TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-28-2005, 02:31 AM   #61 (Print)
ozsat
Very Nice Moderator
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 3,279
It was repeated at 7pm on Sunday on BBC3.

__________________
OzSat - TiVo UK - Moderator
ozsat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-28-2005, 02:36 AM   #62 (Print)
pauljs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Surrey
Posts: 262
with a nasty on screen logo for BBC3
pauljs is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-28-2005, 02:40 AM   #63 (Print)
kitschcamp
Tweaked and poked
 
kitschcamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, England & Malmö, Sweden.
Posts: 1,148
Send a message via ICQ to kitschcamp Send a message via MSN to kitschcamp Send a message via Yahoo to kitschcamp
I'm afraid you've missed it till next week, now. The repeat was, I believe, last night on BBC Three. You may be able to find someone who recorded it who is happy to help...

__________________
Stephen

SkyEye, 160Gb+120Gb, CcheCrd 512MB, twkd recrdng sttngs, TiVoWeb and APC Back-UPS 500.
Tivo Mods. Fixed ui.itcl module
kitschcamp is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-28-2005, 03:53 AM   #64 (Print)
iankb
Registered User
 
iankb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 5,205
At least the repeat didn't include Graham Norton's commentary.

__________________
Ian.

For gold text on leather in TiVoWeb, try the redbook, bluebook, greenbook and blackbook themes, now updated with button menus
iankb is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-28-2005, 06:22 AM   #65 (Print)
steveroe
Must do some work...
 
steveroe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hull, UK
Posts: 340
Send a message via MSN to steveroe
Just jump in your TARDIS and go back in time and watch it. You do have a TARDIS don't you?

__________________
Steve
steveroe is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-28-2005, 09:22 AM   #66 (Print)
iankb
Registered User
 
iankb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 5,205
Could be a problem with 'First-Run Only' and the 28-Millenia rule.

__________________
Ian.

For gold text on leather in TiVoWeb, try the redbook, bluebook, greenbook and blackbook themes, now updated with button menus
iankb is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-30-2005, 06:32 PM   #67 (Print)
the_hut
Alleged Sock Puppet
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 152
Gosh! It looks as though there is going to be a fairly early regeneration of this particular Doctor!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/entertai...dio/4395849.stm
the_hut is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-30-2005, 08:55 PM   #68 (Print)
pauljs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Surrey
Posts: 262
I think it is a pity he doesn't want to do at least one more series and would have thought it better to wait until the series has finished before announcing that
pauljs is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-31-2005, 12:22 AM   #69 (Print)
kitschcamp
Tweaked and poked
 
kitschcamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, England & Malmö, Sweden.
Posts: 1,148
Send a message via ICQ to kitschcamp Send a message via MSN to kitschcamp Send a message via Yahoo to kitschcamp
That's a real shame - on the evidence of the first episode he had a lot of potential as The Dr.

__________________
Stephen

SkyEye, 160Gb+120Gb, CcheCrd 512MB, twkd recrdng sttngs, TiVoWeb and APC Back-UPS 500.
Tivo Mods. Fixed ui.itcl module
kitschcamp is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-31-2005, 03:50 AM   #70 (Print)
sanderton
TiVoer since 11/2000
 
sanderton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 5,979
Still, if there's one series we know can survive a change of lead actor!

__________________
Stuart

Author of EndPad, DailyMail and others now run by other generous souls. Setup: MCE hub feeds 3 x 360s from 2 x DVB-T tuners and 1 x Sky via TiVo+eTivo. Sky+HD coming 22/5.
sanderton is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 03-31-2005, 04:14 AM   #71 (Print)
CouchPotato
Edible Starchy Tuber
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 13
Angry

Personally I think this is a bit off -- surely when he thought about taking on this role he was expecting it to last more than one series?

Sure, Doctors have changed before, but the quality has been variable. On the basis of the first episode Ecclestone was looking to be one of the best for a long time (IMHO).

__________________
SofaSpud
DSR6000 upgraded to 106 hours - gone :(
DSR6000 unmodified - gone :(
Thomson UK TiVo unmodified
CouchPotato is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-01-2005, 01:44 AM   #72 (Print)
Regor
part-timer
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bournemouth
Posts: 585
Send a message via ICQ to Regor Send a message via MSN to Regor
At this rate the doctor is going to run out of regenerations very soon!
Regor is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-01-2005, 02:24 AM   #73 (Print)
kitschcamp
Tweaked and poked
 
kitschcamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, England & Malmö, Sweden.
Posts: 1,148
Send a message via ICQ to kitschcamp Send a message via MSN to kitschcamp Send a message via Yahoo to kitschcamp
Then he'll have to do a "Master".

__________________
Stephen

SkyEye, 160Gb+120Gb, CcheCrd 512MB, twkd recrdng sttngs, TiVoWeb and APC Back-UPS 500.
Tivo Mods. Fixed ui.itcl module
kitschcamp is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-01-2005, 02:45 AM   #74 (Print)
ndunlavey
Just a user, really
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Greenwich
Posts: 914
Is there limit then? Beyond that does he have to engineer a divorced backup to be able to carry on?

__________________
Nick
6021 2.5.5a Lifetime 120Gb+40Gb|Toshiba 32ZP18Q|DTI2300 Freeview|Quintro+|Panasonic DMRES20D
ndunlavey is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-01-2005, 07:23 AM   #75 (Print)
pauljs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Surrey
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndunlavey
Is there limit then? Beyond that does he have to engineer a divorced backup to be able to carry on?


The master turned into an ugly creature on his thirteenth regeneration. The script writers can easily find a way around that problem. He is a time lord after all
pauljs is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-03-2005, 04:39 AM   #76 (Print)
Automan
Victor Meldrew
 
Automan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: South Coast, Sussex, UK
Posts: 1,808
One thing that has remained in the new series are the cheap props....
Alien spaceships that seem to require vast amounts of cables in a corridor that looked to me if contructed from concrete.

A fire alarm push mounted on a RSJ with no conduit connection, and poor quality control on the for sale signs (had 0207 xxx rather than 020 7xxx number format) - I suppose in Wales they don't know london dial codes?

As for the new controls in the Tardis, what are they thinking of? Did they only ever see the Peter Cushing movies and thus based the design on that?

Automan.
Automan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-03-2005, 05:19 AM   #77 (Print)
ndunlavey
Just a user, really
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Greenwich
Posts: 914
Quote:
Originally Posted by Automan
and poor quality control on the for sale signs (had 0207 xxx rather than 020 7xxx number format) - I suppose in Wales they don't know london dial codes?

I see people in London use 0207 xxx on signage.

__________________
Nick
6021 2.5.5a Lifetime 120Gb+40Gb|Toshiba 32ZP18Q|DTI2300 Freeview|Quintro+|Panasonic DMRES20D
ndunlavey is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-03-2005, 05:35 AM   #78 (Print)
cwaring
Registered User
 
cwaring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 3,921
Send a message via MSN to cwaring
Quote:
Originally Posted by Automan
One thing that has remained in the new series are the cheap props....

Gee! Nitpick much

__________________
Carl Waring

Telewest Active Digital with Pace 2000 STB
Now with added Tivoweb!
Tivo TV Ads & PDF Manuals
cwaring is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-03-2005, 05:42 AM   #79 (Print)
ndunlavey
Just a user, really
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Greenwich
Posts: 914
I assumed he meant as praise for consistency of spirit. A bit like Open University programmes being done in tradiional dress (white flares or safari suit, big collar shirts, unkempt beards)

__________________
Nick
6021 2.5.5a Lifetime 120Gb+40Gb|Toshiba 32ZP18Q|DTI2300 Freeview|Quintro+|Panasonic DMRES20D
ndunlavey is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-03-2005, 07:24 AM   #80 (Print)
cwaring
Registered User
 
cwaring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 3,921
Send a message via MSN to cwaring
Oh! Okay. My mistake

__________________
Carl Waring

Telewest Active Digital with Pace 2000 STB
Now with added Tivoweb!
Tivo TV Ads & PDF Manuals
cwaring is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-03-2005, 08:23 AM   #81 (Print)
iankb
Registered User
 
iankb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 5,205
At least the console on the Tardis didn't have any recognisable bits from iPods, etc.

The first commercial job I had was programming ICL 1300's. They were large mainframes with 2K of 48-bit memory, that were programmed in hex when assembler was considered a high-level language. They used an operating console that consisted of 12 rotary dials, and 12 hex displays represented by 4 binary neons. The BBC used to use them as well and, you've guessed it, one of the operating consoles turned up as a space ship console. After that, I realised that Dr Who was just make-believe.

__________________
Ian.

For gold text on leather in TiVoWeb, try the redbook, bluebook, greenbook and blackbook themes, now updated with button menus
iankb is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-03-2005, 08:54 AM   #82 (Print)
Ashley
Prat in a Hat
 
Ashley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Windsor UK
Posts: 390
I realised Stargate SG1 was make-believe when they used a Pronto as a hand held scanning device.

__________________
This is not a pipe: '|'
250GB 601F Tivo, TiVoWeb, SkyD.
Bog Standard 6022, BT badged Netgem.
Philips 890 DVDR, JVC DVHS.
Ashley is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-04-2005, 07:25 AM   #83 (Print)
manolan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: LONDON, UK
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by Automan
One thing that has remained in the new series are the cheap props....
Alien spaceships that seem to require vast amounts of cables in a corridor that looked to me if contructed from concrete.

A fire alarm push mounted on a RSJ with no conduit connection, and poor quality control on the for sale signs (had 0207 xxx rather than 020 7xxx number format) - I suppose in Wales they don't know london dial codes?

As for the new controls in the Tardis, what are they thinking of? Did they only ever see the Peter Cushing movies and thus based the design on that?

Automan.


Strangely, none of that worried me at all, except the 020 thingy, which winds me up all the time. But ndunlavey is right, real companies do this all the time.

Oh, and I do find the controls a bit odd. Assume the Tardis took a direct hit in the war from some sort of mutagenic weapon! I can live with them, but he does seem to have to work quite hard to travel through time.
manolan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-04-2005, 08:46 AM   #84 (Print)
iankb
Registered User
 
iankb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Reading, UK
Posts: 5,205
Quote:
Originally Posted by manolan
... he does seem to have to work quite hard to travel through time.
I think that he was pumping the tyres up.

__________________
Ian.

For gold text on leather in TiVoWeb, try the redbook, bluebook, greenbook and blackbook themes, now updated with button menus
iankb is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-04-2005, 09:25 AM   #85 (Print)
alextegg
Tall Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bristol
Posts: 510
Quote:
Originally Posted by CouchPotato
Personally I think this is a bit off -- surely when he thought about taking on this role he was expecting it to last more than one series?

Sure, Doctors have changed before, but the quality has been variable. On the basis of the first episode Ecclestone was looking to be one of the best for a long time (IMHO).


Personally, I reckon it's a publicity stunt for the new series and he will miraculously be persuaded to carry on after a while...

__________________
6020 TIVO since May 2002, 2x120Gb Samsungs since Feb 2003
Turbonet & TiVoWeb since August 2003
Now running dailymail and endpad
Telewest with PACE 1000 & Dongle
alextegg is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-04-2005, 11:42 AM   #86 (Print)
Automan
Victor Meldrew
 
Automan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: South Coast, Sussex, UK
Posts: 1,808
The new Dr Who also mentioned his planet was destroyed and he was the sole survivor.

I know he is not supposed to, but he could go back in time and warn them!

He did not for poor old Adrick, but he was an individual.

Automan.
Automan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-04-2005, 11:59 AM   #87 (Print)
ozsat
Very Nice Moderator
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 3,279
It's against the (Time Lord) rules. You cannot change history!!! Or something worse might happen!

__________________
OzSat - TiVo UK - Moderator
ozsat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-04-2005, 12:21 PM   #88 (Print)
kitschcamp
Tweaked and poked
 
kitschcamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, England & Malmö, Sweden.
Posts: 1,148
Send a message via ICQ to kitschcamp Send a message via MSN to kitschcamp Send a message via Yahoo to kitschcamp
I'm guessing that's where the Dalek episode comes in, as they were his only adversary that could also travel through time.

__________________
Stephen

SkyEye, 160Gb+120Gb, CcheCrd 512MB, twkd recrdng sttngs, TiVoWeb and APC Back-UPS 500.
Tivo Mods. Fixed ui.itcl module
kitschcamp is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-04-2005, 12:53 PM   #89 (Print)
ozsat
Very Nice Moderator
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Oxfordshire, UK
Posts: 3,279
In the Big Finish audio play 'The Apocalypse Element' the Daleks invade Gallifrey (but fail). They achieved time travel by their third appearance and could want revenge!

__________________
OzSat - TiVo UK - Moderator
ozsat is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 04-04-2005, 07:04 PM   #90 (Print)
ndunlavey
Just a user, really
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Greenwich
Posts: 914
Quote:
Originally Posted by Automan
I know he is not supposed to, but he could go back in time and warn them!

Perhaps the planet is destroyed by the enemy travelling back in time to destroy Gallifrey before the Time Lords [will] [have] exist[ed]?

__________________
Nick
6021 2.5.5a Lifetime 120Gb+40Gb|Toshiba 32ZP18Q|DTI2300 Freeview|Quintro+|Panasonic DMRES20D
ndunlavey is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Off Topic Areas (Non-TiVo) > UK General Chit-Chat

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVo® is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index