TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-09-2004, 03:45 PM   #61 (Print)
herdfan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 1,328
Quote:
Originally posted by rminsk
Is there enough room to easily fit two disk drives in it?

Probably, but it will take a new bracket. Is one 300g not enough?
herdfan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 03:46 PM   #62 (Print)
herdfan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 1,328
Quote:
Originally posted by Snowman
When are you going to suck the software off of it and post it somewhere? Oh, oops, that'd be piracy... bwahahaha

Because I have no idea exactly how to do that.
herdfan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 03:57 PM   #63 (Print)
mjitkop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 366
Quote:
Originally posted by herdfan

I also have a video capture of the guide being rendered, but have no way to host it. Working on that now.


You may want to use YouSendIt. Just enter your e-mail address as the recipient's address and you will be given a link to download your video.

Thank you very much for all your pictures! That's exciting. I can't wait to have this software version on my HDVR2!
mjitkop is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 03:57 PM   #64 (Print)
the new guy
Sarcastic Person
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fort Collins CO
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to the new guy
The inside pics look similar to my RCA DVR40, though the layout of the plugs on the back is different, and the power supply looks a little smaller in terms of what is on it. Hard to tell from the picture, but is the IDE cable 40 or 80 wires?

I, too, am looking forward to a non-hacked lba-48 aware TiVo OS on my unit. Hope D* updates the rest of us soon...

__________________
RCA DVR40 - 120GB with 6.2, hacked
Hughes SD-DVR80 - 80GB 6.2, hacked
the new guy is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 04:04 PM   #65 (Print)
weaknees
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,599
The inside is different enough that our black TwinBreeze won't work. Our TwinBreeze G2 will:

http://www.weaknees.com/tbhd.php

Michael

__________________
WeaKnees - Proud TiVo Community Special Sponsor
weaknees is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 04:07 PM   #66 (Print)
JohnTivo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Culver City, CA
Posts: 761
Quote:
Originally posted by rminsk
Is there enough room to easily fit two disk drives in it?


In another thread, weaknees has stated they've got the unit running with dual 300 gig drives... so thier bracket probably does fit...

__________________
1 HR10-250 (50 Hours)
4 HDVR2's (267, 69, 35, 35 Hours)
4 HD HTPC PVR's (60, 27, 24, 21 Hours)
1 TIVO Series2 (40 Hour)
JohnTivo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 04:14 PM   #67 (Print)
chriszarate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 32
So is the large hard drive support a result of the new software or new hardware? That is, will existing S2 owners get it when we receive the 6.x software? Or is it only with the R10?
chriszarate is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 04:22 PM   #68 (Print)
DVDKingdom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 949
Quote:
Originally posted by chriszarate
So is the large hard drive support a result of the new software or new hardware? That is, will existing S2 owners get it when we receive the 6.x software? Or is it only with the R10?



The Software update to 6.1 is all you need to use the larger drives. The current hardware can already support the drives.

__________________
TCD24004A (140Hrs) Lifetime
DVDKingdom is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 04:24 PM   #69 (Print)
Fish Man
Chubby Hubby
 
Fish Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Covington, Louisiana
Posts: 3,789
Quote:
Originally posted by chriszarate
So is the large hard drive support a result of the new software or new hardware? That is, will existing S2 owners get it when we receive the 6.x software? Or is it only with the R10?


It's the result of the R10 having a new enough Linux kernel (2.4.20, IIRC) that it supports larger drives.

I don't think they ever upgrade the kernel as part of a software upgrade (although, I could be mistaken, since upgrading the software flip/flops the boot partition it may be possible to upgrade the kernel as part of an overall update, if they wish to do so).

So, my guess is "no" when the older Series 2 DirecTiVos upgrade to 6.1 they will not support larger hard drives, but as I indicated above, there's a small possibility that they might update the kernel too.

__________________
1 DirecTV HR10-250 (HD-DirecTiVo - Stock)
1 Hughes GXCEBOTD Rescued from the post-Katrina rubble, still works!! (146 Hour)
1 R-10 (stock)
Fish Man is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 04:26 PM   #70 (Print)
herdfan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 1,328
Quote:
Originally posted by JohnTivo
In another thread, weaknees has stated they've got the unit running with dual 300 gig drives... so thier bracket probably does fit...

Yeah, as Weakness posted, the original Twinbreeze that I have installed won't work. Looks like the new version will.

new guy,

It is a 40 pin.
herdfan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 04:28 PM   #71 (Print)
MisterEd
Very Large Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: New Joisey
Posts: 361
I'll raise you 100. WD 400
Quote:
Originally posted by herdfan
Probably, but it will take a new bracket. Is one 300g not enough?
MisterEd is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 04:33 PM   #72 (Print)
RyMcQ
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Iowa City
Posts: 68
Will I be able to remove my extra 80 GB hard drive from my Series 1 unit and just add it to the new unit? Or will it need to be formatted?
RyMcQ is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 04:47 PM   #73 (Print)
kaszeta
Registered User
 
kaszeta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Grantham, NH
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally posted by Fish Man
This thing had to be in production before 72.5 was on line.

So, I'll bet it's a "beta" release of 6.1 without 72.5 support.

It'll probably download the "final" release (with 72.5 support) soon.



It might support 72.5. My DSR704 does, and nothing in the setup mentions 72.5 --- you select "Oval Dish" (even though my DSR704 is hooked to two round dishes) and it auto-detects the 72.5 satellite just fine.
kaszeta is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 05:37 PM   #74 (Print)
JohnTivo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Culver City, CA
Posts: 761
Quote:
Originally posted by Fish Man
It's the result of the R10 having a new enough Linux kernel (2.4.20, IIRC) that it supports larger drives.

I don't think they ever upgrade the kernel as part of a software upgrade (although, I could be mistaken, since upgrading the software flip/flops the boot partition it may be possible to upgrade the kernel as part of an overall update, if they wish to do so).

So, my guess is "no" when the older Series 2 DirecTiVos upgrade to 6.1 they will not support larger hard drives, but as I indicated above, there's a small possibility that they might update the kernel too.


I would think that they would include the new Kernel in any update because that's what the "new" code is based on.

__________________
1 HR10-250 (50 Hours)
4 HDVR2's (267, 69, 35, 35 Hours)
4 HD HTPC PVR's (60, 27, 24, 21 Hours)
1 TIVO Series2 (40 Hour)
JohnTivo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 05:38 PM   #75 (Print)
Dkerr24
Lost in Grand Canyon
 
Dkerr24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Okla, USA
Posts: 1,121
Yep, the front faceplate does look just like the RCA DVR40 I have. Too bad they didn't use the faceplace from the Samsung unit. Much better look, imho.

__________________
265 hour (Samsung 300gb) Samsung S4040R
107 hour (Maxtor 120gb) RCA DVR40

Last edited by Dkerr24 : 12-09-2004 at 05:47 PM.
Dkerr24 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 06:30 PM   #76 (Print)
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 11,339
Quote:
Originally posted by Snowman
Why is it that all of the drives in the DTivos have that smudge on them?
It's usually a stamp with the model number of the TiVo, or some other indication to the factory as to what version of software is on the disk. The ones from my DSR704s say "DSR704". Back when I had DSR6000s, they said "2.0".

__________________
Steve
stevel is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 07:55 PM   #77 (Print)
mycltype-s
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 78
Send a message via AIM to mycltype-s
So I read some where that there is a "soft" limit on the drive size.... is this true?

__________________
SVR-2000 with a 120 gig
SD-DVR40 with a 120 gig
R10 with a 300 gig
12.4 @ 102 w/nitrous in a saturn???
mycltype-s is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 08:05 PM   #78 (Print)
silverstreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 72
Newbie here. I am a 10-year-plus DirecTV subscriber, but this weekend, bought the Hughes DVR80 for my wife for Christmas from Best Buy for $99. So, I have never used Tivo. Bottom line, should I keep it, or return it and get the R10 from Circuit City?
silverstreak is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 08:07 PM   #79 (Print)
dswallow
+258PC
 
dswallow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Long Branch, NJ, USA
Posts: 27,809
Send a message via ICQ to dswallow
Quote:
Originally posted by silverstreak
Newbie here. I am a 10-year-plus DirecTV subscriber, but this weekend, bought the Hughes DVR80 for my wife for Christmas from Best Buy for $99. So, I have never used Tivo. Bottom line, should I keep it, or return it and get the R10 from Circuit City?

I would, if only for the faster CPU/more memory; same price, better system, no wait for v6.1 software -- couldn't hurt, right?
dswallow is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 08:14 PM   #80 (Print)
rminsk
TiVoted TiVo User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 3,940
Quote:
Originally posted by mycltype-s
So I read some where that there is a "soft" limit on the drive size.... is this true?
Nope. Weaknees has already put two 300 Gig drives in one.
rminsk is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-09-2004, 08:34 PM   #81 (Print)
mycltype-s
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 78
Send a message via AIM to mycltype-s
So nothing special has to be done?

__________________
SVR-2000 with a 120 gig
SD-DVR40 with a 120 gig
R10 with a 300 gig
12.4 @ 102 w/nitrous in a saturn???
mycltype-s is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2004, 08:40 AM   #82 (Print)
ddobson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 179
Smile

Quote:
Originally posted by herdfan
Looks exactly like my RCA DVR40. On the phone waiting on D* now.


That's why I bought a Hughes, to me it just looked better

__________________
DirecTV since 2/95
4 DirecTivo's plus a spare!
Weaknees Upgrades
XM since 6/04

Like Tracking Storms?
www.stormpredator.com
ddobson is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2004, 11:05 AM   #83 (Print)
rick31621
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: So Calif
Posts: 154
Where's the best deal for the R10 at this time.
Any of our retailers offering free shipping?
Thanks
rick31621 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2004, 11:13 AM   #84 (Print)
Okeemike
Tastes like lemons
 
Okeemike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 352
Send a message via ICQ to Okeemike Send a message via Yahoo to Okeemike
Quote:
Originally posted by rick31621
Where's the best deal for the R10 at this time.
Any of our retailers offering free shipping?
Thanks



Circuit City has them for $99, free shipping. I purchased on last night, total price $106.00

__________________
R10 (patiently waiting for a Series 3)
Series 2
DSR 6000 (somehwere under the bed)
Okeemike is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2004, 12:15 PM   #85 (Print)
nashley04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 70
Hey this new reciever is great so far, not all of the features we wanted but its alot better than before I really like the new kernel not limiting how much hard drive I can add. It really got old having two units to hold all of my programs.

One thing that I would like to know is if this R10 would finally have the ablility to recongnize a stacked signal common in MDU addresses and some custom setups. I really dont want to have to buy another de-stacker. Can anybody find any hidden menus that would allow the LNB type to be switched from UNSTACKED to STACKED, like the HBH units have.

Other than this fact this receiver is great!!! I want to buy one soon but this is one of the things holding me back.
nashley04 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2004, 12:34 PM   #86 (Print)
JohnTivo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Culver City, CA
Posts: 761
From all reports, the hardware is the same as the "older" units, so I doubt the R10 has built in stacking support.

__________________
1 HR10-250 (50 Hours)
4 HDVR2's (267, 69, 35, 35 Hours)
4 HD HTPC PVR's (60, 27, 24, 21 Hours)
1 TIVO Series2 (40 Hour)
JohnTivo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2004, 12:52 PM   #87 (Print)
nashley04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 70
Angry

Geeze this makes the purchase an iffy thing I wonder if the wifey will allow the purchase

I can hear it now, but honey it has folders and it has more hard drive space ability

Her: Uhhmm I have no idea what that means but we are not buying another f*****g de-stacker.

Im thinking bribe her

Let me know if nayone else has any other input because I was afraid of this.
nashley04 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2004, 12:58 PM   #88 (Print)
dswallow
+258PC
 
dswallow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Long Branch, NJ, USA
Posts: 27,809
Send a message via ICQ to dswallow
Quote:
Originally posted by nashley04
Geeze this makes the purchase an iffy thing I wonder if the wifey will allow the purchase

I can hear it now, but honey it has folders and it has more hard drive space ability

Her: Uhhmm I have no idea what that means but we are not buying another f*****g de-stacker.

Im thinking bribe her

Let me know if nayone else has any other input because I was afraid of this.

Presuming you only need the 101° satellite, you could just connect a 3x8 or 3x8 (or 4x8 or 5x8, leaving SatB/C disconnected) multiswitch to the two outputs you have now from the destacker then connect the receivers to it. No need to use more destackers.
dswallow is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2004, 01:57 PM   #89 (Print)
nashley04
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 70
similar to the feldon23 set-up, yeah thats what I have I just dont want to run more cabling its so unatractive. Its going to be one of those purchases were I forgot to metion
nashley04 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-10-2004, 02:01 PM   #90 (Print)
rminsk
TiVoted TiVo User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 3,940
Quote:
Originally posted by nashley04
I really dont want to have to buy another de-stacker.
If you already have a de-stacker and thus a de-stacked signal why not add a 2x4 multiswitch on the output for the de-stacker?

__________________
Be vewy vewy quiet. I am squirrel hunting.

Last edited by rminsk : 12-10-2004 at 02:09 PM.
rminsk is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index