TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-01-2005, 09:01 AM   #31 (Print)
mattg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fredericksburg, Va
Posts: 118
What do you mean by slice?

Since you have the 4.0, your Tivo will just ignore the "slices"?
mattg is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-01-2005, 09:15 AM   #32 (Print)
sbursik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: McKinney TX.
Posts: 38
Where in Tivoweb can you view the slices? What directory do they get put in?

ScottB

__________________
ScottB
1 Hughes SD-DVR40
4.0.1b Fully Hacked
sbursik is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-01-2005, 10:13 AM   #33 (Print)
ebonovic
A TiVo Junkie...
 
ebonovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tinley Park, IL USA (SW ChicagoBurbs)
Posts: 8,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattg
What do you mean by slice?

Since you have the 4.0, your Tivo will just ignore the "slices"?


If you properly installed 4.0, then yes your unit will never install the slices...

Slices are the method that TiVo upgrades existing units.
It "slices" the os into pieces, so only the necessary portions of the system are updated...

Thus, why they can upgrade your unit with out having you to clear and delete, and lose all your recordings and settings.

__________________
- Earl (XBL: Fontano)
Favorite 05/06 TV Lines: Karma! ; Suit Up! ; Legendary.....

Non-TiVo DirecTV DVR (R15,HR20) ->
DBSTalk
ebonovic is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-01-2005, 10:29 AM   #34 (Print)
the new guy
Sarcastic Person
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fort Collins CO
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to the new guy
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbursik
Where in Tivoweb can you view the slices? What directory do they get put in?


Go to the MFS link on the main TivoWeb menu, then look in SwModule. Look for entries with recent dates. If you click on the name, it will show the version it is for.

Tim

My DVR40 has 3 of the slices which loaded on 2-26. I would assume that my unhacked SD-DVR80 has the same. Hopefully the rest of the slices will show up soon. Someone on the other forum has figured out how to get 6.2 to install with out a phone call. Thread #41347 page 2, if anyone with all the slices is up for trying it

__________________
RCA DVR40 - 120GB with 6.2, hacked
Hughes SD-DVR80 - 80GB 6.2, hacked
the new guy is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-01-2005, 11:04 AM   #35 (Print)
sbursik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: McKinney TX.
Posts: 38
Sure enough. I see the slices there:

Code:
SwModule 271745/11 { ServerVersion = 2 ModuleFile = 271756 ModuleRelease = 1 ModuleVersion = 6.2-01-2 Name = GZkernel ServerId = 44090113 Version = 1 IndexPath = /SwModule/271745 /Server/44090113 }

__________________
ScottB
1 Hughes SD-DVR40
4.0.1b Fully Hacked
sbursik is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-01-2005, 11:25 AM   #36 (Print)
the new guy
Sarcastic Person
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fort Collins CO
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to the new guy
If you have them all, there will be 8 individual slices with sequential names.

Tim

__________________
RCA DVR40 - 120GB with 6.2, hacked
Hughes SD-DVR80 - 80GB 6.2, hacked
the new guy is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-01-2005, 11:44 AM   #37 (Print)
sbursik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: McKinney TX.
Posts: 38
I only have 3 of them there. Can I delete them since my unit is hacked and wont install them any way or will I get them again?

__________________
ScottB
1 Hughes SD-DVR40
4.0.1b Fully Hacked
sbursik is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-01-2005, 12:39 PM   #38 (Print)
supham
Slow Member
 
supham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 3,518
Send a message via AIM to supham Send a message via Yahoo to supham
Question: I have not been able to get my calls to go out Vonage. I really have not spent a lot of time on it and I get the nag screens daily.

So if I do the serial => null modem => computer connected to the net solution and force a dialup every few days will I get the update?


shannon

__________________
I've learned to not sweat the petty things, and not pet the sweaty things
supham is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-01-2005, 01:18 PM   #39 (Print)
awax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Fayetteville, AR
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattg
What do you mean by slice?

Since you have the 4.0, your Tivo will just ignore the "slices"?

I'm not sure if you were talking to me or not but I have 3.1.1e.
awax is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-01-2005, 04:31 PM   #40 (Print)
GreenWiggle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebonovic
If you properly installed 4.0, then yes your unit will never install the slices...

Slices are the method that TiVo upgrades existing units.
It "slices" the os into pieces, so only the necessary portions of the system are updated...

Thus, why they can upgrade your unit with out having you to clear and delete, and lose all your recordings and settings.


Hmm. Anyone figured out how to slice upgrade 4.0 onto 3.x? Theoretically its the same OS but different module right.

Also, I would like to do the 4.0 upgrade after they send me my 6.x, I'm assuming that the 4.0 upgrade will allow me to keep my dual tuner mode in my Samsung SIR-4120R. Is this true?

----
Samsung SIR-4120R untouched yet.
Tivo Series II 540 40hr upgraded to a 250Gb Maxtor Hd
Philips Series I 40Hr upgrade to an 80Gb Maxtor Hd w/ TyTool, TivoWeb
GreenWiggle is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-01-2005, 04:34 PM   #41 (Print)
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 11,339
4.0 supports dual tuners. There is discussion in "the other forum" on how to upgrade with slices. It is not a topic I am personally familiar with.

__________________
Steve
stevel is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-01-2005, 04:58 PM   #42 (Print)
rminsk
TiVoted TiVo User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 3,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenWiggle
Also, I would like to do the 4.0 upgrade after they send me my 6.x, I'm assuming that the 4.0 upgrade will allow me to keep my dual tuner mode in my Samsung SIR-4120R. Is this true?
I think 6.2 has a different database format from 3.x and 4.x. If you let it upgrade to 6.2 and then want to downgrade to 4.x you may loose all your recordings.

__________________
Be vewy vewy quiet. I am squirrel hunting.
rminsk is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-01-2005, 06:53 PM   #43 (Print)
Lungwah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 44
It seems a lot of people have seen 6.2 downloaded to their tivo (like me), but has anyone actually had it installed. Mine will not until I tell it to, but what about people out there with stock systems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rminsk
I think 6.2 has a different database format from 3.x and 4.x. If you let it upgrade to 6.2 and then want to downgrade to 4.x you may loose all your recordings.
Lungwah is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-01-2005, 07:13 PM   #44 (Print)
rminsk
TiVoted TiVo User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 3,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lungwah
It seems a lot of people have seen 6.2 downloaded to their tivo (like me), but has anyone actually had it installed.
No reports of actual installs as of yet.

__________________
Be vewy vewy quiet. I am squirrel hunting.
rminsk is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-01-2005, 10:29 PM   #45 (Print)
Oknarf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hampton, NH
Posts: 503
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by rminsk
No reports of actual installs as of yet.


And unless I missed something, it's March not February anymore.

I'm sorry but directv is full of .... you get the idea.


__________________
TIVO Rules!


A64, 1GB, 1TB, Dual Tuner, Win MCE
HTL-HD 4 Sale!
DSR708 80hr 6.2
DSR708 80hr 6.2+ ;-)
HDVR2 160GB 6.2+ ;-)
DSR6000 120GB
Oknarf is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-01-2005, 10:47 PM   #46 (Print)
Paulson
DJ P
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 225
I might have to be motivated and install 4.0 before 6.2 so I don't end up losing recordings...

__________________
Visit http://forums.djpsmusicmix.com - Talk about music, iPods, TiVo, DJ'n... whatever you want to!
Paulson is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-01-2005, 11:01 PM   #47 (Print)
ebonovic
A TiVo Junkie...
 
ebonovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tinley Park, IL USA (SW ChicagoBurbs)
Posts: 8,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulson
I might have to be motivated and install 4.0 before 6.2 so I don't end up losing recordings...


Unless you are using the slice method for install of v4... You will lose your recordings...

__________________
- Earl (XBL: Fontano)
Favorite 05/06 TV Lines: Karma! ; Suit Up! ; Legendary.....

Non-TiVo DirecTV DVR (R15,HR20) ->
DBSTalk
ebonovic is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-02-2005, 07:50 AM   #48 (Print)
cmtar
Long live the R15!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 880
maybe I missed it but has anyone actually downloaded and activated 6.2 and actually using it?
cmtar is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-02-2005, 08:51 AM   #49 (Print)
ddobson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmtar
maybe I missed it but has anyone actually downloaded and activated 6.2 and actually using it?


Not that anyone is aware of (correct me if I'm wrong guys). Right now some or all of the files appear to be downloaded to many, maybe even all, units. They have not started triggering the installs yet as far as I've been able to read on multiple forums.

__________________
DirecTV since 2/95
4 DirecTivo's plus a spare!
Weaknees Upgrades
XM since 6/04

Like Tracking Storms?
www.stormpredator.com
ddobson is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-02-2005, 09:00 AM   #50 (Print)
sabre
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 57
I dont have it even installed. unless I am looking in the wrong place. my current version is 3.1e----321
sabre is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-02-2005, 09:42 AM   #51 (Print)
Finnstang
Thingamabob
 
Finnstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 2,182
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenWiggle
Hmm. Anyone figured out how to slice upgrade 4.0 onto 3.x? Theoretically its the same OS but different module right.


Look at the end of the Moving to 4.0 thread, people are discussing upgrading using slices. It is relatively involved if you haven't hacked the current OS yet. And as ebonovic stated, 4.0 supports dual tuners, so you don't need to wait for the 6.2 upgrade to downgrade to 4.0. And as rminsk stated, you might not be able to do a slices downgrade from 6.2 because of the possible format change. So if you want to go to 4.0 and keep your recordings, I would unplug your phone line and start hacking.

__________________
I like the way Finnstang thinks. - IndyJones1023 X6 & edhara X3
I hate/(am intrigued by) the way Finnstang thinks. - hefe
I hate the way Finnstang links. - nachonaco
Finnstang is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-02-2005, 11:04 AM   #52 (Print)
Lungwah
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 44
My god man, why do you have so many tivos?

Hughes HDVR2 (107 hrs)
Hughes HDVR2 (Stock)
Samsung SIR-T360
RCA DRD485RG
Lite-On LVW5001
Sony STR-DE975
Sony RM-AV3000
Sony KF50WE610
Lungwah is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-02-2005, 11:20 AM   #53 (Print)
Finnstang
Thingamabob
 
Finnstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 2,182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lungwah
My god man, why do you have so many tivos?

Hughes HDVR2 (107 hrs)
Hughes HDVR2 (Stock)
Samsung SIR-T360
RCA DRD485RG
Lite-On LVW5001
Sony STR-DE975
Sony RM-AV3000
Sony KF50WE610


Only the top two are TiVOs

__________________
I like the way Finnstang thinks. - IndyJones1023 X6 & edhara X3
I hate/(am intrigued by) the way Finnstang thinks. - hefe
I hate the way Finnstang links. - nachonaco
Finnstang is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-02-2005, 11:23 AM   #54 (Print)
willardcpa
QUASI-OMNISCIENT
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Eugene, OR USA
Posts: 2,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lungwah
My god man, why do you have so many tivos?

Hughes HDVR2 (107 hrs)
Hughes HDVR2 (Stock)
Samsung SIR-T360
RCA DRD485RG
Lite-On LVW5001
Sony STR-DE975
Sony RM-AV3000
Sony KF50WE610
That's only two tivos, what's wrong with that.
willardcpa is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-02-2005, 01:03 PM   #55 (Print)
the new guy
Sarcastic Person
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fort Collins CO
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to the new guy
Quote:
Originally Posted by the new guy
If you have them all, there will be 8 individual slices with sequential names.


OK, now I have 12 different slices. Looks like the rest came in last night. The new ones are not exactly sequential, but are pretty close.

Code:
Name Type Id Date Time Size 238434 tyDb 238434 02/26/05 03:12 140 238435 tyDb 238435 02/26/05 03:12 144 238436 tyDb 238436 02/26/05 03:12 140 250368 tyDb 250368 03/01/05 20:39 140 250370 tyDb 250370 03/01/05 20:39 140 250374 tyDb 250374 03/01/05 20:39 144 250378 tyDb 250378 03/01/05 20:39 140 250381 tyDb 250381 03/01/05 20:39 140 250383 tyDb 250383 03/01/05 20:40 140 250387 tyDb 250387 03/01/05 20:41 140 250389 tyDb 250389 03/01/05 20:41 140 250441 tyDb 250441 03/01/05 20:42 140


According to the other forum, 6.2 will run with a killhdinitrd'd 3.1.5 kernel (from the HDTiVo) with only a change to the iptables file. The stock kernel is actually the 2.4.20 kernel used in a stock HDTiVo. Hopefully this bodes well for hacking, once the new patch points are found. Let's just hope MRV is in there waiting to be unleashed.

Tim

__________________
RCA DVR40 - 120GB with 6.2, hacked
Hughes SD-DVR80 - 80GB 6.2, hacked
the new guy is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-02-2005, 01:14 PM   #56 (Print)
the new guy
Sarcastic Person
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fort Collins CO
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to the new guy
Upon closer inspection, it appears that all of the slices from 3/01/05 are for 3.1.1e. Go figure. Makes me wonder if 6.2 can install directly over 4.0, or if it needs 3.1.1e as a base. Not sure why it would matter, though. At any rate, interesting...

Tim

__________________
RCA DVR40 - 120GB with 6.2, hacked
Hughes SD-DVR80 - 80GB 6.2, hacked
the new guy is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-02-2005, 03:28 PM   #57 (Print)
Klaitu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 84
Need.... 6.2.... getting... desperate... for.... folders....

I considered doing that whole 4.0 thing, but 6.2 wins because it's free.
Klaitu is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-02-2005, 03:39 PM   #58 (Print)
Gunnyman
Hamob
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Beautiful Downtown Greenville SC
Posts: 9,368
4.0 is free too...

__________________
Gunny - have I told you that your avatar always makes me smile? Waldingrl
Zipper Wiki
Join us in Vegas!
Gunnyman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-02-2005, 03:54 PM   #59 (Print)
allan
Resident modern nut
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunnyman2k3
4.0 is free too...


Only if your time/effort is valueless.

__________________
My Tivo is too small!

BEEP
allan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-02-2005, 05:08 PM   #60 (Print)
singe606
some guy.
 
singe606's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Westminster, MD
Posts: 91
Send a message via ICQ to singe606 Send a message via AIM to singe606 Send a message via Yahoo to singe606
Quote:
Originally Posted by allan
Only if your time/effort is valueless.

Good point. If you're not good at ripping computers apart and think a kernel is something to do with popcorn, you're going to spend hours and hours and hours and hours researching. Even so, you'll probably manage to give yourself a few heart attacks, at the very least. And theres always a chance you could fry the whole thing and be severely beaten by your wife.
singe606 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index