TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-21-2005, 04:45 PM   #151 (Print)
ebonovic
A TiVo Junkie...
 
ebonovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tinley Park, IL USA (SW ChicagoBurbs)
Posts: 8,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by beej
What was this something? The "Did you buy HMO?" page is still there right? 30-second skip, too?
I thought it was to get v6 to run on series 2 boxes?


No, Dan Collins reported back at the beginning of February (when we first thought the update was comming out).

That DirecTV found something internally that they didn't like. Something with TiVo's communication back to them (IIRC). And thus regected the 6.1 version for the Series 2 hardware.

Hence why we are now at 6.2

__________________
- Earl (XBL: Fontano)
Favorite 05/06 TV Lines: Karma! ; Suit Up! ; Legendary.....

Non-TiVo DirecTV DVR (R15,HR20) ->
DBSTalk
ebonovic is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-25-2005, 09:34 PM   #152 (Print)
Big9erFan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Palmdale, CA
Posts: 61
Send a message via AIM to Big9erFan
So Cal here. It said pending restart and it is installing the software. It says it can take up to an hour so I'll go get dinner till then

__________________
And That's All I Got To Say About That
Big9erFan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-25-2005, 09:48 PM   #153 (Print)
krsjuan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big9erFan
So Cal here. It said pending restart and it is installing the software. It says it can take up to an hour so I'll go get dinner till then
It probably won't take that long. Most people took about 20 minutes or so.
krsjuan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-25-2005, 10:49 PM   #154 (Print)
Dan Collins
UltraGeek
 
Dan Collins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,107
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebonovic
No, Dan Collins reported back at the beginning of February (when we first thought the update was comming out).

That DirecTV found something internally that they didn't like. Something with TiVo's communication back to them (IIRC). And thus regected the 6.1 version for the Series 2 hardware.

Hence why we are now at 6.2
No, not quite correct...the 6.2 beta was rejected due to an internal security issue. The R10's 6.1 and the other units 6.2 are identical except for this security change, the code for which only exists in 6.2 and is only active on non-RID units.

__________________
310 GB DSR-704
250 GB SIR-4040
240 GB SD-DVR80
240 GB DSR-708
80 GB DSR-7000 (Slingbox attached)
(All w/MRV)

Administrator - DBSForums.com
Dan Collins is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-05-2005, 12:50 PM   #155 (Print)
Buckbeak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1
I value my privacy, and so I've had my HDVR2 disconnected from any phone line for over a year. In fact, I've gotten rid of my POTS line and am using VoIP exclusively.

Will I need a phone line connected to get the 6.2 upgrade or will they eventually activate it via satellite?
Buckbeak is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-05-2005, 01:08 PM   #156 (Print)
Crash_Corrigan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 495
I believe the upgrade itself is loaded onto your D* Tivo as a download from the satellite, but the installation command is received via phone call. I don't know if anyone has found a way to self-initiate the installation of the upgrade.

I forced a phone call last night. I got excited when the data download stayed at 1% for what seemed a very long time. I thought for sure that I was getting 6.2. I left the room for maybe 10-15 minutes, expecting to see "pending restart" when I returned, but instead I saw the usual "complete" message instead. I want folders and faster menus.
Crash_Corrigan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-05-2005, 01:52 PM   #157 (Print)
ddobson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 179
I'm not sure but I think the phone call will be a long duration one when the upgrade actually happens. Or at least the last upgrade was. The phone call itself was just under an hour for my Tivo last time an upgrade occured.

It could be that the software was actually downloaded via the phone line at that time. Not sure.

If Dan Collins is out there he probably knows best but unless something has changed I would expect the phone call itself to take a significant amount of time over the minute or two the normal call takes.

__________________
DirecTV since 2/95
4 DirecTivo's plus a spare!
Weaknees Upgrades
XM since 6/04

Like Tracking Storms?
www.stormpredator.com
ddobson is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-05-2005, 02:10 PM   #158 (Print)
ddobson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 179
According to a post I just read on another board, a bug has been discovered in the 6.2 software and the rollout has now been delayed. I do not have any 1st hand knowledge of this but the posts made buy this guy have all turned out to be 100% accurate. He mentioned the L.A. rollout days before I saw anyone post that they had received it.

If I had to bet, I'd bet almost 100% that he's right, although I hope he's wrong.

__________________
DirecTV since 2/95
4 DirecTivo's plus a spare!
Weaknees Upgrades
XM since 6/04

Like Tracking Storms?
www.stormpredator.com
ddobson is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-05-2005, 02:15 PM   #159 (Print)
Arcady
Stargate Fan
 
Arcady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 763
Send a message via AIM to Arcady
The "bug" is probably that FF ads are not enabled in 6.2, and under the agreement today, those need to be switched on before this rollout continues.

4.0 here I come.

__________________
4 Hughes SD-DVR40's (220hr) (70hr) 2x(35hr) w/ MRV
2 Samsung SiR-S4040R's (140hr) (105hr) w/ MRV
D* HR10-250, Philips DSR-704 (stock)
TiVo SA 240080 (347hr)
(plus many not in use)
Arcady is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-05-2005, 02:25 PM   #160 (Print)
Doug G
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Andover, MA
Posts: 26
Actually, bug has to do with channel change problem on some units. See post here for details.
Doug G is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-05-2005, 04:05 PM   #161 (Print)
duck8405
tivo owner
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: needles,ca
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to duck8405 Send a message via Yahoo to duck8405
Question howto get the 6.2 update on a new tivo

today is tuesday, april 5, 2005 and i called directv yesterday they say they are bringing a tvio over today between 1:00pm and 5:00pm well its 2:02pm right now my question is will it come with the 6.2 upgrade if not how can i get it i dont know how to make it call manualy please help thanks

__________________
donald arnold
----------------------------------------------
-"chance favors the prepared mind"-
----------------------------------------------
duck8405 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-05-2005, 04:17 PM   #162 (Print)
JohnTivo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Culver City, CA
Posts: 761
The unit being installed will not include 6.2. You will need to wait for the roll-out to hit your area/serial number.

__________________
1 HR10-250 (50 Hours)
4 HDVR2's (267, 69, 35, 35 Hours)
4 HD HTPC PVR's (60, 27, 24, 21 Hours)
1 TIVO Series2 (40 Hour)
JohnTivo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-05-2005, 04:30 PM   #163 (Print)
Sir_whinealot
Seenyer Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: OLdSmAr, FloRiDa
Posts: 633
If you get an R-10 it'll come loaded with 6.1 ...folders included, etc.
Sir_whinealot is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-05-2005, 04:30 PM   #164 (Print)
Crash_Corrigan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 495
If you get an R10, it will come with 6.1, I believe.
Crash_Corrigan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-06-2005, 03:28 AM   #165 (Print)
ChristianZane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 80
You WANT this upgrade. I must have been one of the first people to get it, as I have had it for three weeks now (I live in Beverly Hills), anyways, the speed increase is INCREDIBLE. Everything has sped up dramatically:

1. Hitting record button while in the middle of a show used to say "Please Wait" for up to five minutes, now it takes a few seconds.

2. Same with recording future shows in Tivo menu guide while watching a show, almost instant.

3. Navigating through all the menus is very quick, in fact I used to be able to buffer some of the keystrokes because they took so long to come up, but now my fingers can't do it fast enough.

4. Season Pass calculation too (when the system has to determine conflicts).

So great upgrade, I feel like I have a new machine (it's a DirecTV Hughes receiver with Tivo) , unfortunately I'm going to have to switch from DirecTV one day as I can't stand Rupert Murdoch, but until then I'm a happy camper.
ChristianZane is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-06-2005, 07:16 AM   #166 (Print)
herdfan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 1,328
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crash_Corrigan
If you get an R10, it will come with 6.1, I believe.

It does.
herdfan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-06-2005, 09:55 PM   #167 (Print)
duck8405
tivo owner
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: needles,ca
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to duck8405 Send a message via Yahoo to duck8405
Angry it wont upgrade to 6.2

i have a samsung directv dvr (sir-s4080r) with tivo service and it connects downloads somthing then says the call was a sucess but it still has 3.1 on it directv told me it can get the upgrade and if i dont get it this month i wont get it at all i need help to get this thing to upgrade please help

__________________
donald arnold
----------------------------------------------
-"chance favors the prepared mind"-
----------------------------------------------
duck8405 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-06-2005, 10:21 PM   #168 (Print)
dtremain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 972
Quote:
Originally Posted by duck8405
i have a samsung directv dvr (sir-s4080r) with tivo service and it connects downloads somthing then says the call was a sucess but it still has 3.1 on it directv told me it can get the upgrade and if i dont get it this month i wont get it at all i need help to get this thing to upgrade please help
Your "service download" has nothing to do with the upgrade. Like the whole rest of the country, you will get the upgrade eventually, based upon the id number of your receiver. Some people in Southern California have already gotten it as a test run, but by no means everybody. Whatever nonsense a customer rep told you that got you so worked up, just relax.

You should know that once you are set to get the upgrade activated, any "daily call," anytime after that will set the process in motion.

Just calm down and enjoy using your unit.
dtremain is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 06-19-2005, 02:04 PM   #169 (Print)
mckeemike505
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Has anyone that already had 6.2 now getting a "new" version of 6.2. It has different version #'s after the 6.2. Anyone else recieving this update?

Thanks,

Mike
mckeemike505 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 06-19-2005, 02:21 PM   #170 (Print)
Dirac
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Baker, FL
Posts: 615
Are you sure about that? The last 3 digits of the version number are dependent upon what hardware you have. Example: Samsung is 381. If it were a different version number, you'd see something like 6.2b-01...

__________________
Dirac
2x SIR-S4040R, v. 6.2+
HR10-250, v. 3.1.5f
Dirac is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 06-19-2005, 02:32 PM   #171 (Print)
rminsk
TiVoted TiVo User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 3,940
The last three digit of the service number/software version identify the unit. The only difference between software versions the the hardware manufacture that the software displays.

Series 1 units
001 - DSR6000, DSR6000r, DSR600r01
011 - SAT T-60
031 - GXCEBOT, GXCEBOTD

Series 2 units
101 - DSR7000, DSR7000R
121 - DVR39
151 - HDVR2

Series 2 units with RID
301 - DSR704, DSR708
321 - DVR40, DVR80
351 - SD-DVR40, SD-DVR80, SD-DVR120
357 - HR10-250
381 - SIR-S4040R, SIR-S4080R, SIR-S4120R
3F1 - ?

Series 2.5 units
521 - R10

__________________
Be vewy vewy quiet. I am squirrel hunting.
rminsk is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index