TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-03-2005, 08:42 AM   #91 (Print)
Finnstang
Thingamabob
 
Finnstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 2,182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaitu
1. My current IDE cable only has a place for one drive..

3. If I make any mistakes during the process, I don't have the knowledge to repair the damage I have done.

4. What is MRV?

5. No, but I don't want to get in trouble for messing with stuff I shouldn't be messing with.

6. I could stand to lose the PPV.


1. Your IDE cable in your home PC? If you go to any computer store, you can buy an IDE cable with two connections on it instead of one for prolly about $1.

3. You would be doing the upgrade to 4.0 on a newly purchased drive, so your original drive is sitting in the static bag waiting to go back into the DTiVo at a moments notice.

4. Multi Room Viewing - it means you can watch shows from one DTiVo on another DTiVo.

5. You aren't stealing service so you won't get in trouble, you will just be voiding your warranty by opening the DTiVo.

6. You don't lose the ability to watch PPV, just the ability to order via the remote. You can still order via the DTV website, and as an added bonus, the PPV you order via the web gets mirrored to all your receivers.

__________________
I like the way Finnstang thinks. - IndyJones1023 X6 & edhara X3
I hate/(am intrigued by) the way Finnstang thinks. - hefe
I hate the way Finnstang links. - nachonaco
Finnstang is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-03-2005, 08:48 AM   #92 (Print)
Rax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: In a box.
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Rax
I keep hearing people whine about being promised an update by a certain date but I don't recall anything from DirecTV saying "you will have _____ by _____."
Rax is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-03-2005, 09:28 AM   #93 (Print)
allan
Resident modern nut
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rax
I keep hearing people whine about being promised an update by a certain date but I don't recall anything from DirecTV saying "you will have _____ by _____."


Actually, Direct probably DID say that. The problem is "_______" isn't too specific, either as a time or feature set.

__________________
My Tivo is too small!

BEEP
allan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-03-2005, 09:43 AM   #94 (Print)
Robin
Registered User
 
Robin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,277

__________________
--
"Robin - you GO, girl! :up:" - bsnelson

"What Robin said. :D :up:" - Fofer
Robin is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-03-2005, 10:06 AM   #95 (Print)
Sparky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Mateo, CA USA
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flash_
Here is the messages staged with the 6.2 update:

Please note: DIRECTV® DVR models Sony SAT-T60, Philips DSR6000R, Hughes GXCEBOT and DIRECTV HR10-250 will not receive the software upgrade at this time.


If the above models are not getting the upgrade, which ones are?

__________________
1 Hughes DTiVo HR10-250 @ 30HD & 200SD Hours
--··· ···-- -·· · -·- -···· ·-· -·· -·-
Sparky is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-03-2005, 10:10 AM   #96 (Print)
Gunnyman
Hamob
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Beautiful Downtown Greenville SC
Posts: 9,368
series 2 NON HDTV models.

__________________
Gunny - have I told you that your avatar always makes me smile? Waldingrl
Zipper Wiki
Join us in Vegas!
Gunnyman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-03-2005, 11:39 AM   #97 (Print)
Sparky
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Mateo, CA USA
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunnyman2k3
series 2 NON HDTV models.

That's all!! Why bother??

So I can look forward to NO improvement for the HR10, swell...

__________________
1 Hughes DTiVo HR10-250 @ 30HD & 200SD Hours
--··· ···-- -·· · -·- -···· ·-· -·· -·-
Sparky is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-03-2005, 11:47 AM   #98 (Print)
Sopranoman
Wack Specialist
 
Sopranoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 317
Send a message via Yahoo to Sopranoman
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparky
That's all!! Why bother??

So I can look forward to NO improvement for the HR10, swell...



Technically you already are improved

__________________
"A doctor in the house, huh? That's good because somebody usually goes down at these things." - Tony Soprano

sopranoman@gmail.com
Sopranoman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-03-2005, 12:34 PM   #99 (Print)
Doug G
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Andover, MA
Posts: 26
FWIW, saw a post in another forum which seems like authentic insider info. Since I just reg'd here I can't post the URL or hyperlink, so you'll have to visit hometheaterspot and check out the DirecTivo forum for the thread entitled "6.2 Delayed for a little while" if you want to see for yourself. But I'll paraphrase for those that don't:

Author claims to have been part of a recent confcall where D* indicated limited beta deployment (~10K units) to start in LA area sometime March 3-6th, then remaining units to follow a week or two later assuming no major issues. Also, claims a late "glitch" forced a minor change to SW, although they wouldn't elaborate on it. I hadn't seen this specific info referenced or otherwise debunked in this thread or elsewhere.

As a follow up, since I'm a DirecTivo newbie (only had my DSR704 for 12 months and its still stock), is it safe to install an expansion drive (120G from weaknees) at this time or should I wait until the upgrade has been activated? I wasn't sure if the existence of these new "slices" would interfere with the "ADD" procedure or otherwise cause me grief. TIA.
Doug G is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-03-2005, 12:48 PM   #100 (Print)
the new guy
Sarcastic Person
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fort Collins CO
Posts: 273
Send a message via AIM to the new guy
Here is the link , in case anyone is curious.

Tim

__________________
RCA DVR40 - 120GB with 6.2, hacked
Hughes SD-DVR80 - 80GB 6.2, hacked
the new guy is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-03-2005, 01:04 PM   #101 (Print)
Doug G
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Andover, MA
Posts: 26
Thanks, new guy!
Doug G is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-03-2005, 01:12 PM   #102 (Print)
stevel
Dumb Blond
 
stevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 11,339
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug G
As a follow up, since I'm a DirecTivo newbie (only had my DSR704 for 12 months and its still stock), is it safe to install an expansion drive (120G from weaknees) at this time or should I wait until the upgrade has been activated? I wasn't sure if the existence of these new "slices" would interfere with the "ADD" procedure or otherwise cause me grief. TIA.

Go ahead and do the disk upgrade now.

__________________
Steve
stevel is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-03-2005, 01:33 PM   #103 (Print)
Finnstang
Thingamabob
 
Finnstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 2,182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug G
As a follow up, since I'm a DirecTivo newbie (only had my DSR704 for 12 months and its still stock), is it safe to install an expansion drive (120G from weaknees) at this time or should I wait until the upgrade has been activated? I wasn't sure if the existence of these new "slices" would interfere with the "ADD" procedure or otherwise cause me grief. TIA.


Go ahead and upgrade now, it won't make a difference when the upgrade comes around. Personally, I would buy my own 120GB drive and use these instructions to upgrade it yourself.

__________________
I like the way Finnstang thinks. - IndyJones1023 X6 & edhara X3
I hate/(am intrigued by) the way Finnstang thinks. - hefe
I hate the way Finnstang links. - nachonaco
Finnstang is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-03-2005, 02:02 PM   #104 (Print)
TimTrace
Join the TiVolution!
 
TimTrace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: St. Louis MO USA
Posts: 113
Send a message via AIM to TimTrace Send a message via Yahoo to TimTrace
Which models and versions of TiVo hardware are flagged to receive v6.2?
TimTrace is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-03-2005, 02:04 PM   #105 (Print)
Doug G
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Andover, MA
Posts: 26
Steve/Finn - Thanks for the feedback.

Ordinarily I do undertake stuff like this myself, but three kids under 4, a nagging wife, a full time job and plenty of other projects I'm in the middle of right now (not the least of which has been debugging a particularly nasty problem on my Pioneer HD RPTV which will now require me to replace the entire blue CRT) put the brakes on me spending any time or effort figuring out how to do this. As it is the wife will probably flip this afternoon when the FedEx guy shows up! (Hiding the email receipt ans shipping confirmation can only take you so far....) Needless to say all of this put me in an "instant gratification" mood for this project.

The canned solution from weaknees is perfect under these circumstances - drive is ready to go, includes custom bracket and additional cooling, detailed instructions for my exact model and I didn't even have to leave the house!
Doug G is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-03-2005, 03:13 PM   #106 (Print)
SteelersFan
Registered User
 
SteelersFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Saugus, CA
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimTrace
Which models and versions of TiVo hardware are flagged to receive v6.2?

Click this link to the DTV site:
http://www.directv.com/see/landing/dvr_upgrade.html
The answer is under the questions section.

__________________
"Either get busy livin' or get busy diein'."
DSR7000 - 144 Hrs (FR)
DSR704 - 105 Hrs (MBR)
SIR-S4080R (BR)
DVR80 - (BR)
SD-DVR40 - (Office)
All Zippered!
SteelersFan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-03-2005, 03:13 PM   #107 (Print)
rminsk
TiVoted TiVo User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 3,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimTrace
Which models and versions of TiVo hardware are flagged to receive v6.2?
All Series 2 DirecTiVos except for the R10.

__________________
Be vewy vewy quiet. I am squirrel hunting.
rminsk is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-03-2005, 03:52 PM   #108 (Print)
ebonovic
A TiVo Junkie...
 
ebonovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tinley Park, IL USA (SW ChicagoBurbs)
Posts: 8,245
RE: Doing the upgrade now....

If you are out there, and are trying to do an upgrade to a 160gb or larger drive..
Then WAIT... There are reports, that once you expand your drive via MFStools you will be locked to the 137gb limit (since you won't have a lba48 supported OS yet).

You won't be able to re-mfstool it to get the rest back....

So if you are 160gb or larger on your ugprade... Wait till 6.2 comes down, or go v4

__________________
- Earl (XBL: Fontano)
Favorite 05/06 TV Lines: Karma! ; Suit Up! ; Legendary.....

Non-TiVo DirecTV DVR (R15,HR20) ->
DBSTalk
ebonovic is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-03-2005, 04:33 PM   #109 (Print)
Tim32672
Just me!
 
Tim32672's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 52
Send a message via Yahoo to Tim32672
Quote:
Originally Posted by rminsk
All Series 2 DirecTiVos except for the R10.



rminsk??? Where did you see the R10 is not getting the update???

OH and Happy Hunting!!!

__________________
What in the heck does the window button do???
Tim32672 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-03-2005, 04:42 PM   #110 (Print)
rminsk
TiVoted TiVo User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 3,940
Of all the images downloaded (101, 121, 151, 301, 321, 351, 381 and 3F1) none of them correspond to the R10's service number (521). Why would the R10 need an update?

BTW, I do not know what model the 3F1 is...

Series 1 units
001 - DSR6000, DSR6000r, DSR600r01
011 - SAT T-60
031 - GXCEBOT, GXCEBOTD

Series 2 units
101 - DSR7000, DSR7000R
121 - DVR39
151 - HDVR2

Series 2 units with RID
301 - DSR704, DSR708
321 - DVR40, DVR80
351 - SD-DVR40, SD-DVR120
357 - HR10-250
381 - SIR-S4040R, SIR-S4120R
3F1 - ?

Series 2.5 units
521 - R10

__________________
Be vewy vewy quiet. I am squirrel hunting.

Last edited by rminsk : 03-03-2005 at 09:37 PM.
rminsk is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-03-2005, 04:45 PM   #111 (Print)
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 763
Send a message via AIM to Arcady
Because the R10 is only on 6.1?

__________________
4 Hughes SD-DVR40's (220hr) (70hr) 2x(35hr) w/ MRV
2 Samsung SiR-S4040R's (140hr) (105hr) w/ MRV
D* HR10-250, Philips DSR-704 (stock)
TiVo SA 240080 (347hr)
(plus many not in use)
Arcady is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-03-2005, 04:47 PM   #112 (Print)
rminsk
TiVoted TiVo User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 3,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcady
Because the R10 is only on 6.1?
6.2 does not add any features over 6.1. 6.2 is a different version because it is for different hardware than the R10. All the other series 2 machine share the same hardware design where the R10 has a different motherboard and CPU. As far as I know the 6.2 release is just a port of 6.1 to the different hardware. Maybe they should have used a better naming scheme.

__________________
Be vewy vewy quiet. I am squirrel hunting.
rminsk is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-03-2005, 04:49 PM   #113 (Print)
Tim32672
Just me!
 
Tim32672's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 52
Send a message via Yahoo to Tim32672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcady
Because the R10 is only on 6.1?


That (see above) and the menu is running verrrrrrrrry slooooooooow... yes I have rebooted it and delete recordings that are not important... still runs slow... and I want the latest

__________________
What in the heck does the window button do???
Tim32672 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-03-2005, 04:50 PM   #114 (Print)
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 763
Send a message via AIM to Arcady
I was under the impression that 6.1 was rushed out so they could release the R10. Wouldn't the R10 benefit from what I assume is a more polished release in 6.2? I'd guess that 6.x supports all series 2 D* units, including the R10.

__________________
4 Hughes SD-DVR40's (220hr) (70hr) 2x(35hr) w/ MRV
2 Samsung SiR-S4040R's (140hr) (105hr) w/ MRV
D* HR10-250, Philips DSR-704 (stock)
TiVo SA 240080 (347hr)
(plus many not in use)
Arcady is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-03-2005, 04:57 PM   #115 (Print)
Tim32672
Just me!
 
Tim32672's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 52
Send a message via Yahoo to Tim32672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim32672
That (see above) and the menu is running verrrrrrrrry slooooooooow... yes I have rebooted it and delete recordings that are not important... still runs slow... and I want the latest


I thought that 6.2 would speed up the menu...

__________________
What in the heck does the window button do???
Tim32672 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-03-2005, 05:01 PM   #116 (Print)
rminsk
TiVoted TiVo User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 3,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arcady
I was under the impression that 6.1 was rushed out so they could release the R10. Wouldn't the R10 benefit from what I assume is a more polished release in 6.2? I'd guess that 6.x supports all series 2 D* units, including the R10.
We can not assume that 6.2 is more polished than 6.1. I think all we can assume is that it is for the older hardware design.

__________________
Be vewy vewy quiet. I am squirrel hunting.
rminsk is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-03-2005, 05:02 PM   #117 (Print)
rminsk
TiVoted TiVo User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 3,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim32672
I thought that 6.2 would speed up the menu...
Compared to the 3.x release. From what I understand 6.1 already uses the new database format.

__________________
Be vewy vewy quiet. I am squirrel hunting.
rminsk is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-03-2005, 05:32 PM   #118 (Print)
Cartrivision
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebonovic
RE: Doing the upgrade now....

If you are out there, and are trying to do an upgrade to a 160gb or larger drive..
Then WAIT... There are reports, that once you expand your drive via MFStools you will be locked to the 137gb limit (since you won't have a lba48 supported OS yet).

You won't be able to re-mfstool it to get the rest back....

So if you are 160gb or larger on your ugprade... Wait till 6.2 comes down, or go v4


Does this apply to the R10? Someone said in this thread that the R10 wasn't getting 6.2, but that model isn't one of the models that DTV says are excluded
(at http://www.directv.com/see/landing/dvr_upgrade.html).

Regardless if the R10 is excluded from the 6.2 upgrade or not, is there any reason not to drop a 160G second disk into a R10 now while it's running 6.1?
Cartrivision is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-03-2005, 05:33 PM   #119 (Print)
rminsk
TiVoted TiVo User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 3,940
The R10 already has LBA48 support. Adding a 160G should not be a problem even if there is an upgrade.

__________________
Be vewy vewy quiet. I am squirrel hunting.
rminsk is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-03-2005, 06:08 PM   #120 (Print)
ebonovic
A TiVo Junkie...
 
ebonovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tinley Park, IL USA (SW ChicagoBurbs)
Posts: 8,245
I have a 160 cooking in my R10 right now...
As rminsk said, it already has lba48 support.

__________________
- Earl (XBL: Fontano)
Favorite 05/06 TV Lines: Karma! ; Suit Up! ; Legendary.....

Non-TiVo DirecTV DVR (R15,HR20) ->
DBSTalk
ebonovic is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index