TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-14-2005, 09:56 AM   #121 (Print)
frustratedinSC
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 9
no kidding
frustratedinSC is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-14-2005, 10:10 AM   #122 (Print)
Kyotech
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendragn
2) You add telnet support in your rc.sysinit.author file.
tk


Noob question here, is the rc.sysinit.author file always there on stock Tivo software? I remember creating it when I made a 4.0.1b system but unsure if it's there by nature.
Kyotech is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-14-2005, 10:12 AM   #123 (Print)
farleyruskz
Nunya
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Posts: 892
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyotech
Noob question here, is the rc.sysinit.author file always there on stock Tivo software? I remember creating it when I made a 4.0.1b system but unsure if it's there by nature.


Nope, it's one you create on your own. A cleaner method than adding modifications to the long rc.sysinit file that is stock with the unit.
farleyruskz is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-14-2005, 10:55 AM   #124 (Print)
Kyotech
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 48
Still to green, I'm waiting for a guide.

Quote:
Originally Posted by farleyruskz
Nope, it's one you create on your own. A cleaner method than adding modifications to the long rc.sysinit file that is stock with the unit.



Thanks farleyruskz, I think I'm going have to wait until a guide or better instructions are up, I'm still to green

I upgraded to 4.0.1b OK but I'm not sure where to add the rc.sysinit file. On the 4.x guide it says to cd /tivo/etc/rc.d and there is no such directory. So where would I create the file?
Kyotech is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-14-2005, 10:59 AM   #125 (Print)
pendragn
Registered User
 
pendragn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Ames Iowa
Posts: 3,073
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyotech
Thanks farleyruskz, I think I'm going have to wait until a guide or better instructions are up, I'm still to green

I upgraded to 4.0.1b OK but I'm not sure where to add the rc.sysinit file. On the 4.x guide it says to cd /tivo/etc/rc.d and there is no such directory. So where would I create the file?

If you don't have an /etc/rc.d directory in your TiVo root partition you've got big problems. Make sure you've got the correct partition mounted as /tivo on your PC. You'll know you're in the right folder as there will be an rc.sysinit file there too in /etc/rcx.d. Your rc.sysinit.author will go in the same folder.

tk

__________________
Todd O. Klindt
3x S2 DTiVos | HR10-250 3.1.5f
pendragn is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-14-2005, 11:22 AM   #126 (Print)
Kyotech
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendragn
If you don't have an /etc/rc.d directory in your TiVo root partition you've got big problems. Make sure you've got the correct partition mounted as /tivo on your PC. You'll know you're in the right folder as there will be an rc.sysinit file there too in /etc/rcx.d. Your rc.sysinit.author will go in the same folder.

tk


I used the 6.2.dtivo.minimal.AlphaWolf from eMule and got it up and running on a spare 20gig drive. I do have /etc/rc.d directory but I'm not sure if I'm on the right partition, there are only 2 files in my /etc/rc.d directory. I have my HDD on master secondary and my CDRom as slave secondary. I have to read up on how to change partitions.
Kyotech is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-14-2005, 12:35 PM   #127 (Print)
ddn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 27
I'm really confused.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyotech
I used the 6.2.dtivo.minimal.AlphaWolf from eMule and got it up and running on a spare 20gig drive.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyotech
I upgraded to 4.0.1b OK but I'm not sure where to add the rc.sysinit file. On the 4.x guide it says to cd /tivo/etc/rc.d and there is no such directory. So where would I create the file?


Are you running 4.0.1b or 6.2? Either way, the rc.sysinit.author is created in /etc/rc.d. IF you are doing this on the drive outside of the Tivo, ie: following the guide, it should be mounted at /tivo and then it would be /tivo/etc/rc.d/

mv /etc/netfilter-enabled /etc/netfilter-enabled.not is the standard way to disable netfilter on 4.0.1b. 6.2 requires the command moving iptables out of the way and creating a dummy iptables because 6.2 will assert if iptables isn't found. As was stated, disabling netfilter does not enable telnet, and it still must be enabled in the rc.sysinit.author.

I did say in an earlier post you could run superpatch with the drive out of the TiVo. I wasn't thinking. This is not the case because superpatch is a TCL script and has to be run on the TiVo. I guess the reason I said it is that all superpatch is is a script to change some locations in the tivoapp file, and could be done with a bash script while the TiVo isn't running.
ddn is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-14-2005, 12:39 PM   #128 (Print)
LlamaLarry
Lookin At Your Lumps
 
LlamaLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Sticks of Virginia
Posts: 2,454
Send a message via AIM to LlamaLarry
I updated a test (fresh) 6.2 install both ways (iptables mod vs netfilter rename) I don't think either way matters much. My current setup was with the netfilter rename and I have HMO, MRV, telnet and ftp running fine.

Next step is to slice upgrade one of the 4.01b boxes as a learning experience. I imagine it will be the TiVo pointed at the home gym - that one gets used the least in my house. :::sigh:::

__________________
--Larry
LlamaLarry is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-14-2005, 12:42 PM   #129 (Print)
farleyruskz
Nunya
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Posts: 892
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddn
mv /etc/netfilter-enabled /etc/netfilter-enabled.not is the standard way to disable netfilter on 4.0.1b. 6.2 requires the command moving iptables out of the way and creating a dummy iptables because 6.2 will assert if iptables isn't found.


I found that renaming netfilter-enabled was all it took to allow network access to my 6.2 DVR's. The post on DDB also indicates that either method will work on 6.2.
farleyruskz is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-15-2005, 01:23 AM   #130 (Print)
stim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by pendragn
1) Superpatch must be run on the TiVo. You cannot run it on your PC with your TiVo drive attached.
2) You add telnet support in your rc.sysinit.author file. The following line enables it:
Code:
tnlited 23 /bin/bash -login &

2a) You must also disable the netfilter for telnet to work.

tk


I don't mean to sound like an idiot... What the hell is the rc.sysinit.author file? Can you point me into the direction where I can read up on how to add that?

Thanks
stim is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-15-2005, 06:54 AM   #131 (Print)
Stabu
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by stim
I don't mean to sound like an idiot... What the hell is the rc.sysinit.author file? Can you point me into the direction where I can read up on how to add that?

Thanks


The only stupid question is the one you don't ask. If you're familiar with DOS the rc.sysinit.author file is the equivlant of the config.sys or autoexec.bat file. It's basically a batch file that runs a series of commands on startup. There are a few ways to add the file. You could use the built in text editors pico or vi. I personally find them a pain to use. I prefer to use notepad because its much more user friendly. Create or edit the exisiting file. Using this method you need to convert the file to a Unix format after your done. The carriage returns are different between DOS and Unix. The way I do that is with a freeware prog called DOS2UNIX. then just put the converted file onto your box in the appropriate directory.
Stabu is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-15-2005, 09:00 AM   #132 (Print)
Gunnyman
Hamob
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Beautiful Downtown Greenville SC
Posts: 9,368
is there anything different between 4.0 and 6.2 as far as file layout is concerned?
I am getting a file not found error when executing superpatch on my slice upgraded HDVR2.
I've put the scripts for superpatch in /var, they are chmodded. Is tivosh in a different spot perhaps?

__________________
Gunny - have I told you that your avatar always makes me smile? Waldingrl
Zipper Wiki
Join us in Vegas!
Gunnyman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-15-2005, 09:01 AM   #133 (Print)
Gunnyman
Hamob
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Beautiful Downtown Greenville SC
Posts: 9,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stabu
The only stupid question is the one you don't ask. If you're familiar with DOS the rc.sysinit.author file is the equivlant of the config.sys or autoexec.bat file. It's basically a batch file that runs a series of commands on startup. There are a few ways to add the file. You could use the built in text editors pico or vi. I personally find them a pain to use. I prefer to use notepad because its much more user friendly. Create or edit the exisiting file. Using this method you need to convert the file to a Unix format after your done. The carriage returns are different between DOS and Unix. The way I do that is with a freeware prog called DOS2UNIX. then just put the converted file onto your box in the appropriate directory.



There is a great shareware editor called metapad. It has unix mode built in.
Works like a champ.

__________________
Gunny - have I told you that your avatar always makes me smile? Waldingrl
Zipper Wiki
Join us in Vegas!
Gunnyman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-15-2005, 09:36 AM   #134 (Print)
JJBliss
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddn
Theres no reason you couldn't remove the drive, put it in a PC, boot up and run the superpatch, and reinstall it.



Except that it wouldn't work, and morevoer, an unhacked kernel will merely delete all your changes immediately upon reboot.
JJBliss is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-15-2005, 09:41 AM   #135 (Print)
JJBliss
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddn
I guess the reason I said it is that all superpatch is is a script to change some locations in the tivoapp file, and could be done with a bash script while the TiVo isn't running.

Incorrect again.

<sigh>

Why do people post things without caring if they're correct or not? All it does is spread misinformation....

Look a little more into VMA addressing.
JJBliss is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-15-2005, 10:25 AM   #136 (Print)
bengalfreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stabu
The only stupid question is the one you don't ask. If you're familiar with DOS the rc.sysinit.author file is the equivlant of the config.sys or autoexec.bat file. It's basically a batch file that runs a series of commands on startup. There are a few ways to add the file. You could use the built in text editors pico or vi. I personally find them a pain to use. I prefer to use notepad because its much more user friendly. Create or edit the exisiting file. Using this method you need to convert the file to a Unix format after your done. The carriage returns are different between DOS and Unix. The way I do that is with a freeware prog called DOS2UNIX. then just put the converted file onto your box in the appropriate directory.



If you hate the Linux editors but also don't like having to run DOS2UNIX, you can d/l metapad. Its a notepad lookalike with many more options. I keep it on the desktop. Just save everything (that you're going to transfer to the Tivo) in Unix format. In fact, I never use notepad for anything anymore since metapad is so much more powerful and its only one file and can be run from anywhere.

__________________
The Bengals and Tivo, life should have a few obsessions.
bengalfreak is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-15-2005, 12:01 PM   #137 (Print)
zleep
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddn
I did say in an earlier post you could run superpatch with the drive out of the TiVo. I wasn't thinking. This is not the case because superpatch is a TCL script and has to be run on the TiVo. I guess the reason I said it is that all superpatch is is a script to change some locations in the tivoapp file, and could be done with a bash script while the TiVo isn't running.
You can run the tcl script fine on a linux PC under tclsh with some minor modifications (e.g. file paths and the access to mfs to get the tivo software version).
zleep is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-15-2005, 12:58 PM   #138 (Print)
Gunnyman
Hamob
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Beautiful Downtown Greenville SC
Posts: 9,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunnyman2k3
is there anything different between 4.0 and 6.2 as far as file layout is concerned?
I am getting a file not found error when executing superpatch on my slice upgraded HDVR2.
I've put the scripts for superpatch in /var, they are chmodded. Is tivosh in a different spot perhaps?


solved
had to run the patches with tivosh

__________________
Gunny - have I told you that your avatar always makes me smile? Waldingrl
Zipper Wiki
Join us in Vegas!
Gunnyman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-15-2005, 05:53 PM   #139 (Print)
Gunnyman
Hamob
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Beautiful Downtown Greenville SC
Posts: 9,368
I just looked at your guide and found it easy to follow. Just one question though:

What is the monte framework for? I thought 6.2 supported LBA48 without any additional modification?

__________________
Gunny - have I told you that your avatar always makes me smile? Waldingrl
Zipper Wiki
Join us in Vegas!
Gunnyman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-15-2005, 06:41 PM   #140 (Print)
tyke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunnyman2k3
I just looked at your guide and found it easy to follow. Just one question though:

What is the monte framework for? I thought 6.2 supported LBA48 without any additional modification?


You don't need it if you Kill the right kernel, which does support LBA48.
tyke is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-15-2005, 06:52 PM   #141 (Print)
ghostyroasty
Registered User
 
ghostyroasty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16
I get a no such file or directory error on this section:

"4. Telnet into the TiVo and execute this command to load the slices into the database:
mount -o remount,rw / # Get this out of the way, although not needed until later
cd /var/packages
/tivo-bin/dbload *.slice"
ghostyroasty is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-15-2005, 06:59 PM   #142 (Print)
farleyruskz
Nunya
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Posts: 892
Do you have AlphaWolf's All-In-One toolset loaded onto your TiVo (and in the /tivo-bin directory)? dbload is a part of that package.
farleyruskz is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-15-2005, 07:06 PM   #143 (Print)
Gunnyman
Hamob
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Beautiful Downtown Greenville SC
Posts: 9,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyke
You don't need it if you Kill the right kernel, which does support LBA48.

That's what I thought.
I am using 3.1.5.

__________________
Gunny - have I told you that your avatar always makes me smile? Waldingrl
Zipper Wiki
Join us in Vegas!
Gunnyman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-15-2005, 07:10 PM   #144 (Print)
LlamaLarry
Lookin At Your Lumps
 
LlamaLarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Sticks of Virginia
Posts: 2,454
Send a message via AIM to LlamaLarry
He may have installed the AIO tar to /busybox instead.
I agree that the 6.2 init/chainload isn't needed if you have the right kernel, but it does do some neat things with the way it breaks up the process loading into test.conf, rc.runfirst, rc.sysinit.author and rc.runlast. It did add a layer on confusion when I was debugging my network problems and made no difference (for me) if I removed the actual chainload portion in test.conf.
In my later tests I skipped it entirely and am on the air. I did make use of the early loading of the serial bash and the loading background processes in lower priority. If anything I recommend 6.2 users read over the files it positions to see if something in there floats your boat.

__________________
--Larry
LlamaLarry is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-15-2005, 07:13 PM   #145 (Print)
David Platt
Large Ebony Rooster
 
David Platt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 4,949
Send a message via AIM to David Platt
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunnyman2k3
I just looked at your guide and found it easy to follow. Just one question though:

What is the monte framework for? I thought 6.2 supported LBA48 without any additional modification?
I think I already know the answer to this, but it can't hurt to ask: I'm running a 160GB drive, but am only using the first 137GB of it since my old setup didn't support LBA48. Since I'm now running 6.2 with a 3.1.5 kernel (which to my understanding supports LBA48), is there any way for me to take advantage of the full drive space without losing any of my recordings?
David Platt is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-15-2005, 07:29 PM   #146 (Print)
ghostyroasty
Registered User
 
ghostyroasty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16
mine is in busybox... thanx, gonna try now
ghostyroasty is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-15-2005, 07:40 PM   #147 (Print)
Gunnyman
Hamob
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Beautiful Downtown Greenville SC
Posts: 9,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Platt
I think I already know the answer to this, but it can't hurt to ask: I'm running a 160GB drive, but am only using the first 137GB of it since my old setup didn't support LBA48. Since I'm now running 6.2 with a 3.1.5 kernel (which to my understanding supports LBA48), is there any way for me to take advantage of the full drive space without losing any of my recordings?


Nope
Once you do an mfsrestore/expand it can't be expanded again.

__________________
Gunny - have I told you that your avatar always makes me smile? Waldingrl
Zipper Wiki
Join us in Vegas!
Gunnyman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-15-2005, 07:48 PM   #148 (Print)
ghostyroasty
Registered User
 
ghostyroasty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16
ugh. now I'm stuck with the same error during
/tvbin/installSw.itcl 6.2-01-2-301 in step 6... I put it in Bash, and I get a no such file or directory.. In ftp it is there. Tried doing it from the tvbin directory as well with just the installSw.itcl part and I still get the same error
Note: Gonna start over and see if it fixes itself.. lol

Last edited by ghostyroasty : 05-15-2005 at 07:55 PM.
ghostyroasty is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-15-2005, 07:59 PM   #149 (Print)
farleyruskz
Nunya
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Posts: 892
Try /tvbin/tivosh /tvbin/installSw.itcl 6.2-01-2-301
farleyruskz is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-15-2005, 08:00 PM   #150 (Print)
ghostyroasty
Registered User
 
ghostyroasty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16
Also, the 62init_framework_ddn.tgz is 404
ghostyroasty is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index