TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-02-2005, 08:44 PM   #31 (Print)
ers26
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 5
Got my notice today, Round Lake, Illinois (Northern Suburb of Chicago)
ers26 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-02-2005, 10:15 PM   #32 (Print)
adamshipley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 22
Got the notice in Tucson on Monday.
adamshipley is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-02-2005, 10:58 PM   #33 (Print)
sda3
TiVo Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 175
I recieved the notice today (May 2) in Salt Lake city
sda3 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-02-2005, 11:18 PM   #34 (Print)
CrazyFred
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by n9ktw
Talked to Directv this afternoon about it.... It will not give us internet access to our directivo units They still dont have an idea when we will have internet access to our " pvr's" If anyone knows when or how to achieve this PLEASE pm me


Howard



I would say NEVER or when hell freezes over.
CrazyFred is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-02-2005, 11:40 PM   #35 (Print)
sda3
TiVo Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 175
Does anyone know if the 6.2 software will prevent the tivo from using a null modem cable to recieve updates?
sda3 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-03-2005, 01:08 AM   #36 (Print)
y_not
Highly Эdumacated!
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 3
I got my notice today.
Redmond, OR
y_not is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-03-2005, 02:30 AM   #37 (Print)
cobra55
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: ky
Posts: 42
nothing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dkerr24
nothing in the mail so far for us DTivo customers in Okla.


nothing in ky either
cobra55 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-03-2005, 08:48 AM   #38 (Print)
rdrsfo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 2
My system had a 30 minute download this morning from the satellite to upgrade the DVR software. I guess it is ready to install when notified. Any way to force it?
rdrsfo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-03-2005, 08:58 AM   #39 (Print)
SgtSnake
Pawn of Tivo
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: IL
Posts: 18
install new software..

If it is ready, you should have a message, and in sys info your version should now state pending re-start. Reboot...
SgtSnake is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-03-2005, 09:09 AM   #40 (Print)
candrist
DIRECTV Tech Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UTAH
Posts: 25
Only these recievers will get the upgrade:

HUGHES HDVR2, SD-DVR40, SD-DVR80, SD-DVR120

Philips DSR7000/17, DSR704, DSR708

RCA DVR39, DVR40, DVR80, DVR120

Samsung SIR-S4040R, SIR-S4080R, SIR-S4120R

A few DVRs got upgrade in March. Others to follow in May or June. Upgrade according to time zone.

__________________
Chris
540040 160gb

Great Guide From Rick123 540040 upgrade story here.

Setup Your Own 802.11G Ultimate Wireless Network!
candrist is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-03-2005, 09:17 AM   #41 (Print)
ProStreet
Registered User
 
ProStreet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kenosha, Wi.
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by ers26
Got my notice today, Round Lake, Illinois (Northern Suburb of Chicago)


Round Lake is not too far from Kenosha!! Going to check my mail box right now!!!
ProStreet is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-03-2005, 09:38 AM   #42 (Print)
texas arsenal
FCDallas.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Frisco TX
Posts: 210
Im in the Dallas metro area and got my upgrade notice yesterday.
texas arsenal is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-03-2005, 10:10 AM   #43 (Print)
sorahl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 6
Send a message via ICQ to sorahl Send a message via AIM to sorahl Send a message via Yahoo to sorahl
if the upgrade is per time zone, when does the EST zone get it?

sorahl

__________________
J
sorahl is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-03-2005, 10:17 AM   #44 (Print)
newfoundmass
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8
So I assume because I got my DirecTV Tivo in December that it's new and not one of the series one thingys?

I dont really want to move **** around to see what model I have
newfoundmass is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-03-2005, 10:25 AM   #45 (Print)
TivoSaved TV
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Can't tell you - Someone is on a mission to remove my DNS because I also have locals!
Posts: 56
Just go to the System Information screen on your Tivo. It will tell you.

__________________
SHHHH - Don't tell DirecTV, but my Tivos have MRV and HMO

Hughes HDVR2 - 35 hrs
Hughes HDVR2 - 105 hrs
Hughes SD DVR80 - 67 hrs
Samsung SIR 4040 -35 hrs


White Area - all 4 unless I move
TivoSaved TV is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-03-2005, 10:29 AM   #46 (Print)
newfoundmass
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8
Cool I will get the update... is there more new stuff than is mentioned on the DirecTV site?
newfoundmass is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-03-2005, 10:48 AM   #47 (Print)
ddobson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by newfoundmass
Cool I will get the update... is there more new stuff than is mentioned on the DirecTV site?



It seems that folders and speeding up the response are the two big ones but rumor has it there will also be LBA48 support which means if you want to add a second drive to your TIVO you will no longer be limited to 137 gig. If you have a 70 hour DVR now you could add hundreds of hours to it. Seems to be confusion on whether the support will allow drives over 300 GIG.

We'll have to wait and see I guess. The speed improvements have been reported by some of the test loads done in March as significant. Some report speed gains of 5x on units where they have added fairly large drives. Others who have stock units say they haven't noticed much of a difference.

My take on this is that sometimes when things get better you aren't as likely to notice as when things get worse. I added a 160gig drive to my primary TIVO for a total of 157 hours. It is pathetically slow while my other stock 70 hour units are ok but still a little slow. I'm waiting for both the large drive support and the speed gains of the new software.

People have reported the USB ports now power up and request an IP address via DHCP but there is still no official HMO support on 6.2.

__________________
DirecTV since 2/95
4 DirecTivo's plus a spare!
Weaknees Upgrades
XM since 6/04

Like Tracking Storms?
www.stormpredator.com
ddobson is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-03-2005, 11:20 AM   #48 (Print)
candrist
DIRECTV Tech Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UTAH
Posts: 25
Features:
Guide is faster.
Searches are faster in WishList and Season Pass.
Ability to group similar recorded shows into folders.
Ability to sort the Now Playing list alphabetically or by date recorded.


After the upgrade, some settings go back to factory defaults:

My Preferences - Menu item is removed. Most of the options are now in "Settings."
Favorite Channels - List will be empty.
Channels You Receive - List is reset so that all channels are checked.
Channel Banner time out - If customer had changed it to "Clear Banner Quickly," it will go back to "Display Banner Normally."
Spending Limits - Changed to $10.
To change the above settings::

Select "Messages and Settings."
Select "Settings."
To change Favorite Channels, Channels You Receive, or Clear Channel Banner Quickly:
Select "Channels."
To change Spending Limits:
Select "Parental Controls."

__________________
Chris
540040 160gb

Great Guide From Rick123 540040 upgrade story here.

Setup Your Own 802.11G Ultimate Wireless Network!
candrist is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-03-2005, 11:25 AM   #49 (Print)
ddobson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 179
Hey, thanks for that great reply. We appreciate good info directly from the source and it seems you get so little of that with DirecTV in the past.

__________________
DirecTV since 2/95
4 DirecTivo's plus a spare!
Weaknees Upgrades
XM since 6/04

Like Tracking Storms?
www.stormpredator.com
ddobson is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-03-2005, 11:31 AM   #50 (Print)
dshinnick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 289
Even though R10's have the features, I'm hoping that 6.2 will speed things up. Not a big deal, but it would be nice to be able to scroll through lists and have the box keep up with me.
dshinnick is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-03-2005, 12:01 PM   #51 (Print)
Pauli
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by candrist
Features:
Guide is faster.
Searches are faster in WishList and Season Pass.
Ability to group similar recorded shows into folders.
Ability to sort the Now Playing list alphabetically or by date recorded.


After the upgrade, some settings go back to factory defaults:

My Preferences - Menu item is removed. Most of the options are now in "Settings."
Favorite Channels - List will be empty.
Channels You Receive - List is reset so that all channels are checked.
Channel Banner time out - If customer had changed it to "Clear Banner Quickly," it will go back to "Display Banner Normally."
Spending Limits - Changed to $10.
To change the above settings::

Select "Messages and Settings."
Select "Settings."
To change Favorite Channels, Channels You Receive, or Clear Channel Banner Quickly:
Select "Channels."
To change Spending Limits:
Select "Parental Controls."

Are you unable to officially comment about LBA48 support? Some have already reported success with large hard drives (> 160GB) on 6.2 upgraded units.
Pauli is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-03-2005, 12:29 PM   #52 (Print)
hughvh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 700
Send a message via AIM to hughvh Send a message via Yahoo to hughvh
Quote:
Originally Posted by texas arsenal
Im in the Dallas metro area and got my upgrade notice yesterday.


Do you get the notice on your screen or in the mail? I got the mailer two months ago.
hughvh is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-03-2005, 12:32 PM   #53 (Print)
allan
Resident modern nut
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by candrist
Features:
Ability to sort the Now Playing list alphabetically or by date recorded.



I can do that NOW with the undocumented Sort option. Plus I can sort by Expiration, which I assume won't be possible with 6.2 (it wasn't on 4.0).

__________________
My Tivo is too small!

BEEP
allan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-03-2005, 01:02 PM   #54 (Print)
cesco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 9
I have my notice (Bluffton, Indiana) 5-03

This is not going to be able to restrict the time I can keep PPV is it?
I heard a rumor that all PPV's would only be able to be saved for a short period

__________________
If you dont grow it you MINE it!
cesco is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-03-2005, 01:07 PM   #55 (Print)
kschauwe
Registered User
 
kschauwe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bowling Green, Ohio
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pauli
Are you unable to officially comment about LBA48 support? Some have already reported success with large hard drives (> 160GB) on 6.2 upgraded units.

LBA48 works just fine v6.2. There are ways to go up to a single 500Gb now.

__________________
DirectTv since 11/96; DTivo since 11/04.
SD-DVR40 (dvr4me) 6.2 Zippered, 304 hrs (WD 320Gb).
HDVR2 6.2, 146 hrs (Seagate 160Gb).
"If It's Not a Tivo, Then It's Just a PVR"
kschauwe is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-03-2005, 01:11 PM   #56 (Print)
slacker9876
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Colorful Colorado
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddobson
It seems that folders and speeding up the response are the two big ones but rumor has it there will also be LBA48 support which means if you want to add a second drive to your TIVO you will no longer be limited to 137 gig. If you have a 70 hour DVR now you could add hundreds of hours to it. Seems to be confusion on whether the support will allow drives over 300 GIG.
While this is great, it is not so great. These units will all be going away in the next 24 months tops with MPEG4. It make me wonder why they are even doing this release. Of course that is just the jealousy of my HR10-250 talking.

On the topic, I received my card May 2nd also. Colorado.
slacker9876 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-03-2005, 01:29 PM   #57 (Print)
shepler76
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by slacker9876
While this is great, it is not so great. These units will all be going away in the next 24 months tops with MPEG4. It make me wonder why they are even doing this release. Of course that is just the jealousy of my HR10-250 talking.

On the topic, I received my card May 2nd also. Colorado.


24 Months? The MPEG4 is only going to be for HD not the SD. These units will we around for a long while.
shepler76 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-03-2005, 02:20 PM   #58 (Print)
candrist
DIRECTV Tech Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UTAH
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pauli
Are you unable to officially comment about LBA48 support? Some have already reported success with large hard drives (> 160GB) on 6.2 upgraded units.


DIRECTV never mentions anything about this, mainly because they have only ever offered a 120gb HDD, and we dont support upgrading. So that info is useless to DIRECTV.

__________________
Chris
540040 160gb

Great Guide From Rick123 540040 upgrade story here.

Setup Your Own 802.11G Ultimate Wireless Network!

Last edited by candrist : 05-04-2005 at 07:27 AM.
candrist is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-03-2005, 02:35 PM   #59 (Print)
KungFuCow
Thread Killer
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 607
Send a message via ICQ to KungFuCow Send a message via AIM to KungFuCow Send a message via MSN to KungFuCow
Quote:
Originally Posted by candrist
DIRECTV never mentions anything about this, mainly because they have only ever offered a 12gb HDD, and we dont support upgrading. So that info is useless to DIRECTV.



12GB hard drives? No wonder any of my shows stay around very long.
KungFuCow is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-03-2005, 03:17 PM   #60 (Print)
texas arsenal
FCDallas.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Frisco TX
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by hughvh
Do you get the notice on your screen or in the mail? I got the mailer two months ago.


I got the mailer yesterday. I have an R-10 so I dont really care when I get the upgrade. Im guessing the only difference will be the guide speed.
texas arsenal is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index