TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-28-2005, 03:15 PM   #31 (Print)
Kevdog
Registered User
 
Kevdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by dressen
I'm in Seattle and I received my upgrade last week after forcing a call. I'm running a hacked Hughes SD-DVR40. I've successfully upgraded it and put in a 2.4.20 killhdinitrd kernel. The only thing I miss so far is TWP.


I'm still at 3.1 (In Seattle).

__________________
1Hughes DVR40, unmodified
1 Motorola 6412
Panasonic TH42PX50U
1 Black Lab, modified
Kevdog is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-28-2005, 03:20 PM   #32 (Print)
Ryder X
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 42
Still 3.1 in San Jose, Ca..

My last call was last night and still no update.
Ryder X is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-28-2005, 03:22 PM   #33 (Print)
jblakers
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 75
southern California

Received it today. 6.2 version

wow
both guides are fast and the group folders are very cool.
jblakers is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-29-2005, 12:46 AM   #34 (Print)
MAIstook
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
I just got 6.2 today -- funny, my unit hadn't made a call in nearly two years, too, because we don't have a land line at our place. So one call and I've got 6.2. But now when I go to the "messages" screen, my unit locks up. What gives!?
MAIstook is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-29-2005, 08:19 AM   #35 (Print)
dtremain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 972
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAIstook
I just got 6.2 today -- funny, my unit hadn't made a call in nearly two years, too, because we don't have a land line at our place. So one call and I've got 6.2. But now when I go to the "messages" screen, my unit locks up. What gives!?
When was the last time you had gone to the "messages" screen?
dtremain is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-29-2005, 03:21 PM   #36 (Print)
yui-han_tivo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1
no 6.2 in Western Pennsylvania yet....still running 3.1.1e on a Philipps 704
yui-han_tivo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-29-2005, 05:14 PM   #37 (Print)
5 ACES
Registered User
 
5 ACES's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Aguilar, Colorado
Posts: 40
No 6.2 in Colorado
5 ACES is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-29-2005, 09:26 PM   #38 (Print)
rad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mundelein IL
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAIstook
I just got 6.2 today -- funny, my unit hadn't made a call in nearly two years, too, because we don't have a land line at our place. So one call and I've got 6.2. But now when I go to the "messages" screen, my unit locks up. What gives!?



So where are you located???
rad is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-30-2005, 08:20 AM   #39 (Print)
Timmytivo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9
No 6.2 in Mid-Michigan
Timmytivo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-30-2005, 08:24 AM   #40 (Print)
morgantown
DTV + Tvio = ;-)
 
morgantown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Morgantown, WV
Posts: 973
Just phoned home, no 6.2 in WV
morgantown is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-30-2005, 09:54 AM   #41 (Print)
ceburkett
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAIstook
I just got 6.2 today -- funny, my unit hadn't made a call in nearly two years, too, because we don't have a land line at our place. So one call and I've got 6.2. But now when I go to the "messages" screen, my unit locks up. What gives!?


If you haven't "phoned home" in two years, I assume you've been getting the nag messages pretty regularly? And if you didn't delete them, that might be quite a few messages saved up. Maybe your tivo is just taking a *really* long time to display all those messages.

__________________
HDVR2 - 107 hours
HR10-250
ceburkett is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-31-2005, 02:52 PM   #42 (Print)
g-ace
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1
Upgrade to 6.2

Shouldn’t you be able to configure your dial-up to dial into an area that is updating to 6.2?

This way you wouldn’t have to wait for it to come to you, you could just dial into an LA area that was updating and download it, update your box and then reset your machine back to your original dialup.
g-ace is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-31-2005, 03:05 PM   #43 (Print)
Extremist
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 142
Nope, does not work that way. D-TV knows where you live!
Extremist is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-31-2005, 05:14 PM   #44 (Print)
3DCadman
Re-Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Marysville, Michigan
Posts: 70


Nothing yet in the Detroit area.
3DCadman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-01-2005, 10:42 AM   #45 (Print)
Klaatuu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 3
Nothing yet in N. Cal. (SF Bay area) either.
Klaatuu is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-01-2005, 11:18 AM   #46 (Print)
Doug G
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Andover, MA
Posts: 26
I Just Got It In Boston!!!

6.2 FOLDERS ROCK!!!
Doug G is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-01-2005, 11:19 AM   #47 (Print)
Doug G
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Andover, MA
Posts: 26
...... (wait, what's the date? )

Seriously, I wouldn't expect anything until at least 4/7 - this is when D* has said it will GA the code assuming there are no problems with the limited rollout currently going on in LA.
Doug G is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-03-2005, 08:20 AM   #48 (Print)
Fluffybear
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 654
Send a message via AIM to Fluffybear
Received 6.2 last evening!

As for folders (grouping), YAWN!!!!

I would like to have seen something a little more robust. Maybe something where I could create FOLDERS (say one for the wife, one for the kids, etc.) and have their recordings stored there. 6.2 offers grouping of numerous reocrdings of a particular show in a single folder.

In my house it is uncommon to have more then 1 or 2 of a given show. The only reason we would have more then that was we were either on vacation or there was some kind of marathon (such as Twilight Zone) and recorded 50 episodes.

__________________
DirecTV since 8/94
Tivo since 5/99

AT9 5-LNB Dish
DirecTV R15 & H20

DirecTV HR10-250 (70 Hours HD)
Hughes HDVR2 (302 Hours)
Sony KDF70XBR950 HDTV
Slingbox
Location Free TV
Fluffybear is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-03-2005, 09:55 AM   #49 (Print)
mikellanes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fluffybear
Received 6.2 last evening!


In MN? On which units?

Yeah folders could be more customizable, your ideas sound pretty sweet.
mikellanes is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-03-2005, 10:47 AM   #50 (Print)
Fluffybear
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 654
Send a message via AIM to Fluffybear
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikellanes
In MN? On which units?

Yeah folders could be more customizable, your ideas sound pretty sweet.


The HDVR2 is the only unit in my collection that was on the approved list (for at least now).

__________________
DirecTV since 8/94
Tivo since 5/99

AT9 5-LNB Dish
DirecTV R15 & H20

DirecTV HR10-250 (70 Hours HD)
Hughes HDVR2 (302 Hours)
Sony KDF70XBR950 HDTV
Slingbox
Location Free TV
Fluffybear is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-03-2005, 11:57 AM   #51 (Print)
spciesla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Lake Elsinore, CA
Posts: 86
Still waiting in So. Cal

I'm still waiting on the upgrade for my two units. I'm in Lake Elsinore, CA (Southern California).
spciesla is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-03-2005, 12:16 PM   #52 (Print)
ddobson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fluffybear
The HDVR2 is the only unit in my collection that was on the approved list (for at least now).


I think he wanted to know more specifically on the unit that did receive the upgrade.. Was it a Hughes, Philips, RCA etc..

Looks like you're one of the first outside of CA to receive the upgrade. But at least it may have started now!

I've got 4 units and the speed is what I want. They're ok except the one I added the drive to. It's very slow with the added capacity. Sometimes up to 3 minutes to bring up the Now Playing list. Reorganizing season passes can take 30 minutes but that's not so bad. I do that and got to bed.

But the now playing list is very aggravating.

__________________
DirecTV since 2/95
4 DirecTivo's plus a spare!
Weaknees Upgrades
XM since 6/04

Like Tracking Storms?
www.stormpredator.com
ddobson is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-04-2005, 09:36 AM   #53 (Print)
Finnstang
Thingamabob
 
Finnstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 2,182
The HDVR2 is a hughes.

__________________
I like the way Finnstang thinks. - IndyJones1023 X6 & edhara X3
I hate/(am intrigued by) the way Finnstang thinks. - hefe
I hate the way Finnstang links. - nachonaco
Finnstang is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-04-2005, 09:56 AM   #54 (Print)
ddobson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Finnstang
The HDVR2 is a hughes.


Sorry about that. That's what I get for speed reading. I read it twice and both times actually "read" series 2, not HDVR2.

__________________
DirecTV since 2/95
4 DirecTivo's plus a spare!
Weaknees Upgrades
XM since 6/04

Like Tracking Storms?
www.stormpredator.com
ddobson is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-04-2005, 11:54 AM   #55 (Print)
ckelly5
Denny Crane
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Westborough, MA
Posts: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug G
I Just Got It In Boston!!!

6.2 FOLDERS ROCK!!!


Are you serious? Please don't toy with my emotions. I moved all this past weekend, and have yet to hook my tivo back up to the phone line. This could be great news once I do though! I was wondering if I'd be getting 6.2 before or after I got the new OS X

__________________
Old and Busted: Sony Svr-2000 (120gb)
New hotness: Philips DSR704 (160/137gb) 6.2
Future hotness?: DTV R15? DirecTV Home Media Center?
ckelly5 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-04-2005, 11:58 AM   #56 (Print)
pbartman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ashland, MA
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckelly5
Are you serious? Please don't toy with my emotions. I moved all this past weekend, and have yet to hook my tivo back up to the phone line. This could be great news once I do though! I was wondering if I'd be getting 6.2 before or after I got the new OS X



Check the second post! Was on April 1st.
pbartman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-04-2005, 12:05 PM   #57 (Print)
ckelly5
Denny Crane
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Westborough, MA
Posts: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbartman
Check the second post! Was on April 1st.


Damn got too excited there to see the next message...

man, I hate April Fools

I couldn't read any of my regular "news" sites. Nor my beloved TiVo forum, apparently.

Damn you creators of April Fools!

now, where's Tiger?

__________________
Old and Busted: Sony Svr-2000 (120gb)
New hotness: Philips DSR704 (160/137gb) 6.2
Future hotness?: DTV R15? DirecTV Home Media Center?
ckelly5 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-04-2005, 01:49 PM   #58 (Print)
Doug G
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Andover, MA
Posts: 26
ckelly5 - I'm awaiting the arrival of 6.2 as anxiously as you are. Sorry, I couldn't resist!

Hopefully in the next few days we should get it if everything is still on schedule. There was an apparent "insider" posting in several other forums but it looks like D* must have discovered the leak and plugged it as he hasn't divulged any info in over a week.

Truth be told, I'm pretty happy with the speed of my now-144hr S2 Philips 704, I really just need the folders to tidy up all the episodes of Dora, Blues Clues and Wiggles so I can find my programs!
Doug G is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-04-2005, 02:08 PM   #59 (Print)
ddobson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 179
Personally I'm waiting for LBA48 support so I can add a huge drive to our main unit, then I won't worry about having the network support. I'll have enough capacity to have everything I want on the main unit.

Philips 708, plus 400Gig HD = 400 hours (or just under 400)

Anybody got a 3rd tuner?

__________________
DirecTV since 2/95
4 DirecTivo's plus a spare!
Weaknees Upgrades
XM since 6/04

Like Tracking Storms?
www.stormpredator.com
ddobson is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-04-2005, 02:11 PM   #60 (Print)
Finnstang
Thingamabob
 
Finnstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 2,182
With lba48, you are limited to a 300GB drive size. You can still do 2x200GB to get your 400GB, just not a single drive.

__________________
I like the way Finnstang thinks. - IndyJones1023 X6 & edhara X3
I hate/(am intrigued by) the way Finnstang thinks. - hefe
I hate the way Finnstang links. - nachonaco
Finnstang is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index