TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-16-2005, 06:35 PM   #61 (Print)
DVRaholic
HR10-250 Junkie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Yonkers New York
Posts: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by sneagle
Pics?

Here you go.....

I'll post more pictures when its done
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Picture.jpg (90.4 KB, 346 views)

__________________
1-Directv HD HR10-250s
(Upgraded to 52 hrs HD)

2-Cable SA-8300 HD-Dvr's
(Upgraded via Plug-n-Play
External SATA to 70 hrs HD)

Sony KDF-50-WE655 RP LCD
Sony 34-XBR-910
DVRaholic is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-16-2005, 06:41 PM   #62 (Print)
ebonovic
A TiVo Junkie...
 
ebonovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tinley Park, IL USA (SW ChicagoBurbs)
Posts: 8,245
The switch has been flipped, both of my DSR704s got the okay to install.
They are rebooting now.

Sneagle... what kind of pics are you looking for?
See the R10-Thread, if you want to see what the screens are going to eventually look like...

Until some posts some screen shots from 6.2

__________________
- Earl (XBL: Fontano)
Favorite 05/06 TV Lines: Karma! ; Suit Up! ; Legendary.....

Non-TiVo DirecTV DVR (R15,HR20) ->
DBSTalk
ebonovic is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-16-2005, 06:46 PM   #63 (Print)
DVRaholic
HR10-250 Junkie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Yonkers New York
Posts: 297
It's Done
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Picture 003.jpg (88.3 KB, 321 views)
File Type: jpg Picture 004.jpg (88.4 KB, 303 views)
File Type: jpg Picture 005.jpg (86.3 KB, 312 views)

__________________
1-Directv HD HR10-250s
(Upgraded to 52 hrs HD)

2-Cable SA-8300 HD-Dvr's
(Upgraded via Plug-n-Play
External SATA to 70 hrs HD)

Sony KDF-50-WE655 RP LCD
Sony 34-XBR-910
DVRaholic is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-16-2005, 07:02 PM   #64 (Print)
DVRaholic
HR10-250 Junkie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Yonkers New York
Posts: 297
Folders!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Picture 006.jpg (89.7 KB, 279 views)

__________________
1-Directv HD HR10-250s
(Upgraded to 52 hrs HD)

2-Cable SA-8300 HD-Dvr's
(Upgraded via Plug-n-Play
External SATA to 70 hrs HD)

Sony KDF-50-WE655 RP LCD
Sony 34-XBR-910
DVRaholic is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-16-2005, 07:05 PM   #65 (Print)
peterl1365
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Southern Calif
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by TivoAholic
Folders!


Welcome to 6.2!!!

I've had it for about 6 weeks. The folders are great, but the best thing, IMO, is the increased speed. That was my only gripe about Tivo. Now, I find that the grid guide is actually useable.

Now, looking forward to HMO...
peterl1365 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-16-2005, 07:07 PM   #66 (Print)
tfederov
M GO BLUE!!!
 
tfederov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 2,495
Send a message via AIM to tfederov
"...will not receive the upgrade at this time...." Looks like there's still a glimmer of hope for the HD TiVos.

__________________
Series 2 SA TiVo w/ Lifetime
Hughes SD-DVR120
Hughes HDVR2
DirecTV HR10-250
DirecTV HR10-250
tfederov is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-16-2005, 07:09 PM   #67 (Print)
aaronwt
TC Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 1,222
One of my units just got it after forcing a call. The other one didn't have the "pending restart" notice.

__________________
2 HR10-250(64 Hours)
1 HR10-250(30 Hours)
2 DSR704(107 Hours)
My 1080P DLP and sample pics(calibration by ELIAB!)
aaronwt is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-16-2005, 07:10 PM   #68 (Print)
ebonovic
A TiVo Junkie...
 
ebonovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tinley Park, IL USA (SW ChicagoBurbs)
Posts: 8,245
I just did my Channels you recieve list (since it get's wipped out).

I could not hit the select key fast enough, to be ahead of DTivo now.
You know before, where DTivo would be about 5-8 channels behind you if you where rapidly selecting/deselecting channels.

I tried to hit it "gamerstyle" with a single finger, as rapidly as I could.... It stayed up with me.

I will hold OVERall judgement on speed inprovements (and compared to the R10) until, my main unit with the 120gb hard drive (with about 90hrs on it), is finished with it's upgrade later tonight (i have a full docket of shows set to record tonight).

The one that is done was a stock 40gb unit.

__________________
- Earl (XBL: Fontano)
Favorite 05/06 TV Lines: Karma! ; Suit Up! ; Legendary.....

Non-TiVo DirecTV DVR (R15,HR20) ->
DBSTalk
ebonovic is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-16-2005, 07:12 PM   #69 (Print)
Zarquon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 3
Back in the day, I remember that those of us on the forum could ask Richard to add us to the list, and we would get flipped on the first batch... Ah, those were the days. Unfortunately, no one seems to be asking me for my ID, to make sure I got updated...still no luck here.

I just hope I don't have to wait till June. I got a 250gig hard drive to stick into my new samsung, and the factory disk is filling up fast. And my old T-60 is failing, so I need to get the new one ready before the old one croaks for good
Zarquon is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-16-2005, 07:15 PM   #70 (Print)
ebonovic
A TiVo Junkie...
 
ebonovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tinley Park, IL USA (SW ChicagoBurbs)
Posts: 8,245
Let's give it till the end of May..
If June 1st roles around, then lets start a thread with service IDs.

I know when the "f" upgrade came around (for the HR10-250s), TiVo (and yes, I do mean TiVo) didn't realize they had an issue with the "authorizing", until a bunch of people started to PM the right people.

Low and behold, they fixed something.. The next night, most of started to get the "f" upgrade.

__________________
- Earl (XBL: Fontano)
Favorite 05/06 TV Lines: Karma! ; Suit Up! ; Legendary.....

Non-TiVo DirecTV DVR (R15,HR20) ->
DBSTalk
ebonovic is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-16-2005, 07:24 PM   #71 (Print)
sneagle
Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New York area
Posts: 646
Aaaahhh, I am stuck at work. I can't wait until I get home!

__________________
HDVR2 (6.2) - modified to 114 hours
HDVR2 (6.2) - upgraded with TwinBreeze Complete to 214 hours
DVR40 (6.2) -unmodified-
sneagle is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-16-2005, 07:39 PM   #72 (Print)
aaronwt
TC Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 1,222
What does DVR service level mean? It's on the System info screen. My unit has a "P:-" for DVR servcie level.

__________________
2 HR10-250(64 Hours)
1 HR10-250(30 Hours)
2 DSR704(107 Hours)
My 1080P DLP and sample pics(calibration by ELIAB!)
aaronwt is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-16-2005, 07:44 PM   #73 (Print)
ebonovic
A TiVo Junkie...
 
ebonovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tinley Park, IL USA (SW ChicagoBurbs)
Posts: 8,245
P is the correct service level.

There has been some speculation that it is for a future "level" option.

__________________
- Earl (XBL: Fontano)
Favorite 05/06 TV Lines: Karma! ; Suit Up! ; Legendary.....

Non-TiVo DirecTV DVR (R15,HR20) ->
DBSTalk
ebonovic is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-16-2005, 08:13 PM   #74 (Print)
DVRaholic
HR10-250 Junkie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Yonkers New York
Posts: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by tfederov
"...will not receive the upgrade at this time...." Looks like there's still a glimmer of hope for the HD TiVos.


Only reason I'm excited about this upgrade is HOPEFULLY the HR10-250 will be upgraded very soon also...

I have 2 sd tivos, one for the family room and one in the guest room. I've been playing around with them for the last hour and they are noticably Faster

Problem is I just went to watch a HD program on "My" HR10-250 and now it is Really Painfully Sloooooowwwwwww......

__________________
1-Directv HD HR10-250s
(Upgraded to 52 hrs HD)

2-Cable SA-8300 HD-Dvr's
(Upgraded via Plug-n-Play
External SATA to 70 hrs HD)

Sony KDF-50-WE655 RP LCD
Sony 34-XBR-910
DVRaholic is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-16-2005, 08:19 PM   #75 (Print)
scottte
scottte
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
I am here in CT and got mine after forcing a call at 8pm....now lets just hope the HD update is going to happen someday!!!

scottte
scottte is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-16-2005, 08:47 PM   #76 (Print)
tellis100
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 19
I just did a force call on my 151 series HDVR2. Nothing. I'll try again tomorrow.

__________________
Hughes HR10-250 HD
Hughes HDVR2 w/120GB WD
tellis100 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-16-2005, 09:10 PM   #77 (Print)
idaho.dtv
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 14
Still waiting in idaho. Dtv says may 17th for some areas. Hope it happens soon.
idaho.dtv is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-16-2005, 09:35 PM   #78 (Print)
tellis100
Lurker
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 19
True, mine still says next call May 17 even after the 3 force calls today.

__________________
Hughes HR10-250 HD
Hughes HDVR2 w/120GB WD
tellis100 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-16-2005, 09:42 PM   #79 (Print)
swkenney
Custom User Title
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 32
Does anyone know how long the 6.2 download takes? Is it possible that any of the data comes from satellite. How much data in downloaded in the nightly 30 minute service download and what is in this data?

__________________
There's more to life than meets the microscope.
swkenney is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-16-2005, 09:49 PM   #80 (Print)
swkenney
Custom User Title
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 32
The time for the next scheduled call will not change until that time arrives. If you have forced a call within a certain time before that (probably 24 hours), it will not make the scheduled call but will only update the next scheduled call time. The last successful call time will be the one you forced.

__________________
There's more to life than meets the microscope.
swkenney is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-16-2005, 09:49 PM   #81 (Print)
rminsk
TiVoted TiVo User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 3,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by swkenney
Does anyone know how long the 6.2 download takes? Is it possible that any of the data comes from satellite. How much data in downloaded in the nightly 30 minute service download and what is in this data?
It was downoloaded a few months ago from the satellite. http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-v...4&&#post2867514

__________________
Be vewy vewy quiet. I am squirrel hunting.
rminsk is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-16-2005, 09:52 PM   #82 (Print)
qwin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1
Bada-bing

Well....
Just forced a call (my 1st..I'm behind the geek curve) and it got 6.2.
I'm currently rebooting and smell warm apple pie from the kitchen.

I'm no longer bow-legged, and my acne has cleared up...Boy I LOVE this upgrade.

Q
qwin is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-16-2005, 10:03 PM   #83 (Print)
dtivofan23
TiVo addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 511
tired forcing a call got all excited when it said downloading data, then nothing happened, no pending restart. oh well. hmm i did notice the download qucikly ended at the same time one of my recordings started. oh well probably dosent mean anything.

__________________
ayooooo
dtivofan23 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-16-2005, 10:21 PM   #84 (Print)
702
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 25
Argh

My Tivo said it was supposed to call at 12:01 am 5/17.

It now says it will call 10:13pm, on 5/20. I tried to force a call but nothing.
702 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-16-2005, 10:39 PM   #85 (Print)
rpdre1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 124
Forcing a call before its scheduled time works...
My main tivo was scheduled for Friday and I forced a call today and got it...

Maybe DirecTV is activating it on the more recently manufactured units... I got the pending restart for 6.2 today on my Samsung SIR-S4080R's call (which I got 2 months ago from DirecTV) but not on my DSR704's call which I got 1 year ago (also from DirecTV).

I forced a call on the DSR704 after the Samsung got the pending restart. Maybe they're only letting you upgrade one tivo a day?


Anybody have some insight?





from my other post in another thread here:

My main tivo (Samsung SIR-S4080R; avg plugged in once every 2 months) got the greenlight for 6.2 after i forced a call at 6:30 pm. After the call, in the status line it said Loading Data, #%, and # mins left. That took less than 5 mins. Then I got the Pending Restart. It took about 20 mins from the first restart to until it was done. I didn't have much on it; I had like 2 hrs of shows, 3 season passes, and no wishlists.

Before I forced the call at 6:30, that tivo was scheduled for Friday, May 20th. I had been forcing a call a few times this weekend and even this morning at 7 am.

My bedroom tivo (Phillips DSR704; which is unplugged also) had been scheduled for today so I forced a call a half-hour before its time and it got nothing. It's next scheduled call is for Tuesday, May 24th. Maybe a call on Friday will give me a Pending Restart.
rpdre1 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-16-2005, 10:46 PM   #86 (Print)
rminsk
TiVoted TiVo User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 3,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpdre1
Anybody have some insight?

If you would actually read the thread http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-v...4&&#post2867514

__________________
Be vewy vewy quiet. I am squirrel hunting.
rminsk is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-16-2005, 11:01 PM   #87 (Print)
disco
stayin' alive.
 
disco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 4,274
Send a message via ICQ to disco Send a message via AIM to disco Send a message via MSN to disco Send a message via Yahoo to disco
Quote:
Originally Posted by rminsk
It was downoloaded a few months ago from the satellite. http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-v...4&&#post2867514
I've checked MFS tables via TiVoWebPlus, and I do not have 6.2 sitting dormant on the drive. It has NOT been downloaded months ago...just FYI...

__________________
Nathan::
"Did you know that disco record sales were up 400% for the year ending 1976? If these trends continue...ayyy!"
disco is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-16-2005, 11:01 PM   #88 (Print)
Greg Thompson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 14
>>And where are you at? It is possible that you fell into one of the testing locations that have had the software update for almost 2 full months now...<<

I didn't realize that this software upgrade wasn't universal. I'm in L.A. and have had 6.2 for a couple months. It is much, much faster, solving a major annoyance. Plus it sticks like shows into folders, but you probably know that. I think it also improves the information you get when you have scheduling conflicts.

Greg

__________________
--Greg
Greg Thompson is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-16-2005, 11:13 PM   #89 (Print)
rminsk
TiVoted TiVo User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 3,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by disco
I've checked MFS tables via TiVoWebPlus, and I do not have 6.2 sitting dormant on the drive. It has NOT been downloaded months ago...just FYI...
It has been sitting dormant on my machine since I announce on here. I will try to find the post.

__________________
Be vewy vewy quiet. I am squirrel hunting.
rminsk is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-16-2005, 11:29 PM   #90 (Print)
CrazyFred
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by TivoAholic
Folders!



Would I leave you guys astray?



I told you it was coming today.
CrazyFred is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index