TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-28-2003, 01:21 PM   #1 (Print)
ChrisJB
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 42
Experiences of Cachecard in the UK?

Has anyone received a cachecard and installed to a UK machine yet? Would be interested in experiences so far (I've been watching the Underground thread with some interest, seems like the beta test is being well supported by Nick (Jafa) and some great performance enhancements are being seen
ChrisJB is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-28-2003, 04:42 PM   #2 (Print)
Milhouse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: South London, England
Posts: 607
Also some problems - I'll wait a month or two before replacing my turbonet, I'm too cowardly to break a working setup when it's my only box!
Milhouse is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-28-2003, 05:04 PM   #3 (Print)
kitschcamp
Tweaked and poked
 
kitschcamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, England & Malmö, Sweden.
Posts: 1,148
Send a message via ICQ to kitschcamp Send a message via MSN to kitschcamp Send a message via Yahoo to kitschcamp
I must admit I'm starting to get very nervous with talk of incorrect fitment, unusual effects from different sticks of RAM, scopes on cards and measuring voltages on connectors. It sounds far too much like my day job.

I'm hoping I'm not going to be the first in the UK to test it out

__________________
Stephen

SkyEye, 160Gb+120Gb, CcheCrd 512MB, twkd recrdng sttngs, TiVoWeb and APC Back-UPS 500.
Tivo Mods. Fixed ui.itcl module
kitschcamp is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-28-2003, 05:25 PM   #4 (Print)
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
sanderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 5,979
Mine supposedly left the USA on Boxing Day...

__________________
Stuart

Author of EndPad, DailyMail and others now run by other generous souls. Setup: MCE hub feeds 3 x 360s from 2 x DVB-T tuners and 1 x Sky via TiVo+eTivo. Sky+HD coming 22/5.
sanderton is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-28-2003, 07:21 PM   #5 (Print)
Kingpleb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Warrington(ex C&W)
Posts: 67
Send a message via ICQ to Kingpleb
I doubt it could have done? post on boxing day! how unholy is that!!!

Will keep my eyes on this thread to see how it goes
Kingpleb is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-28-2003, 09:32 PM   #6 (Print)
Milhouse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: South London, England
Posts: 607
Fortunately the fitment problem is restricted to DTivos so that's one less problem for us in the UK, however the sound problems which are being attributed to insufficient voltages from the power supply (and possibly restricted to use of the internal tuner) are quite worrying - perhaps with our different hardware this may turn out to be another non-event for the UK (fingers crossed)!

Some sticks of RAM do appear to be more troublesome than others, but Jafa seems willing to tweak the driver to work with those sticks where possible. Not so sure what can be done if the card is sucking too many volts however, probably a respin of the hardware.

Oh, and LBA48 support is borked right now but Jafa is aware of it and has identifed the bug, a fixed driver should be available very soon.

Since this is the first batch of cards and v1.0 driver/installer, minor problems are only to be expected. What I'd like to see in the Underground is a seperate thread reporting successes with the CacheCard - so far it's only "doom and gloom" (I'm exaggerating!) being reported!

Last edited by Milhouse : 12-28-2003 at 09:47 PM.
Milhouse is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2003, 03:11 AM   #7 (Print)
kitschcamp
Tweaked and poked
 
kitschcamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, England & Malmö, Sweden.
Posts: 1,148
Send a message via ICQ to kitschcamp Send a message via MSN to kitschcamp Send a message via Yahoo to kitschcamp
Quote:
Originally posted by Kingpleb
I doubt it could have done? post on boxing day! how unholy is that!!!


The Americans don't celebrate the Feast of St Stephen, so they open again and would quite happily ship things out of the states (whether someone is available at this end is another matter, as I can trace mine has left the US, and via Royal Mail see they've been advised it's leaving the US, but it doesn't seem to have arrived here, yet...) Our US office is open as usual then, but are shut on New Year's Eve and Day, whereas we're only shut on Day.

__________________
Stephen

SkyEye, 160Gb+120Gb, CcheCrd 512MB, twkd recrdng sttngs, TiVoWeb and APC Back-UPS 500.
Tivo Mods. Fixed ui.itcl module
kitschcamp is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2003, 03:14 AM   #8 (Print)
kitschcamp
Tweaked and poked
 
kitschcamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, England & Malmö, Sweden.
Posts: 1,148
Send a message via ICQ to kitschcamp Send a message via MSN to kitschcamp Send a message via Yahoo to kitschcamp
Quote:
Originally posted by Milhouse

What I'd like to see in the Underground is a seperate thread reporting successes with the CacheCard - so far it's only "doom and gloom" (I'm exaggerating!) being reported!


There is one. And hardly any-one seems to be posting to it.

See here

__________________
Stephen

SkyEye, 160Gb+120Gb, CcheCrd 512MB, twkd recrdng sttngs, TiVoWeb and APC Back-UPS 500.
Tivo Mods. Fixed ui.itcl module
kitschcamp is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2003, 03:44 AM   #9 (Print)
Milhouse
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: South London, England
Posts: 607
Thanks for pointing that thread out to me Stephen, I missed it due to the lack of any recent posts - in fact that thread is in danger of dropping off the first page of the Underground!

It's early days yet, and there have been teething problems (a new driver has just been released which fixes several problems, including LBA48 support) so I'm not overly concerned about the lack of success stories.... yet!
Milhouse is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2003, 03:47 AM   #10 (Print)
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
sanderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 5,979
Cachecard has arrived. Where's me torx screwdrivers gone...

__________________
Stuart

Author of EndPad, DailyMail and others now run by other generous souls. Setup: MCE hub feeds 3 x 360s from 2 x DVB-T tuners and 1 x Sky via TiVo+eTivo. Sky+HD coming 22/5.
sanderton is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2003, 05:12 AM   #11 (Print)
LJ
Registered User
 
LJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: West Sussex, England
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally posted by kitschcamp
I can trace mine has left the US, and via Royal Mail see they've been advised it's leaving the US, but it doesn't seem to have arrived here, yet...)
Took mine 36 hours to fly from the US to the UK. Next stages were 'Arrived at International hub' and two minutes later 'sorted in hub'. Guess it might arrive today...

__________________
Latest versions of my TiVoWeb modules: Now Playing with Folders and Sort; What's On; Show series conflicts; Showcase etc are here.
LJ is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2003, 05:20 AM   #12 (Print)
iankb
Registered User
 
iankb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 5,205
Presumably, if there is a power-supply problem, switching from two drives to a larger single drive might cure the problem. However, the problem might be restricted to a different voltage line, in which case Sanderton is going to become the UK guinea-pig.

Glad I waited until the Mk2 version comes out. And no, I am only guessing that it needs to be (and might be) improved.

__________________
Ian.

For gold text on leather in TiVoWeb, try the redbook, bluebook, greenbook and blackbook themes, now updated with button menus
iankb is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2003, 05:39 AM   #13 (Print)
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
sanderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 5,979
Looks like I've got a duff card - no network Link light (not seen any Americans report that, so don't think its linked to the other problems they've had.).

Plus worse, when it caches my HD it's found a disk error I didn't know I had.

__________________
Stuart

Author of EndPad, DailyMail and others now run by other generous souls. Setup: MCE hub feeds 3 x 360s from 2 x DVB-T tuners and 1 x Sky via TiVo+eTivo. Sky+HD coming 22/5.
sanderton is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2003, 06:50 AM   #14 (Print)
GarySargent
Moderator
 
GarySargent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: W. Yorks, UK
Posts: 2,409
On a related note (speeding up TiVo) has anyone ever tried turning down the logging that TiVo does?

Don't know if its possible but presume it is.

Just thinking with it logging every remote keypress it must have to move the head to the other side of the hard disc each time you press a key to update the logfile. Guess that won't make much difference and its probably not written every time but in batch - but might be worth a play with if you have a duff cache card

__________________
http://www.tivoportal.co.uk » Everything you need to know about TiVo in the UK.
http://www.tivofaq.co.uk » Frequently Asked Questions.
http://www.tivonews.co.uk » TiVo UK Newsletters.
http://www.tivobugs.co.uk » List of current bugs and problems.
GarySargent is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2003, 07:35 AM   #15 (Print)
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
sanderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 5,979
Gets worse. I can't get the old Turbonet card to work now.

__________________
Stuart

Author of EndPad, DailyMail and others now run by other generous souls. Setup: MCE hub feeds 3 x 360s from 2 x DVB-T tuners and 1 x Sky via TiVo+eTivo. Sky+HD coming 22/5.
sanderton is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2003, 07:50 AM   #16 (Print)
LJ
Registered User
 
LJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: West Sussex, England
Posts: 736
Merp Do the logs show anything useful with the Turbonet card back in?

__________________
Latest versions of my TiVoWeb modules: Now Playing with Folders and Sort; What's On; Show series conflicts; Showcase etc are here.
LJ is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2003, 09:43 AM   #17 (Print)
kitschcamp
Tweaked and poked
 
kitschcamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, England & Malmö, Sweden.
Posts: 1,148
Send a message via ICQ to kitschcamp Send a message via MSN to kitschcamp Send a message via Yahoo to kitschcamp
Quote:
Originally posted by LJ
Took mine 36 hours to fly from the US to the UK. Next stages were 'Arrived at International hub' and two minutes later 'sorted in hub'. Guess it might arrive today...


Mine was sorted at 8:19 this morning - a 3 day(!) flight - so I'm guessing Wednesday at the earliest. ParcelFarce are hardly the most reliable of couriers. Only CityLuck seem to be worse.

__________________
Stephen

SkyEye, 160Gb+120Gb, CcheCrd 512MB, twkd recrdng sttngs, TiVoWeb and APC Back-UPS 500.
Tivo Mods. Fixed ui.itcl module
kitschcamp is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2003, 10:56 AM   #18 (Print)
mini__me
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 296
At least CityLink try and deliver by actually knocking on the door, round here ParcelForce throw stuff (and I mean throw) over the wall without trying the door first, and thats stuff that requires a signature.

Sadly all the calls I have made to complain fall on dead ears, I hate ParcelForce and will never deal with any company that uses them.

Rant Over


I'd love to hear how these babies turn out I'm not sure of any improvement they'd make for me so am eagerly awaiting some reviews.

__________________
TiVo 1 120GB Maxtor Sky Amstrad DX100 Turbonet
TiVo 2 160GB Samsung LBA48 Sky Pace 2500 SkyEye T-Link Turbonet
mini__me is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2003, 11:32 AM   #19 (Print)
kitschcamp
Tweaked and poked
 
kitschcamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, England & Malmö, Sweden.
Posts: 1,148
Send a message via ICQ to kitschcamp Send a message via MSN to kitschcamp Send a message via Yahoo to kitschcamp
I feel pretty much the same about CityLuck, who around here are reknowned for crushing, breaking and otherwise maiming parcels, plus failing to even attempt a delivery and just returning it to the sender.

__________________
Stephen

SkyEye, 160Gb+120Gb, CcheCrd 512MB, twkd recrdng sttngs, TiVoWeb and APC Back-UPS 500.
Tivo Mods. Fixed ui.itcl module
kitschcamp is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2003, 11:35 AM   #20 (Print)
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
sanderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 5,979
Old Turbonet card now working again, having restored all startup scripts from the second TiVo.

However I have now passed the recomemded tequila intake for network card installaion, so will have to return to the task in teh morning. Or maybe afternoon.

__________________
Stuart

Author of EndPad, DailyMail and others now run by other generous souls. Setup: MCE hub feeds 3 x 360s from 2 x DVB-T tuners and 1 x Sky via TiVo+eTivo. Sky+HD coming 22/5.
sanderton is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2003, 12:41 PM   #21 (Print)
ChrisJB
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 42
Y'know what, I think I'll sit this one out for a wee while
ChrisJB is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2003, 05:43 PM   #22 (Print)
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
sanderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 5,979
Got it working on my second TiVo.

First impressions:
1) Long startup time as it verifies the RAM and loads the db. The verify step can be skipped.
2) menus (and Tivoweb) seem faster
3) FTP speeds unchanged

All based on 10 mins, will report back more later.

__________________
Stuart

Author of EndPad, DailyMail and others now run by other generous souls. Setup: MCE hub feeds 3 x 360s from 2 x DVB-T tuners and 1 x Sky via TiVo+eTivo. Sky+HD coming 22/5.
sanderton is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-29-2003, 06:12 PM   #23 (Print)
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
sanderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 5,979
Tweaked a few settings on the PC and FTP speeds are now right at the top end of any I've previously seen with Turbonet. Could be good luck; could be it's faster.

__________________
Stuart

Author of EndPad, DailyMail and others now run by other generous souls. Setup: MCE hub feeds 3 x 360s from 2 x DVB-T tuners and 1 x Sky via TiVo+eTivo. Sky+HD coming 22/5.
sanderton is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2003, 03:39 AM   #24 (Print)
groovyclam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 384
Has it speeded up reordering your season passes ?
groovyclam is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2003, 04:07 AM   #25 (Print)
iankb
Registered User
 
iankb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 5,205
Quote:
Originally posted by groovyclam
Has it speeded up reordering your season passes ?
I have my suspicions that it wouldn't, since that involves rewriting the database and that would destroy the cache.

__________________
Ian.

For gold text on leather in TiVoWeb, try the redbook, bluebook, greenbook and blackbook themes, now updated with button menus
iankb is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2003, 05:04 AM   #26 (Print)
LJ
Registered User
 
LJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: West Sussex, England
Posts: 736
Looking good here so far!

Re-ordering season passes seems muuuch faster, though I only tried moving one near the bottom of the list...

Rather than cut and paste, here's a link to the post I just made in the main 'success' thread.

As usual the most difficult bit was getting the lid off

__________________
Latest versions of my TiVoWeb modules: Now Playing with Folders and Sort; What's On; Show series conflicts; Showcase etc are here.
LJ is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2003, 05:13 AM   #27 (Print)
iankb
Registered User
 
iankb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 5,205
Quote:
Originally posted by LJ
Re-ordering season passes seems muuuch faster ...
Of course, I could be wrong.

__________________
Ian.

For gold text on leather in TiVoWeb, try the redbook, bluebook, greenbook and blackbook themes, now updated with button menus
iankb is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2003, 07:22 AM   #28 (Print)
LJ
Registered User
 
LJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: West Sussex, England
Posts: 736
First problem - no sound on recording programme/live tv; aux bypass is fine...

__________________
Latest versions of my TiVoWeb modules: Now Playing with Folders and Sort; What's On; Show series conflicts; Showcase etc are here.
LJ is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2003, 07:25 AM   #29 (Print)
kitschcamp
Tweaked and poked
 
kitschcamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, England & Malmö, Sweden.
Posts: 1,148
Send a message via ICQ to kitschcamp Send a message via MSN to kitschcamp Send a message via Yahoo to kitschcamp
Same here with mine, problems go away with removal of memory from card.

__________________
Stephen

SkyEye, 160Gb+120Gb, CcheCrd 512MB, twkd recrdng sttngs, TiVoWeb and APC Back-UPS 500.
Tivo Mods. Fixed ui.itcl module
kitschcamp is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-30-2003, 07:37 AM   #30 (Print)
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
sanderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 5,979
Quote:
Originally posted by iankb
I have my suspicions that it wouldn't, since that involves rewriting the database and that would destroy the cache.


It's write-through cache, so it wouldn't be destroyed?

__________________
Stuart

Author of EndPad, DailyMail and others now run by other generous souls. Setup: MCE hub feeds 3 x 360s from 2 x DVB-T tuners and 1 x Sky via TiVo+eTivo. Sky+HD coming 22/5.
sanderton is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo UK

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index