TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-17-2005, 10:11 AM   #121 (Print)
maharg18
Registered User
 
maharg18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 3,077
Quote:
Originally Posted by dfriedland
Did I miss something?? I am running 3.11e last time I checked.....


Only a few people have gotten it yet, don't worry, it should show up on yours within the next few weeks.

__________________
-Maharg18

HR10-250 HD Directivo
DSR704 SD Directivo
maharg18 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-17-2005, 10:32 AM   #122 (Print)
allan
Resident modern nut
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by maharg18
Only a few people have gotten it yet, don't worry, it should show up on yours within the next few weeks.


Or months. I expect to have it by this summer.

__________________
My Tivo is too small!

BEEP
allan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-17-2005, 06:04 PM   #123 (Print)
eleventeen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by askewed
I have it in Central jersey.

Jersey represent!


Where in Jersey are you? Haven't seen it yet.

Askewed? Snoogins? Kevin Smith fan?
eleventeen is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-17-2005, 09:37 PM   #124 (Print)
beej
Dad/Husband/Consumer
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Burke, VA (Washington, DC)
Posts: 212
Send a message via Yahoo to beej
Quote:
Originally Posted by eleventeen
Where in Jersey are you? Haven't seen it yet.

Askewed? Snoogins? Kevin Smith fan?


Not to go too far off topic but I am a little bitter that my wife never lets me pull off in Red Bank on our way up to NY...

__________________
Beej

HR10-250
HDVR2- 140hrs: 6.2, USB2.0, MRV, Telnet, FTP, TWP
DVR80- 140hrs: 6.2, USB2.0, MRV, Telnet, FTP, TWP
Respect: Gunnyman & rbautch
beej is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-18-2005, 10:53 AM   #125 (Print)
richierich
AKA PLASMAMANIAC
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Peachtree City, Ga.
Posts: 911
I'll believe it when I see it.
richierich is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-18-2005, 01:54 PM   #126 (Print)
Steveknj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by askewed
I have it in Central jersey.

Jersey represent!


Might have to force a call now!!

__________________
Steve
Steveknj is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-18-2005, 03:21 PM   #127 (Print)
garbec
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mission Viejo, ca
Posts: 6
I received the 6.2 card in the mail on 3/14. At the time my next scheduled call was 3/17. I forced many calls, but no upgrade. Now 3/17 has passed and my next scheduled call is 3/24. I forced another call this morning. Nothing. I'm in Orange County California.
garbec is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-18-2005, 07:52 PM   #128 (Print)
ruskastud
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kansas
Posts: 8
I jsut forced a call, and nothin'. I'm in Kansas City..
ruskastud is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-19-2005, 10:35 AM   #129 (Print)
bwash
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Diamond Bar CA
Posts: 24
From garbec:I received the 6.2 card in the mail on 3/14. At the time my next scheduled call was 3/17. I forced many calls, but no upgrade. Now 3/17 has passed and my next scheduled call is 3/24. I forced another call this morning. Nothing. I'm in Orange County California.

Ditto exactly me in Diamond Bar CA......Got card on 14th forced many calls...still waiting.

__________________
Sony SAT T-60 (Upgraded to 70hrs)
Hughes HDVR2 (Upgraded to 105hrs)
bwash is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-19-2005, 11:26 AM   #130 (Print)
kartflyr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8
6.2?

Does this 6.2 upgrade also allow large hd's such as 160G, & 300G?

And does it have any disadvantages for upgraders (upgrading) as opposed to hacking the tivo?
kartflyr is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-19-2005, 11:55 AM   #131 (Print)
diggerg56
Stranded in Iowa
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Iowa City, IA "Hawkeye Country"
Posts: 239
I thought we established that "forcing a call" wouldn't do anything as far as getting the upgrade since it comes over the Sat. The phone call is only to activate the upgrade once it's been downloaded.

There were some reports on another forum about people that knew they had received the upgrade (by monitoring System Information) but it was another week before it was actually "installed" to be upgraded by phone no matter how many times they tried to force a call.

__________________
"Heavily medicated for your safety"
diggerg56 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-19-2005, 12:22 PM   #132 (Print)
thumperxr69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Central IL
Posts: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by kartflyr
Does this 6.2 upgrade also allow large hd's such as 160G, & 300G?

And does it have any disadvantages for upgraders (upgrading) as opposed to hacking the tivo?


I don't believe anyone has confirmed this but the consensus is yes the new upgrade will support LBA of larger drives.

T

__________________
My ID should now be "ThumperYZ69"
Hitachi 57S500
HR10-250
Hughes SD-DVR40 (unmod so far)
thumperxr69 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-19-2005, 12:31 PM   #133 (Print)
PJO1966
I'm baaaack!
 
PJO1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 5,569
Quote:
Originally Posted by diggerg56
I thought we established that "forcing a call" wouldn't do anything as far as getting the upgrade since it comes over the Sat. The phone call is only to activate the upgrade once it's been downloaded.

There were some reports on another forum about people that knew they had received the upgrade (by monitoring System Information) but it was another week before it was actually "installed" to be upgraded by phone no matter how many times they tried to force a call.



Yes, but my TiVo only calls in once a week. If the update comes over the sat won't it just sit there until the next phone call, which could be a week away?

__________________
I like how your mind works! - Anubys
PJO1966 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-19-2005, 02:11 PM   #134 (Print)
dtremain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 972
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJO1966
Yes, but my TiVo only calls in once a week. If the update comes over the sat won't it just sit there until the next phone call, which could be a week away?
Or longer than that. Forcing a call won't install the update until your receiver is designated to receive it. Relax. Watch some tv.
dtremain is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-19-2005, 05:34 PM   #135 (Print)
mike1977
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Auburn, Alabama
Posts: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by PJO1966
Yes, but my TiVo only calls in once a week. If the update comes over the sat won't it just sit there until the next phone call, which could be a week away?


I've been calling every night in order to get it as soon as possible. I don't want to be flagged to get it only to wait for the scheduled call.

I thought I was going to be getting it last night/early morning because it took longer than usual to get past 12% on the data download part and then I saw it loading the data a little slower than usual after a forced call (like after going a while without calling in), but unfortunately it was just a false alarm.

Last edited by mike1977 : 03-19-2005 at 05:45 PM.
mike1977 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-21-2005, 08:18 AM   #136 (Print)
Doug G
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Andover, MA
Posts: 26
Hmmmm, not sure if this is coincidence or not....

My last scheduled call was for 3/20 (yesterday) which it completed, and I just noticed that now the next scheduled call is for Tue, 3/22. This seems odd that it would only be two days until the next call? Then I remembered someone previously mentioned that historically D* has done SW updates on Tuesdays. I wonder if this means the GA rollout is just around the corner? With no problem reports from any of our LA users I would hope they're getting close. With a 144 hour unit now, I want those folders!!
Doug G is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-21-2005, 08:34 AM   #137 (Print)
ddobson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 179
My unit was scheduled for a call on the 27th and now after I manually dialed in last night it's schedule for the 22nd also. Kind of wierd and probably means nothing but it would be nice if it did mean something.

I'm not too worried about the folders although they'll be nice, I want the LBA48 support so I can add a large drive. There's been mixed opinions on whether LBA48 will be part of the udpate but lately most people think it will including Weaknees. CS at Weaknees told me in an e-mail they thought large drives would be usable after the update so we'll just have to wait and see.

If I can put a large enough drive in it, I will keep 6.2 for speed and not worry about networking for now. If I can't use the larger drives I'm going to put 4.0 on so I can share the drives on all 4 Tivo's...

__________________
DirecTV since 2/95
4 DirecTivo's plus a spare!
Weaknees Upgrades
XM since 6/04

Like Tracking Storms?
www.stormpredator.com
ddobson is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-21-2005, 09:45 AM   #138 (Print)
Doug G
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Andover, MA
Posts: 26
ddobson - between the two of us I think the circumstantial evidence definitely suggests the update is going to happen on the 22nd. They're likely staging the call-in times so activation occurs when they want it to (by Wed AM.) If this is the case I bet a forced call anytime after 2AM EST on Tue will trigger the install.

Keep your fingers crossed!!
Doug G is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-21-2005, 11:02 AM   #139 (Print)
vanduse1
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Queen Creek, AZ
Posts: 31
I just forced a call and mine still shows March 23rd as the next schedule call. So, if they are pushing something on the 22nd it looks like it is selective as we have discussed earlier.
vanduse1 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-21-2005, 11:59 AM   #140 (Print)
chrishicks
video addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ecorse, MI
Posts: 245
I noticed my units tried to call out this morning but the phone was unplugged. I plugged it in and made the calls. that was at 10:00 this morning. now my new phone calls are scheduled for today at 3:41p.m. and 4:02p.m. how long does it usually take before that new call in date changes?

the other thing was that before my units were actually a few days apart in the calls and now they are almost at the same time.

__________________
DirecTIVO addict with 2 Samsung SIR-S4120Rs
chrishicks is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-21-2005, 01:33 PM   #141 (Print)
Mr. Furious
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hillsborough, NC
Posts: 77
Mine made its scheduled call last night, and the next one is scheduled for Wednesday at 3:03AM. There's generally 7 or 8 days between scheduled calls, so I wouldn't be surprised if something was up.
Mr. Furious is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-21-2005, 02:05 PM   #142 (Print)
chrishicks
video addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ecorse, MI
Posts: 245
I just forced another call and after everything was done my next call date disappeared and when it came back it was still set for today at 3:41pm just like before. strange.

__________________
DirecTIVO addict with 2 Samsung SIR-S4120Rs
chrishicks is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-21-2005, 02:07 PM   #143 (Print)
Hodaka
Registered User
 
Hodaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rolla, MO
Posts: 689
Will the R10s receive the 6.2 upgrade since they have 6.1? What are the changes from 6.1 to 6.2? I already have large drive and folder support..
Hodaka is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-21-2005, 02:19 PM   #144 (Print)
ebonovic
A TiVo Junkie...
 
ebonovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tinley Park, IL USA (SW ChicagoBurbs)
Posts: 8,245
As of right now... The slices that are appearing on the hard drives, don't appear to include a code update for the R10 series.

For the time being, I would say no... the R10s are not getting and upgrade.
The change between 6.1 to 6.2 is reportedly something internal that DirecTV didn't like.
Nothing from a feature set or something we could access via the GUI.

__________________
- Earl (XBL: Fontano)
Favorite 05/06 TV Lines: Karma! ; Suit Up! ; Legendary.....

Non-TiVo DirecTV DVR (R15,HR20) ->
DBSTalk
ebonovic is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-21-2005, 02:22 PM   #145 (Print)
Hodaka
Registered User
 
Hodaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Rolla, MO
Posts: 689
Thanks I figured the changes form 6.1 to 6.2 had to be minimal since there didn't seem to be much discussion about it..
Hodaka is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-21-2005, 02:37 PM   #146 (Print)
rminsk
TiVoted TiVo User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 3,940
They do not change your machine call in to get an update. Since the 3.1 software forcing a call does not change the next call in date.

__________________
Be vewy vewy quiet. I am squirrel hunting.
rminsk is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-21-2005, 03:25 PM   #147 (Print)
cowboys2002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 345
My earlier posts were a false alarm

I received the upgrade card in the mail 3/19/05.

Forcing a call does nothing (been established folks).

Next Call scheduled for 3/22/05 around 2 AM.

I will see when I wake up Tommorrow!
cowboys2002 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-21-2005, 03:39 PM   #148 (Print)
beej
Dad/Husband/Consumer
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Burke, VA (Washington, DC)
Posts: 212
Send a message via Yahoo to beej
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebonovic
The change between 6.1 to 6.2 is reportedly something internal that DirecTV didn't like.
Nothing from a feature set or something we could access via the GUI.


What was this something? The "Did you buy HMO?" page is still there right? 30-second skip, too?
I thought it was to get v6 to run on series 2 boxes?

__________________
Beej

HR10-250
HDVR2- 140hrs: 6.2, USB2.0, MRV, Telnet, FTP, TWP
DVR80- 140hrs: 6.2, USB2.0, MRV, Telnet, FTP, TWP
Respect: Gunnyman & rbautch
beej is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-21-2005, 03:57 PM   #149 (Print)
chrishicks
video addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ecorse, MI
Posts: 245
well I guess that "next call at 3:41pm Mar. 21" is just a goof since the time has passed and no call was made. oh well.

__________________
DirecTIVO addict with 2 Samsung SIR-S4120Rs
chrishicks is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-21-2005, 04:22 PM   #150 (Print)
kschauwe
Registered User
 
kschauwe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bowling Green, Ohio
Posts: 461
I've had mine call hours after the sceduled call time. Check later tonight.

__________________
DirectTv since 11/96; DTivo since 11/04.
SD-DVR40 (dvr4me) 6.2 Zippered, 304 hrs (WD 320Gb).
HDVR2 6.2, 146 hrs (Seagate 160Gb).
"If It's Not a Tivo, Then It's Just a PVR"
kschauwe is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index