TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-08-2004, 08:30 PM   #1 (Print)
herdfan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 1,328
DTV R10 is in the house!

My house that is. Picked one up a CC this evening. I hope to get it up and running this evening, so post your questions and requests for screen shots.
herdfan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2004, 08:40 PM   #2 (Print)
lee espinoza
some guy
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Antonio,TX
Posts: 2,442
does it have hmo?
lee espinoza is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2004, 08:54 PM   #3 (Print)
speedy4022
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Idaho
Posts: 529
So now that the R10 is on the market Directv should be rolling out the 6.1 software soon to series 2 owners.

__________________
Mike

R-15
Hughes SD-DVR 40
Samsung SIR-S4120R 100 hrs
R10 70 Hrs
all unhacked
speedy4022 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2004, 09:00 PM   #4 (Print)
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 11,339
No HMO.

__________________
Steve
stevel is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2004, 09:19 PM   #5 (Print)
herdfan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 1,328
A few pics while I start to set it up.

The box. What's with the orange?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg img_0263.jpg (41.8 KB, 1961 views)
herdfan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2004, 09:21 PM   #6 (Print)
herdfan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 1,328
Front Panel 1. Notice the reset button.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg img_0265.jpg (29.6 KB, 1785 views)
herdfan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2004, 09:22 PM   #7 (Print)
herdfan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 1,328
Front Panel 2. Sorry for the poor quality on this one.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg img_0267.jpg (22.9 KB, 1481 views)
herdfan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2004, 09:22 PM   #8 (Print)
herdfan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 1,328
Rear Panel.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg img_0268.jpg (36.5 KB, 1555 views)
herdfan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2004, 09:30 PM   #9 (Print)
herdfan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 1,328
Powering up. Again, what's with the orange?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg img_0271.jpg (49.3 KB, 1538 views)
herdfan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2004, 09:30 PM   #10 (Print)
herdfan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 1,328
Almost there. Ahh, the blue is back.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg img_0273.jpg (28.9 KB, 1368 views)
herdfan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2004, 09:35 PM   #11 (Print)
herdfan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 1,328
Welcome.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg img_0274.jpg (76.7 KB, 1267 views)
herdfan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2004, 09:36 PM   #12 (Print)
herdfan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 1,328
Dish type. Surprised not to see an option for the 72.5 slot.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg img_0275.jpg (69.1 KB, 1303 views)
herdfan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2004, 09:41 PM   #13 (Print)
Rcrew
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 10,460
Keep 'um coming! Looking good so far!

Lets see FOLDERS!!!
Rcrew is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2004, 09:42 PM   #14 (Print)
rminsk
TiVoted TiVo User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 3,940
Is it as ugly as it looks. It seems like a big step backwards looks wise from the other offerings.

__________________
Be vewy vewy quiet. I am squirrel hunting.
rminsk is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2004, 09:46 PM   #15 (Print)
dtivofan23
TiVo addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 511
lol

lol he said its ugly...lol u people are so dam picky. besides that, as r crew said keep em coming and lets hear more about the folders and any other new features

__________________
ayooooo
dtivofan23 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2004, 09:46 PM   #16 (Print)
herdfan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 1,328
Looks exactly like my RCA DVR40. On the phone waiting on D* now.
herdfan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2004, 09:58 PM   #17 (Print)
dswallow
+258PC
 
dswallow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Long Branch, NJ, USA
Posts: 27,809
Send a message via ICQ to dswallow
I wonder if they shipped with v6.x software or if that's something that will be rolled out soon, leaving the R10's shipping with v3.1...
dswallow is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2004, 10:12 PM   #18 (Print)
herdfan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 1,328
Quote:
Originally posted by Rcrew
Keep 'um coming! Looking good so far!

Lets see FOLDERS!!!

Its all set up and running. I can't show you folders until I record a few things. I hope to have a few things in folders by morning.

Doug,

Software is 6.1.01-2-521.

So far I can't tell any difference from a 3.1 machine.
herdfan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2004, 10:15 PM   #19 (Print)
dswallow
+258PC
 
dswallow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Long Branch, NJ, USA
Posts: 27,809
Send a message via ICQ to dswallow
There's gotta be some crap cable show on twice in a row right now, right?
dswallow is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2004, 10:20 PM   #20 (Print)
lee espinoza
some guy
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Antonio,TX
Posts: 2,442
it does have folders look at the manual herdfan

Last edited by lee espinoza : 12-08-2004 at 10:53 PM.
lee espinoza is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2004, 10:34 PM   #21 (Print)
MattDing
Registered User
 
MattDing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,454
Send a message via AIM to MattDing
How about recording 5 minutes of anything to get in the NPL and then see what the sort options are. It should list the ability to turn folders on and off somewhere.
MattDing is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2004, 10:35 PM   #22 (Print)
Tivo_60
Now 63 !
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 374
Quote:
Originally posted by lee espinoza
it does have folders look manual at the herdfan


say what ??

__________________
Hughes HDVR2 105hr
Hughes DVR40 35hr
Mitsubishi 40" direct view
Tivo_60 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2004, 10:42 PM   #23 (Print)
MattDing
Registered User
 
MattDing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,454
Send a message via AIM to MattDing
From the R10 Manual:

Sorting and Grouping Programs
When you are in the Now Playing List, press ENTER to see Now Playing Options. You
can also press 1 on your remote control to change the sort order of programs on the Now
Playing List, or

press 2 to turn Groups on or off.
Sorting Programs. Choose how you want the programs in Now Playing to be listed:
• Alphabetically. Programs are listed alphabetically by title (from A to Z).
• By date recorded. Programs are listed by the date they were recorded, with the most
recent at the top and the oldest at the bottom.
Grouping Programs. The Groups option lets you group like programs together to “tidy
up” the screen. A number in parentheses to the right of each folder shows how many
programs it contains.


Please!!! Press 2 and let's see the options.

Thanks,
Matt
MattDing is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2004, 10:44 PM   #24 (Print)
Fish Man
Chubby Hubby
 
Fish Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Covington, Louisiana
Posts: 3,789
This thing had to be in production before 72.5 was on line.

So, I'll bet it's a "beta" release of 6.1 without 72.5 support.

It'll probably download the "final" release (with 72.5 support) soon.

Anyway, Cool! I didn't think we'd see one until January!

__________________
1 DirecTV HR10-250 (HD-DirecTiVo - Stock)
1 Hughes GXCEBOTD Rescued from the post-Katrina rubble, still works!! (146 Hour)
1 R-10 (stock)
Fish Man is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2004, 11:02 PM   #25 (Print)
MrLatte
Registered User
 
MrLatte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Silverdale, WA
Posts: 46
Is the 30-second skip code still supported on the R10?

What about the select-play-select-9-select for displaying the clock and time into a recording in the bottom right of the screen?

And why does it show I've only had 7 posts??? I think I've posted a few more times than that since Oct 2000.
MrLatte is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2004, 11:03 PM   #26 (Print)
ebonovic
A TiVo Junkie...
 
ebonovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tinley Park, IL USA (SW ChicagoBurbs)
Posts: 8,245
Weekness has also posted in the upgrade forum, that they have mounted TWO 300gb drives in the unit...
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-v...threadid=210189

With some sysinfo screen captures...

__________________
- Earl (XBL: Fontano)
Favorite 05/06 TV Lines: Karma! ; Suit Up! ; Legendary.....

Non-TiVo DirecTV DVR (R15,HR20) ->
DBSTalk
ebonovic is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2004, 11:07 PM   #27 (Print)
kablooie
how do i access USB?
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: so cal
Posts: 61
527 HOURS?! good God! that is a hell of a lot of time in front of the tv. that's almost 22 days worth of programming.
kablooie is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2004, 11:10 PM   #28 (Print)
ebonovic
A TiVo Junkie...
 
ebonovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tinley Park, IL USA (SW ChicagoBurbs)
Posts: 8,245
Let see... If all 5 of my SD units became R10's, dual 300's in each of them
And HMO (or any type of MRV)...

That woudl be: 2600 hours and 10 tuners... Hmmm... That should be enough to catch all the Law and Order series

__________________
- Earl (XBL: Fontano)
Favorite 05/06 TV Lines: Karma! ; Suit Up! ; Legendary.....

Non-TiVo DirecTV DVR (R15,HR20) ->
DBSTalk

Last edited by ebonovic : 12-08-2004 at 11:28 PM.
ebonovic is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2004, 11:11 PM   #29 (Print)
mycltype-s
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 78
Send a message via AIM to mycltype-s
This is cool.

__________________
SVR-2000 with a 120 gig
SD-DVR40 with a 120 gig
R10 with a 300 gig
12.4 @ 102 w/nitrous in a saturn???
mycltype-s is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-08-2004, 11:21 PM   #30 (Print)
gene1138
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: North Plainfield, NJ USA
Posts: 57
Is it too early to comment on the R10 being snappier with going through the menus and the directv guide? I guess we would need to wait for it to download all the guide data before we could know for sure.
gene1138 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index