run by other generous souls. Setup: MCE hub feeds 3 x 360s from 2 x DVB-T tuners and 1 x Sky via TiVo+eTivo. Sky+HD coming 22/5.

Last edited by sanderton : 12-04-2003 at 05:56 PM.
sanderton is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-04-2003, 05:54 PM   #14 (Print)
pahunt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 1,619
Quote:
Originally posted by pahunt
Um.........

Well I've just installed 0.2 and on hitting the save button gives me

INTERNAL SERVER ERROR
--cut here--
action_save_edit '' 'set "text" "PATH=\$PATH:/var/hack:/var/hack/bin

and the lists the rest of my rc.sysinit.author

with this at at the end

error copying: target "/var/hack/rc.sysinit.author.edit.old" is not a directory
while executing
"file copy -force "/var/hack/rc.sysinit.author.edit" "/var/hack/rc.snit.author.edit" "/var/hack/rc.sysinit.author.edit.old""
(procedure "::action_save_edit" line 7)
invoked from within
"::action_$action $chan $part $env"
("eval" body line 1)
invoked from within
"eval {::action_$action $chan $part $env}"

All I did was copy the tivoweb module over the old one I assume I didn't have to do anything else


Sorry ignore this. The file must have got hosed when I transferred it the first time because I've just copied it over again and it's fine.

__________________
Paul

120GB 6022 | Cachecard | Freeview
pahunt is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-04-2003, 05:55 PM   #15 (Print)
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
sanderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 5,979
Quote:
Originally posted by pahunt
while executing
"file copy -force "/var/hack/rc.sysinit.author.edit" "/var/hack/rc.snit.author.edit" "/var/hack/rc.sysinit.author.edit.old""


Well that line actually reads:

"file copy -force "/var/hack/rc.sysinit.author.edit" "/var/hack/rc.sysinit.author.edit.old""

So looks like whatever you use to copy files up to the TiVo had mangled the file.

__________________
Stuart

Author of EndPad, DailyMail and others now run by other generous souls. Setup: MCE hub feeds 3 x 360s from 2 x DVB-T tuners and 1 x Sky via TiVo+eTivo. Sky+HD coming 22/5.
sanderton is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-04-2003, 07:06 PM   #16 (Print)
Vargster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 38
Don't ahem us!

Come on - spill the beans....

I've only found -

To enable DMA for a hard drive: hdparm -d1 /dev/hda
To disable DMA for a hard drive: hdparm -d0 /dev/hda
To measure transfer rate of a hard drive: hdparm -Tt /dev/hda
To see what options are enabled for a hard drive: hdparm /dev/hda
To see more info on your drive than you wanted to know: (this will show which UDMA modes are supported/enabled) hdparm -i /dev/hda

From the LDP...

I thought the TiVo didn't do DMA?
Vargster is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-05-2003, 02:40 AM   #17 (Print)
Dapper Dan
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally posted by Vargster
Don't ahem us!

Come on - spill the beans....

I've only found -

To enable DMA for a hard drive: hdparm -d1 /dev/hda
To disable DMA for a hard drive: hdparm -d0 /dev/hda
To measure transfer rate of a hard drive: hdparm -Tt /dev/hda
To see what options are enabled for a hard drive: hdparm /dev/hda
To see more info on your drive than you wanted to know: (this will show which UDMA modes are supported/enabled) hdparm -i /dev/hda

From the LDP...

I thought the TiVo didn't do DMA?


just type hdparm at a bash prompt to get all the options.

dma is the important one to have, but that's on by default anyway. In my case, changing the multcount and 32 bit IO don't seem to make any difference to my ahems, but I suppose it depends on the hard disk.

__________________
I used to be indecisive, but now I'm not so sure.
Dapper Dan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-05-2003, 05:06 AM   #18 (Print)
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
sanderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 5,979
There's plenty of info on this in The Other Place - let's not get this thread closed eh chaps?

__________________
Stuart

Author of EndPad, DailyMail and others now run by other generous souls. Setup: MCE hub feeds 3 x 360s from 2 x DVB-T tuners and 1 x Sky via TiVo+eTivo. Sky+HD coming 22/5.
sanderton is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-05-2003, 05:57 AM   #19 (Print)
dialanothernumb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 310
I always changed the sysinit file directly (some people never learn) so this is a great module for the terminally procrastinating. Thanks (again) Stuart

Just a quick question; this module simply adds lines to sysinit? or do I need to copy my sysinit to .author as a baseline and then edit?

__________________
TiVoWeb, Endpad, Daily Mail, DABDig for TiVo, DigiguideSearch
dialanothernumb is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-05-2003, 05:59 AM   #20 (Print)
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
sanderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 5,979
If you have stuff in rc.sysinit, then I would copy that over EXCEPT the stuff that sets up bash, FTP etc - leave that where it is as it must run AFTER rc.net

__________________
Stuart

Author of EndPad, DailyMail and others now run by other generous souls. Setup: MCE hub feeds 3 x 360s from 2 x DVB-T tuners and 1 x Sky via TiVo+eTivo. Sky+HD coming 22/5.
sanderton is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-23-2003, 02:55 PM   #21 (Print)
threadkiller
Dark side Nrth Devon
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 404
thanks for another make life easy hack Stuart, but a quick question,

whats the install.sh file for in the zip?

Thanks

Marc

__________________
Marc.

2 X 120Gig Tivo's + Turbonet + Sky Digital + Freeview + Tivoweb + Every module available until the novelty wears off, or my wife beats me :)
threadkiller is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-23-2003, 03:30 PM   #22 (Print)
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
sanderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 5,979
It might install eveything automatically. Or it might not. It worked on one of my machines but did nothing on the other, and I couldn't summon the energy to figure out why, so I just typed out manual instructions.

__________________
Stuart

Author of EndPad, DailyMail and others now run by other generous souls. Setup: MCE hub feeds 3 x 360s from 2 x DVB-T tuners and 1 x Sky via TiVo+eTivo. Sky+HD coming 22/5.
sanderton is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-03-2004, 11:04 AM   #23 (Print)
John Murray
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: East Yorkshire
Posts: 11
Very cool module Stuart. Just used it to change my soft padding settings.
Cheers.
John Murray is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-12-2004, 06:55 PM   #24 (Print)
carts
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 20
Just followed your instructions, but the new module does not appear in Tivoweb.

Any ideas what I may be doing wrong? My hack folder is on partition 9, the rest on 4 if that makes sense?

Doing the changes through telnet and ftp.

Thanks

__________________
carts
carts is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-12-2004, 07:05 PM   #25 (Print)
carts
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 20
Just noticed I've got the following line near the bottom of my rc.sysinit file.

[ ! -f /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit.author ] || /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit.author


Could this be why it is not working?

Thanks

__________________
carts
carts is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-13-2004, 04:35 AM   #26 (Print)
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
sanderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 5,979
No, that's why it SHOULD work.

That line is in all rc.sysinits and basically means "if rc.sysinit.author exists, run it".

If the module isn't appearing in TiVoWeb a) make sure it's copied to the modules folder 2) Quick Restart TiVoWEb.

__________________
Stuart

Author of EndPad, DailyMail and others now run by other generous souls. Setup: MCE hub feeds 3 x 360s from 2 x DVB-T tuners and 1 x Sky via TiVo+eTivo. Sky+HD coming 22/5.

Last edited by sanderton : 01-13-2004 at 11:24 AM.
sanderton is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-13-2004, 10:17 AM   #27 (Print)
carts
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 20
Thanks for the reply.

I'd copied it to the /var/hack/tivoweb-tcl folder, which I thought was what you meant because it had other .itcl files in it. Hadn't noticed the modules folder.

Now working. Thanks for your help, and sorry for being a moron!

__________________
carts
carts is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-13-2004, 03:32 PM   #28 (Print)
ddub
Registered User
 
ddub's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Yorkshire
Posts: 48
Stuart,

Forgive me for being a bit thick.,
what does the >> /dav/null & do at the end of the tivoweb & endpad command lines?

cheers.
ddub

__________________
=========================
UK Pal Thomson TiVo
122880 megabytes Seagate Barracuda 7200 8mb cache
TiVoweb 1.9.4 with Turbonet NIC
Why not try this new Blackbook TiVoweb theme?
ddub is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-13-2004, 03:41 PM   #29 (Print)
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
sanderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 5,979
The & means "run in background" ie, don't wait for this command to finish before executing the next line.

>> /dev/null redirects any text output from the program into thin air.

It's not strictly reqired for either, as both TivoWeb and EndPad background themselves, so it's just excessive tidiness.

__________________
Stuart

Author of EndPad, DailyMail and others now run by other generous souls. Setup: MCE hub feeds 3 x 360s from 2 x DVB-T tuners and 1 x Sky via TiVo+eTivo. Sky+HD coming 22/5.
sanderton is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-13-2004, 04:02 PM   #30 (Print)
ddub
Registered User
 
ddub's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Yorkshire
Posts: 48
Ta Stuart.
Ill give it a go!

cheers,
Darren

__________________
=========================
UK Pal Thomson TiVo
122880 megabytes Seagate Barracuda 7200 8mb cache
TiVoweb 1.9.4 with Turbonet NIC
Why not try this new Blackbook TiVoweb theme?
ddub is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo UK

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index