TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-12-2004, 06:11 PM   #121 (Print)
schipperke
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 9
Thumbs up R10 Here

Thanks to this forum (almost bought the Hughes DVR80) I found the R10 at Circuit City. Picked it up today and replaced my SAT T-60, one of the first SAT T-60's w/ two hard drives. The fan pooped out completely and 65c was too hot I think, it was running slow. First I looked at replacing the fan and upgrading, but found 70 hours and an entire new unit for less $ and hassle.

Circuit City was a nightmare, no one heard of the R10 even though the web site showed stock at this store. Finally someone looked it up, they were arguing it could not be a "Directv Brand etc. etc." Well, they showed 5 in stock. I pay for it, then wait at the pick up area. After 10 minutes they come out with a "D10". Never seeing the R10 box, I still knew right away this was wrong , the box was tiny and no mention of DVR. More discussion.... Why is it today the consumer knows more about the merchandise than the damn store! Finally they found the R10.

Call Directv, and went through the whole "R10" scene on the phone. The lady was very nice and after 2 or 3 minutes pulled up that there was an R10, and she said this was the first one she ever activated. Got everything up, still waiting on some of program list. It is way faster than the SAT T-60, and MUCH quieter! I think those two Hard drives have seen better days
schipperke is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-12-2004, 06:14 PM   #122 (Print)
slacker9876
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Colorful Colorado
Posts: 195
Okay, I have not seen where anyone has posted this but I thought I'd try anyway. The 6.1 software from the R10 will not run on an HDVR2/3 or the DVR40. Also the 4.x+RID updates (from a couple week ago) will not run on the R10.

This was the result that I expected since the motherboards are vastly different, but I wanted to try to see if I'd be able to update my HR10-250 on my own.

FWIW

Dswallow ... I do not see how 6.1 will improve the performance of the HR10-250 since it has half the RAM and 25MHz slower (I think) processor. If I am able to get it by the wife, I'll be moving back to the HTL-HD ... but that may not fly. I already returned a unit back in the release week (because I needed the cash and was not THAT impressed) so we'll see.

EDIT: I also wanted to add that while it says "Two sets of audio/video outputs" on the box, they still will not out put different signals ... this is a major flaw in all their units. It is like D* will not acknowledge that PIP has been around for 20 years.

Last edited by slacker9876 : 12-12-2004 at 06:50 PM.
slacker9876 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-12-2004, 07:11 PM   #123 (Print)
tivoboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SFO
Posts: 333
apparently

Quote:
[i]

Dswallow ... I do not see how 6.1 will improve the performance of the HR10-250 since it has half the RAM and 25MHz slower (I think) processor. If I am able to get it by the wife, I'll be moving back to the HTL-HD ... but that may not fly. I already returned a unit back in the release week (because I needed the cash and was not THAT impressed) so we'll see. [/B]


apparently, the new SW is the primary reason for the increase in speed and responsiveness of the units. therefore, IF the new software gets rolled out to the H10-250's like the other D* HDVR2/3 units, we'll see a pop.

the speed makes all the differance, guide speed, SP speed, etc. Folders would be nice too,

Last edited by tivoboy : 12-12-2004 at 07:21 PM.
tivoboy is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-12-2004, 07:18 PM   #124 (Print)
ckelly5
Denny Crane
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Westborough, MA
Posts: 303
yay for software updates! I was wondering if/ when us DTiVo owners would see folders. Good to know it's coming soon.

now if they'd enable the flippin USB ports so I didn't have to have to pay for a land line/ vonage/ other phone related services anymore.

__________________
Old and Busted: Sony Svr-2000 (120gb)
New hotness: Philips DSR704 (160/137gb) 6.2
Future hotness?: DTV R15? DirecTV Home Media Center?
ckelly5 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-12-2004, 07:22 PM   #125 (Print)
tivoboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SFO
Posts: 333
uh

uh, shouldn't you be able to do IP updates already?
tivoboy is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-12-2004, 07:36 PM   #126 (Print)
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 11,339
Not on a DTiVo.

__________________
Steve
stevel is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-12-2004, 08:12 PM   #127 (Print)
slacker9876
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Colorful Colorado
Posts: 195
Re: apparently

Quote:
Originally posted by tivoboy
apparently, the new SW is the primary reason for the increase in speed and responsiveness of the units. therefore, IF the new software gets rolled out to the H10-250's like the other D* HDVR2/3 units, we'll see a pop.

the speed makes all the difference, guide speed, SP speed, etc. Folders would be nice too,


That does make some sense, if they optimize the kernel which is already leaner with greater hardware support with the current rev. I am just in the school of thought that it was optimized in the first release. So, I'll hope but won't hold my breath.
slacker9876 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-13-2004, 12:15 AM   #128 (Print)
btwyx
Substantive Member
 
btwyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 6,099
Quote:
Originally posted by ebonovic
Weekness has also posted in the upgrade forum, that they have mounted TWO 300gb drives in the unit...
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-v...threadid=210189

With some sysinfo screen captures...
600GB is a bit of overkill for just SD.

__________________
HR10-250 Upgraded to 600GB. (77Hr HD, 515Hr SD.)
btwyx is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-13-2004, 12:16 AM   #129 (Print)
btwyx
Substantive Member
 
btwyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 6,099
Quote:
Originally posted by AbMagFab
So the R10 is presumably still MIPS-based?
Seems unlikely if the predesessors were PowerPC.

__________________
HR10-250 Upgraded to 600GB. (77Hr HD, 515Hr SD.)
btwyx is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-13-2004, 12:32 AM   #130 (Print)
jlib
Lean Forward
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Carmel Valley, California
Posts: 105
Is the mfgr warranty still listed as 90 days?

Edit: (Already answered elswhere: Yes)

Last edited by jlib : 12-13-2004 at 03:40 AM.
jlib is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-13-2004, 03:36 AM   #131 (Print)
jlib
Lean Forward
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Carmel Valley, California
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally posted by btwyx
Seems unlikely if the predecessors were PowerPC.
It depends upon what you consider its predecessor.
jlib is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-13-2004, 07:56 AM   #132 (Print)
AbMagFab
I go where Tivo goes
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,720
Quote:
Originally posted by btwyx
Seems unlikely if the predesessors were PowerPC.


Um, the Series 2 DTivo's have all been MIPS-based.

__________________
Tivo since '99, DirecTV since *96
2x SAT-T60 140G 3.1.0c2
4x SD-DVR40 250G 6.2
2x HR10 500G 3.1.5f
All-TWeb+, TyTool, caller-id

OTA HD is 100% reliable

Save me Tivo Series 3!!!!
AbMagFab is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-13-2004, 10:31 AM   #133 (Print)
btwyx
Substantive Member
 
btwyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 6,099
Quote:
Originally posted by AbMagFab
Um, the Series 2 DTivo's have all been MIPS-based.
I've only ever heard Power PC mentioned in connection with TiVos. Have I missed something?

__________________
HR10-250 Upgraded to 600GB. (77Hr HD, 515Hr SD.)
btwyx is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 12-13-2004, 10:39 AM   #134 (Print)
Fish Man
Chubby Hubby
 
Fish Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Covington, Louisiana
Posts: 3,789
Quote:
Originally posted by btwyx
I've only ever heard Power PC mentioned in connection with TiVos. Have I missed something?


Yes, you certianly have!!

Series I TiVos and DirecTiVos: Power PC based.

Series II TiVos and DirecTiVos: MIPS based.

From a design standpoint this was the most significant change between Series I and II. (Obviously, it wasn't the most obvious change to the consumer, the USB ports and everything they entail would be what would matter to the consumer, but the change from PPC to MIPS was definitely the biggest re-design challenge for the engineers.)

__________________
1 DirecTV HR10-250 (HD-DirecTiVo - Stock)
1 Hughes GXCEBOTD Rescued from the post-Katrina rubble, still works!! (146 Hour)
1 R-10 (stock)
Fish Man is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index