TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-19-2005, 12:34 PM   #151 (Print)
slacker9876
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Colorful Colorado
Posts: 195
Nothing in Colorado yet, Svc # 351-xxxxxxxxxxxxxx
slacker9876 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-19-2005, 12:45 PM   #152 (Print)
luebster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ross Twp, OH (Cincinnati)
Posts: 81
I'm sure I'll get hammered for this, but I just don't understand the point of telling the board where you live and that you didn't get 6.2 yet.

Firstly, as pointed out several times previously in this thread, geography has absolutely nothing to do with the rollout. While it is true that only SoCal boxes got 6.2b (the b is for beta), everybody else is getting 6.2f (final) via a bingo-style ping pong ball hopper. (Ok, that last part is false, but it is totally random.)

Secondly, your posts are not really contributing to anything. What's the point of telling us you didn't get the upgrade yet? I'm just as eager to have 6.2 as anyone else (if for no other reason than I'll be that much closer to seeing a similar upgrade for my HR10-250), but it seems like a waste of time and bandwidth to post about nothing.

How about waiting until you get the upgrade, then write up a compelling review.

*unsubscribing*

__________________
Chris

I have GMail account invites. PM me to get one.
luebster is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-19-2005, 12:53 PM   #153 (Print)
Mark Griswold
Mmmbeer
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 52
Big Grin

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcstager
I've forced a dozen calls already over the past two days -- I got nothing.

The more times you call the mothership, the further back into the queue you go

__________________
Mark

HDVR2 (6.2 upgraded to 100 hrs)
Mark Griswold is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-19-2005, 01:01 PM   #154 (Print)
rminsk
TiVoted TiVo User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 3,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by bnbhoha
I don't keep my phone wire plugged in. What if I was scheduled for an update a few days ago and plugge it in today or tomorrow. Would it update right away if I force a call, or do I have to wait in line until my turn comes around again? Anyone know?
Once your machine has been validated for the update it will activate it on the next call. http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-v...4&&#post2867514

__________________
Be vewy vewy quiet. I am squirrel hunting.
rminsk is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-19-2005, 01:04 PM   #155 (Print)
Chilli_Dog
HD / Tivo Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by luebster
I'm sure I'll get hammered for this, but I just don't understand the point of telling the board where you live and that you didn't get 6.2 yet.

Firstly, as pointed out several times previously in this thread, geography has absolutely nothing to do with the rollout...


I think in the beginning it did serve a purpose -- if nothing else, it proved that the updates were being distributed throughout the U.S. But at this point, I agree -- it's obvious that it's totally random, so saying "I did / did not get the upgrade and I live here" is pretty pointless.

But hey, we're a community. That's what people do -- talk about stuff, even if it's meaningless sometimes...
Chilli_Dog is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-19-2005, 01:10 PM   #156 (Print)
easy-e
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 20
You gotta love flamers. Does it make you feel good to blast somebody just for the sake of making yourself feel important?

BTW, if these posts are pointless, then why do you feel you need to read them?

__________________
easy-e
1 DIRECTV Samsung SIR-S4040R (upgraded to 156 hrs)
1 DIRECTV Hughes HR10-250
easy-e is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-19-2005, 01:30 PM   #157 (Print)
dtremain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 972
Quote:
Originally Posted by bnbhoha
I don't keep my phone wire plugged in. What if I was scheduled for an update a few days ago and plugge it in today or tomorrow. Would it update right away if I force a call, or do I have to wait in line until my turn comes around again? Anyone know?
Once you're in , you're in. It wouild be there for you anytime after your number comes up. Afer all, if you don't force a call, the call only happens aobut once every 8 days.
dtremain is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-19-2005, 01:34 PM   #158 (Print)
dtremain
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 972
Quote:
Originally Posted by luebster
I'm sure I'll get hammered for this, but I just don't understand the point of telling the board where you live and that you didn't get 6.2 yet.

Firstly, as pointed out several times previously in this thread, geography has absolutely nothing to do with the rollout. While it is true that only SoCal boxes got 6.2b (the b is for beta), everybody else is getting 6.2f (final) via a bingo-style ping pong ball hopper. (Ok, that last part is false, but it is totally random.)

Secondly, your posts are not really contributing to anything. What's the point of telling us you didn't get the upgrade yet? I'm just as eager to have 6.2 as anyone else (if for no other reason than I'll be that much closer to seeing a similar upgrade for my HR10-250), but it seems like a waste of time and bandwidth to post about nothing.

How about waiting until you get the upgrade, then write up a compelling review.

*unsubscribing*
You just say that because you don't live in a green house! Everybody knows that they go by house color!!!

This stuff is important!!!

Or...maybe it's just fun and idly passes the time? This aint exactly brain surgery you know.
dtremain is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-19-2005, 02:14 PM   #159 (Print)
ScubaCat3
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 29
I live in Norcross, GA, just outside Atlanta. (The runaway bride billboard is just up the street from my house.) I got 6.2 on Monday. It's significantly faster and more efficient, so anyone who downplays that fact is just nuts.
ScubaCat3 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-19-2005, 02:47 PM   #160 (Print)
rminsk
TiVoted TiVo User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 3,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by luebster
While it is true that only SoCal boxes got 6.2b (the b is for beta), everybody else is getting 6.2f (final) via a bingo-style ping pong ball hopper.
There is no 6.2b or 6.2f. There is only version 6.2. The version people got the SoCal is the same version everyone is getting.

__________________
Be vewy vewy quiet. I am squirrel hunting.
rminsk is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-19-2005, 02:48 PM   #161 (Print)
michaelp95
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Marana, AZ
Posts: 40
I've been calling for days now on both my units and nothing...this is kinda like a kid at Christmas time, you know your going to get something, but your not sure what it is, its wrapped up really well and you just cant get the paper off to see whats inside....sigh
michaelp95 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-19-2005, 02:53 PM   #162 (Print)
timmy1376
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 38
Got it here in Manhattan KS. Forgot to check and the wife says it looks a little funny, but it seems faster. Didn't reboot or anything.
timmy1376 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-19-2005, 03:07 PM   #163 (Print)
luebster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ross Twp, OH (Cincinnati)
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by rminsk
There is no 6.2b or 6.2f. There is only version 6.2. The version people got the SoCal is the same version everyone is getting.

Eh, my point was that the only reason people in southern California were getting 6.2 and not anyone else was that it was a beta test.

Now that it's rolling out to the masses, people still seem fixated on geography being the determining factor of when they will receive the update, when in fact, you (I believe, without looking it up) and others have stated factually that units are randomly selected using the service ID number.

It seems pointless to me to say, "I'm in Portland and I ain't got it."

If someone posted, "My service number is xxx-xxx-xxx (or whatever) and I ain't got it. Must not have been in last night's batch of 100K," then I would understand.

Am I going overboard? Probably. But at least I got a rise out of a few people.

*resubscribing*

__________________
Chris

I have GMail account invites. PM me to get one.
luebster is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-19-2005, 03:12 PM   #164 (Print)
ddobson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmy1376
Got it here in Manhattan KS. Forgot to check and the wife says it looks a little funny, but it seems faster. Didn't reboot or anything.


When you get the upgrade ok (after a call), if you don't reboot it manually the unit will reboot itself automatically in the middle of the night, I read somewhere 2am, but I'm not certain of that. For people who don't do mess with their Tivo's like most of here do, the upgrade is hands off and automated, therefore the unit will reboot automatically if not manually told to do so.

__________________
DirecTV since 2/95
4 DirecTivo's plus a spare!
Weaknees Upgrades
XM since 6/04

Like Tracking Storms?
www.stormpredator.com
ddobson is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-19-2005, 11:56 PM   #165 (Print)
sda3
TiVo Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 175
Pointless

I think it is pointless to keep posting about it being pointless. In fact, this post is pointless and acording to your standards it seems that just about every post on here is pointless. Why do we post then? It is all pointless, in fact, why did you join the "community" if it is all pointless to you?
sda3 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-20-2005, 12:17 AM   #166 (Print)
rminsk
TiVoted TiVo User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Marina del Rey, CA
Posts: 3,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by sda3
I think it is pointless to keep posting about it being pointless. In fact, this post is pointless and acording to your standards it seems that just about every post on here is pointless. Why do we post then? It is all pointless, in fact, why did you join the "community" if it is all pointless to you?
I'm sorry but what was your point?

__________________
Be vewy vewy quiet. I am squirrel hunting.
rminsk is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-20-2005, 12:50 AM   #167 (Print)
biker
Outlaw
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Atlantic County, NJ
Posts: 989
6.2 came yesterday.

__________________
Born To be a Wild!
biker is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-20-2005, 01:36 AM   #168 (Print)
BBoz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by luebster
Am I going overboard? Probably. But at least I got a rise out of a few people.

*resubscribing*


Is that the standard for contributing here now? As long as you get a rise out of someone, at leasted you contributed something.

People are excited about getting it. Interested in it. Interested in how fast it's distributing. Interested in where people are getting it. Is there any real logic.... Who knows, but it's conversation that passes the time and interests many.

You just came across as bitter. Maybe D*Tv will punish you and put you in the last group for being mean.

/suggest re-unsubscribing


P.S. I am in Phoenix, Arizona and one of my boxes got it tonight , but the other didn't.
BBoz is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-20-2005, 04:05 AM   #169 (Print)
Tekneek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 68
I've been interested in getting it since January. The speed improvements are awesome, but the months of anticipation were not really justified by the changes brought. I'm not blaming anyone for the hype, it was my own fault.
Tekneek is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-20-2005, 06:54 AM   #170 (Print)
aaronwt
TC Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 1,222
My second unit got it yesterday. Unfortunately, I don't use my DTiVos very much any more. Mostly, they record lifetime movies for my girlfriend. And I will use it for a few cable shows. The speed is very noticebale. I just hope they come out with the upgrade for the HD-TiVo this Summer since I use those boxes the majority of the time.

__________________
2 HR10-250(64 Hours)
1 HR10-250(30 Hours)
2 DSR704(107 Hours)
My 1080P DLP and sample pics(calibration by ELIAB!)
aaronwt is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-20-2005, 06:54 AM   #171 (Print)
FireMen2003
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 498
My next call wasn't scheduled until next Friday or so, so I just forced a call and I have 6.2 butI think my system might be hosed. It been stuck on the blue Directv screen with the processing upgrade etc etc for about 10 minutes now...something doesn't seem right .

edit: Done. Yeesh, 20 minutes for the upgrade to finish. Much longer than UTV. Everythin is working now. Easier to find all my L&O esipodes (I have 23 of them now )

Last edited by FireMen2003 : 05-20-2005 at 07:12 AM.
FireMen2003 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-20-2005, 07:11 AM   #172 (Print)
jimpilot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 42
Man I must have pissed off the D* gods. Nothing again today!

Last edited by jimpilot : 05-20-2005 at 07:12 AM. Reason: typo
jimpilot is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-20-2005, 07:31 AM   #173 (Print)
luebster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ross Twp, OH (Cincinnati)
Posts: 81
I'm sorry I seem to have irritated some of you. That was certainly not my intention. I was only trying to explain that upgraded units were chosen randomly, not geographically, but I went too far.

Please accept my apology.

__________________
Chris

I have GMail account invites. PM me to get one.
luebster is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-20-2005, 07:41 AM   #174 (Print)
Scot Kight
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 28
Anyone know when the update is being pushed out (IE the satellite rollout schedule)?

Mine was updating last night but a recording started and I think it killed the update. If thats the case I want to clear some recordings for the next update period.
Scot Kight is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-20-2005, 08:01 AM   #175 (Print)
Chilli_Dog
HD / Tivo Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by sda3
I think it is pointless to keep posting about it being pointless. In fact, this post is pointless and acording to your standards it seems that just about every post on here is pointless. Why do we post then? It is all pointless, in fact, why did you join the "community" if it is all pointless to you?

Damn, there's a lot of venom here...

I assume you were responding to my previous post since you referenced the term "community". What I was trying to say was that I got luebster's point. I then offered another perspective on it (trying to put a more positive spin about WHY people were posting about this - at least in the beginning). Finally, I said "Hey, we all hang out here. That's what we do." , ending the sentence with a big . Apparently, some of you misunderstood this. Since then, the flames have been flying.

Luebster, I don't think you were out of line. I think you were making a valid point -- one that has been made by others in other threads (who were not fried at the stake for it).

Everyone else who got all up tight about it -- let's put things in perspective. It's a software upgrade -- and a minor one at that. Does it improve the user experience? Absolutely! I, like many others, are currently enjoying faster menus, folders, and sorting options (without resorting to a hidden remote key combination). But in the grand scheme of things it's fairly minor. And, with a little patience, you will get it too. Just chill...

And for anyone who misunderstood my original post, let me make the point one more time -- we are a community (borrowing the term from the name of this web site). People in a community chit-chat, shoot the sh*t, talk about things important, and talk about things that don't mean all that much. And, everyone has their opinion, which they are certainly entitled to. That is what we do.

With that, I say "peace", have fun, and I hope you get your upgrades soon.

Putting heavy-duty flame suit back on...

Last edited by Chilli_Dog : 05-20-2005 at 08:14 AM.
Chilli_Dog is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-20-2005, 08:06 AM   #176 (Print)
Chilli_Dog
HD / Tivo Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scot Kight
Anyone know when the update is being pushed out (IE the satellite rollout schedule)?

Mine was updating last night but a recording started and I think it killed the update. If thats the case I want to clear some recordings for the next update period.


Scot, the update should already be on your hard drive. Assuming you've had your receiver for a while, it downloaded a few months ago. When the Tivo phone call is made, a check is made against a list to determine if you need an update. If so, the update will kick off with the next restart.

Hope that helps!
Chilli_Dog is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-20-2005, 08:11 AM   #177 (Print)
chrishicks
video addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ecorse, MI
Posts: 245
I just made a call and one of my tivos is upgrading right now. so far I'm 4 minutes in. as long as everything goes ok I'll be able to do some comparisons between the 2.

this happened in Ecorse, MI by the way.

EDIT: rebooted at 9:05 and was completely finished with the upgrade at 9:27. not to shabby. I'm re-entering my channels right now.

__________________
DirecTIVO addict with 2 Samsung SIR-S4120Rs

Last edited by chrishicks : 05-20-2005 at 08:29 AM.
chrishicks is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-20-2005, 08:46 AM   #178 (Print)
allan
Resident modern nut
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3,658
I got mine last night. It seems MUCH faster. I have mixed feelings about the folders. My only gripe is the loss of the Sort by Expiration.

__________________
My Tivo is too small!

BEEP
allan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-20-2005, 08:49 AM   #179 (Print)
chrishicks
video addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Ecorse, MI
Posts: 245
ok, one question, how long before I can get back into my season passes? I want to change/delete a few but I can't get to them. I keep getting that "no-no" bong.

__________________
DirecTIVO addict with 2 Samsung SIR-S4120Rs
chrishicks is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-20-2005, 08:52 AM   #180 (Print)
allan
Resident modern nut
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3,658
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrishicks
ok, one question, how long before I can get back into my season passes? I want to change/delete a few but I can't get to them. I keep getting that "no-no" bong.


When I first tried to get into the "Pick Programs to Record" section, there was a black bar that said it would be unavailable for 30 minutes. It's working fine this morning.

__________________
My Tivo is too small!

BEEP
allan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > DIRECTV Receiver with TiVo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index