TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-07-2004, 04:36 PM   #121 (Print)
exdishnet
HD is overrated...
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 44
Hemi, your post is incorrect concerning cable reception. Both HD receivers accept analog cable feeds:

"The Samsung HDTV receiver allows users to connect to DirecTV, Cable TV, and over-the-air analog and digital broadcasts."

And this re the Philips:

"The DIRECTV HD Receiver is designed to receive signals from DIRECTV, ANT and/or CABLE sources."

Last edited by exdishnet : 01-07-2004 at 05:10 PM.
exdishnet is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-07-2004, 04:39 PM   #122 (Print)
JimSpence
Finally own HR10-250
 
JimSpence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Binghamton, NY
Posts: 19,904
The receiver will accept unscrambled analog cable channels and integrate those with OTA signals, both analog and digital. What really isn't clear is whether you can use this receiver without a DirecTV subscription. If you buy it through DirecTV you have to commit to a 1 year subscription to Total Choice at a minimum.

__________________
Jim
May all terrorists drop dead!
JimSpence is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-07-2004, 04:46 PM   #123 (Print)
exdishnet
HD is overrated...
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 44
Jim, thanks for the info above re: receiving both OTA and cable simultaneously. As to using it without DTV, I've since found the Philips manual, and it says it would be fine:

"If you don't subscribe to DIRECTV programming, however, the function of the DIRECTV HD Receiver will be limited to receiving signals only from ANT and/or CABLE . You can still enjoy HD services provided by over-the-air digital broadcast along with the conventional analog broadcast. Without the DIRECTV service, however, no electronic program guide is available."
exdishnet is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-07-2004, 04:57 PM   #124 (Print)
kas25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally posted by RMSko
Westfield, NJ - OTA antenna

Any suggestions on how you did your HD set up. I have 3 directivos currently but I want HD. I am also in Westifield.
kas25 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-07-2004, 05:09 PM   #125 (Print)
battrl
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Murphy, TX
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally posted by JimSpence
The receiver will accept unscrambled analog cable channels and integrate those with OTA signals, both analog and digital. What really isn't clear is whether you can use this receiver without a DirecTV subscription. If you buy it through DirecTV you have to commit to a 1 year subscription to Total Choice at a minimum.

After my free month of D* HD is up I may try and cancel satellite service on the HD receiver and only use it for OTA reception. I will still fufill my year with Total Choice with my other receivers.

Of course, that's only if my wife doesn't absolutely fall in love with it
battrl is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-07-2004, 05:15 PM   #126 (Print)
RMSko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Westfield, NJ 07090
Posts: 377
Quote:
Originally posted by kas25
Any suggestions on how you did your HD set up. I have 3 directivos currently but I want HD. I am also in Westifield.


I have the oval dish with 3 LNBs, but I have't actually purchased the TV yet (I'm waiting to see what comes our of CES). I also have 3 DirecTiVos and I'm leaning toward not going with the $99 deal. Although it is a great deal (and DTV has noted in my file that I am eligible), I don't watch any live TV except sports, so I wouldn't get much benefit. I'm going to wait for the HD TiVo. But, in answer to your question, I was going to run the HD receiver (via DVI) directly into the TV and continue to leave everything else (which is only S-Video at this point), through my TiVo. Eventually, I'm going to get a DVI capable DVD player and run that, and the new HD TiVo into the HDTV via a DVI 1x2 (or 1x4) switch. What are you thinking about doing? If you haven't bought the TV yet, what are you looking at?

__________________
Rich S
TiVo since 1999
HR10-250
Philips DTiVo Series 1
Hughes DTiVo Series 1
Hughes DTivo Series 2
Philips Standalone
RMSko is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-07-2004, 05:16 PM   #127 (Print)
RMSko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Westfield, NJ 07090
Posts: 377
Quote:
Originally posted by battrl
After my free month of D* HD is up I may try and cancel satellite service on the HD receiver and only use it for OTA reception. I will still fufill my year with Total Choice with my other receivers.



You may have a tough time. The deal requires a commitment of one year to DTV HD programming.

__________________
Rich S
TiVo since 1999
HR10-250
Philips DTiVo Series 1
Hughes DTiVo Series 1
Hughes DTivo Series 2
Philips Standalone
RMSko is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-07-2004, 05:20 PM   #128 (Print)
JEbbesen
Advanced Member
 
JEbbesen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bartlett Illinois Hello
Posts: 957
Quote:
Originally posted by RMSko
You may have a tough time. The deal requires a commitment of one year to DTV HD programming.


I don't think so, at least when I got the deal on Monday, I didn't sign up for any additional programming.
JEbbesen is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-07-2004, 05:24 PM   #129 (Print)
kas25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally posted by RMSko
I have the oval dish with 3 LNBs, but I have't actually purchased the TV yet (I'm waiting to see what comes our of CES). I also have 3 DirecTiVos and I'm leaning toward not going with the $99 deal. Although it is a great deal (and DTV has noted in my file that I am eligible), I don't watch any live TV except sports, so I wouldn't get much benefit. I'm going to wait for the HD TiVo. But, in answer to your question, I was going to run the HD receiver (via DVI) directly into the TV and continue to leave everything else (which is only S-Video at this point), through my TiVo. Eventually, I'm going to get a DVI capable DVD player and run that, and the new HD TiVo into the HDTV via a DVI 1x2 (or 1x4) switch. What are you thinking about doing? If you haven't bought the TV yet, what are you looking at?


I think I will do the $99 deal and run the new receiver next to the tivo. I already have a 60 inch HD tv that should handle the extra input. My concern is getting the correct OTA antenna installed. Any suggestions in Westfield?
kas25 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-07-2004, 05:36 PM   #130 (Print)
Hemi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 286
I stand corrected! Cool!

Dan

__________________
'69 Hemi Charger Daytona
2 HR10-250's (9/05)
1 Sony SAT-T60 (since 12/00 - 143 Hours)
(just add 241 to my post count...)
Hemi is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-07-2004, 05:42 PM   #131 (Print)
harambur
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 37
Don't you guys think that since Dish will not offer a free 921 or a deal on it, that Directv will have no reason to offer a deal on HD Tivo. Anyone waiting on HD Tivo should remember that a bird in the hand is worth two in the bush.
harambur is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-07-2004, 05:49 PM   #132 (Print)
kas25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 106
Any comments on the radio shack antennal that clips to the dish? NY area.
kas25 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-07-2004, 06:38 PM   #133 (Print)
smak
Registered User
 
smak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Studio City, CA USA
Posts: 7,432
Can I do this deal and not get the installation, or just tell the guy when he comes that it's already set up?

-smak-

__________________
Comptroller - TivoShanan fan club

"I'm sorry, i'm going to have to get back to you, there's a girl in a bathtub on the other line"
smak is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-07-2004, 07:46 PM   #134 (Print)
BMelody
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 94
My receiver arrived today!!!! It is a Hughes Will not have a chance to install the new dish until Sunday, oh well.

smak, I told the guy I did not want the free installation and he said no problem.

~Bill
BMelody is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-07-2004, 07:54 PM   #135 (Print)
smak
Registered User
 
smak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Studio City, CA USA
Posts: 7,432
So in all instances everything comes first, and later on they'll call to set up an appointment?

If so, I may go for it.

-smak-

__________________
Comptroller - TivoShanan fan club

"I'm sorry, i'm going to have to get back to you, there's a girl in a bathtub on the other line"
smak is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-07-2004, 08:28 PM   #136 (Print)
BMelody
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 94
No smak, I told DirecTV I didn't want the free install. I told DirecTV I did not anyone screwing with any of my equipment and I wanted to install all the equipment myself. He said no problem, so I'm not expecting anyone to call.

~Bill
BMelody is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-07-2004, 08:40 PM   #137 (Print)
acampo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 71
you guys are the BEST!
I bet they never had so many people canceling ha ha ha
acampo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-07-2004, 08:50 PM   #138 (Print)
bnormal
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 15
Received my Hughes and the 3-lnb today. I have a "professional" coming out Friday to install the sat. I setup the hughes and just ran 1 cable from my dtivo to the hughes. Setup was pretty simple. The only thing I've seen so far that sucks is that the guide defaults to "all" channels. Every time I hit the "guide" on the remote all of the channels show up. I then have to hit the "guide" on the remote to choose "favorites". Every time!

Other than that...an excellent deal

Tivolit...you are da man (or woman)!
bnormal is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-07-2004, 08:52 PM   #139 (Print)
acampo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 71
what model number is the hughes?
is it always shipped direct before the mr fix it comes?
acampo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-07-2004, 09:11 PM   #140 (Print)
BMelody
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 94
The manual says model: HTL-HD
BMelody is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-07-2004, 10:09 PM   #141 (Print)
bnormal
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally posted by acampo
what model number is the hughes?
is it always shipped direct before the mr fix it comes?


In my case it did.
bnormal is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-07-2004, 10:35 PM   #142 (Print)
Marc
Registered User
 
Marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: McMurray, PA
Posts: 2,119
I can't decide whether I'm hoping to get the Hughes or the Samsung receiver. I had been thinking the Samsung receiver since it has coaxial digital output and my two optical connectors are already in use.

The Hughes, however, has software-controlled resolutions, including some very nice variant groupings.

I think I'm leaning toward hoping for the Hughes.
Marc is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-07-2004, 11:45 PM   #143 (Print)
btsibr
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 6
Send a message via AIM to btsibr Send a message via Yahoo to btsibr
Failure so far

I called this evening as a 5+ year subscriber and the first rep hadn't heard anything about the deal and the second knew about it right away but said the HD package was required which was a deal killer. I'll keep trying, but a little disappointed that the second time didn't work out.

I didn't get far enough to ask if the OTA antenna would be included.

Location is Annandale, VA.
btsibr is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-07-2004, 11:49 PM   #144 (Print)
eswanborg
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 70
Well the Superbowl being on the Satellite was the clincher. Called twice to get it. First call I just went through the "add equipment" CSR route. She would have been happy to sell me one for $399 with a 12 month commitment to TC AND HD package. I then called back to cancel and they gave me the $99 deal - with OTA antenna (north end of SFV in Los Angeles). This rep said there was a TC commitment and that the first month of HD package free then $10.99/month - no other commitment. Installer is coming Saturday.

Thanks to everyone here for making this deal known. Now I just have to find the pages with Feldon's diagrams and figure out how I want the new cables run. I haven't paid attention to the new dishes until recently (only have a dual-LNB at the moment). Do the new ones come with an integrated MS? I'd like to run two MS off this dish - one 5x8 to the Entertainment center and one to the other distribution closet in the house (to feed other TVs 101 sat only).

edit: to add NO HD commitment required & ask about dish

Last edited by eswanborg : 01-08-2004 at 01:08 AM.
eswanborg is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-08-2004, 08:30 AM   #145 (Print)
RMSko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Westfield, NJ 07090
Posts: 377
Quote:
Originally posted by kas25
I think I will do the $99 deal and run the new receiver next to the tivo. I already have a 60 inch HD tv that should handle the extra input. My concern is getting the correct OTA antenna installed. Any suggestions in Westfield?


I did it myself. It was easy, I bought the antenna from Radio Shack and installed in on the chimney. Which 60" TV do you have?

__________________
Rich S
TiVo since 1999
HR10-250
Philips DTiVo Series 1
Hughes DTiVo Series 1
Hughes DTivo Series 2
Philips Standalone
RMSko is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-08-2004, 09:16 AM   #146 (Print)
kas25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally posted by RMSko
I did it myself. It was easy, I bought the antenna from Radio Shack and installed in on the chimney. Which 60" TV do you have?


Which model antenna? My wife won't go for a big antenna on the roof? I have a 57" Hitachi. Are you getting the HD channels with your antenna? I am considering Comcast for local HD but I'm not sure how this would integrate with the Directv HD tuner. Any suggestions.
kas25 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-08-2004, 11:10 AM   #147 (Print)
G_S_O_D
go climb ice
 
G_S_O_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: One Infinite Loop, SC
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally posted by kas25

My wife won't go for a big antenna on the roof?


who wears the pants in this family H-i?


__________________
HR10-250/Infocus X1. Mac OS. '03 Passat Variant. Litespeed Vortex/10speed DuraAce.
G_S_O_D is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-08-2004, 11:45 AM   #148 (Print)
RMSko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Westfield, NJ 07090
Posts: 377
Quote:
Originally posted by kas25
Which model antenna? My wife won't go for a big antenna on the roof? I have a 57" Hitachi. Are you getting the HD channels with your antenna? I am considering Comcast for local HD but I'm not sure how this would integrate with the Directv HD tuner. Any suggestions.


Unfortunately I don't know the model number. It's a regular Radio Shack roof antenna. No way will I switch back to Comcast. First, the HD TiVo is expected to be terrific and second, Comcast was terrible when I had Digital Cable with them. I'm sure that given your proximity to NYC, HD locals will not be a problem.

__________________
Rich S
TiVo since 1999
HR10-250
Philips DTiVo Series 1
Hughes DTiVo Series 1
Hughes DTivo Series 2
Philips Standalone
RMSko is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-08-2004, 12:37 PM   #149 (Print)
dqhall
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1
DirecTV HD Deal.

Just got off the phone with a DirecTv CSR (Idaho office). Told him that I had bought the DirecTv HD equipment in December for $399 and wanted a credit since they are offering the $99 deal. After 15 minutes of waiting on hold, the CSR returned and offered me a $200 credit towards my account and 6 months free of HBO and Showtime. I took the deal. Thanks for the valuable information.
dqhall is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 01-08-2004, 01:33 PM   #150 (Print)
kas25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally posted by RMSko
Unfortunately I don't know the model number. It's a regular Radio Shack roof antenna. No way will I switch back to Comcast. First, the HD TiVo is expected to be terrific and second, Comcast was terrible when I had Digital Cable with them. I'm sure that given your proximity to NYC, HD locals will not be a problem.


i guess you are using the antenna for digital local channels?
kas25 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index