TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-28-2005, 09:58 PM   #151 (Print)
Gunnyman
Hamob
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Beautiful Downtown Greenville SC
Posts: 9,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcbrine
Yes, it does. (More precisely, case is significant in ext2fs and other common Unix filesystems.)


All too easily. See, the basic ISO-9660 filesystem used for CDs only supports DOS-like, 8.3 filenames. To support long filenames, as well as Unix permissions and uid/gid, Unix added Rock Ridge extensions. Later, Windows added a completely different set of extensions, Joliet, to accomplish the same thing. So that's three different possible filenames for the same file, any one of which might be exposed, depending on your mount options and how the disc was made. And that's not even counting Mac hybrid discs...

In this case, it sounds like you're looking at a disc with Rock Ridge but without Joliet, so XP sees the base 8.3 names. (Linux also understands Joliet, but XP doesn't understand Rock Ridge, due to a nasty case of NIH syndrome.) Since it's ultimately a Linux disc, this makes sense -- Rock Ridge is more capable than Joliet for Unix purposes.

Aren't you glad you asked?

I am !
It cleared that up for me for sure...

__________________
Gunny - have I told you that your avatar always makes me smile? Waldingrl
Zipper Wiki
Join us in Vegas!
Gunnyman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-28-2005, 09:59 PM   #152 (Print)
bnm81002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,359
hey Gunny,
I didn't see that your "guide" has the fakecall.tcl script to stop the "please make a daily call" nag on the screen, is that script needed? I see that you have the don't call home script though, thanks

__________________
Philips DSR704(2 of these)
Pioneer DVR810H
bnm81002 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-28-2005, 10:00 PM   #153 (Print)
willardcpa
QUASI-OMNISCIENT
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Eugene, OR USA
Posts: 2,068
Scott, hang in there, many of us are standing on the sidelines rooting for you and learning from your experiences.
And Gunny, thanks for the guidance - for Scott, and the multitudes that are also learning from his trials. And expecially for not following the protocols of DDB and telling him to read some 48 page thread for the answer. I can understand their "teach a man to fish philosophy", but I notice that you also seem to be acquiring some knowledge in this process with Scott.
willardcpa is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-28-2005, 10:06 PM   #154 (Print)
Gunnyman
Hamob
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Beautiful Downtown Greenville SC
Posts: 9,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by bnm81002
hey Gunny,
I didn't see that your "guide" has the fakecall.tcl script to stop the "please make a daily call" nag on the screen, is that script needed? I see that you have the don't call home script though, thanks

It turns out superpatch disables nag screens so I find fakecall to be optional.

__________________
Gunny - have I told you that your avatar always makes me smile? Waldingrl
Zipper Wiki
Join us in Vegas!
Gunnyman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-28-2005, 10:07 PM   #155 (Print)
beejaycee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: N'Awlins
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunnyman2k3
I am beginning to think 6.2 will be on hda4 for just about everyone.

Gunny, I have 2 HDVR2s. On one of my HDVR2s (the one I made a mistake when upgrading via slices from 4.01b), my root is hda7. On my other HDVR2, upgrading via slices from 4.01b with your walk-through, my root is hda4. I don't know how pertinent that is to your helping Scott but I thought you might want to know.

Scott, you might doing a "find" for netfilter:
find / -name netfilter*
Also, maybe it might help to capture what you are doing to a log file and posting the log file.
beejaycee is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-28-2005, 10:07 PM   #156 (Print)
Gunnyman
Hamob
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Beautiful Downtown Greenville SC
Posts: 9,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by willardcpa
Scott, hang in there, many of us are standing on the sidelines rooting for you and learning from your experiences.
And Gunny, thanks for the guidance - for Scott, and the multitudes that are also learning from his trials. And expecially for not following the protocols of DDB and telling him to read some 48 page thread for the answer. I can understand their "teach a man to fish philosophy", but I notice that you also seem to be acquiring some knowledge in this process with Scott.



Yeah and I realize that I have had a crap day and probably took it out on Scott.
For that I am sorry.
I was THIS close to sounding like a DDB regular though

__________________
Gunny - have I told you that your avatar always makes me smile? Waldingrl
Zipper Wiki
Join us in Vegas!
Gunnyman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-28-2005, 10:10 PM   #157 (Print)
Gunnyman
Hamob
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Beautiful Downtown Greenville SC
Posts: 9,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by beejaycee
Gunny, I have 2 HDVR2s. On one of my HDVR2s (the one I made a mistake when upgrading via slices from 4.01b), my root is hda7. On my other HDVR2, upgrading via slices from 4.01b with your walk-through, my root is hda4. I don't know how pertinent that is to your helping Scott but I thought you might want to know.

Scott, you might doing a "find" for netfilter:
find / -name netfilter*
Also, maybe it might help to capture what you are doing to a log file and posting the log file.


Yeah I've added some tips to verify you're hacking the correct system partition, symptom numero uno seems to be the non-existance of netfilter.
3.x doesn't use it 4.x and above does.

__________________
Gunny - have I told you that your avatar always makes me smile? Waldingrl
Zipper Wiki
Join us in Vegas!
Gunnyman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-28-2005, 10:12 PM   #158 (Print)
Scott D
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Pasadena, Texas
Posts: 711
Quote:
I did some reading at the OTHER forum and think they hit on something.
I bet you mounted your OLD system partition.
I am beginning to think 6.2 will be on hda4 for just about everyone.


Good point.

For the record, I don't think so.

6) Now, we need to mount our CD and our tivo Hard drive so we can get to messing things up

A) mount /dev/hda4 (might be /dev/hda7) /tivo

Mine was successful on hda4, not hda7. However (and this is the kicker) hda7 was used on the bootpage commands.

I will try your suggestion. I tried everything else I could think of and with 0 success.




Tried the find command and netfilter does not exist on my hard drive. If I need it, how do I get it?

Last edited by Scott D : 05-28-2005 at 10:17 PM.
Scott D is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-28-2005, 10:25 PM   #159 (Print)
Gunnyman
Hamob
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Beautiful Downtown Greenville SC
Posts: 9,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott D
Good point.

For the record, I don't think so.

6) Now, we need to mount our CD and our tivo Hard drive so we can get to messing things up

A) mount /dev/hda4 (might be /dev/hda7) /tivo

Mine was successful on hda4, not hda7. However (and this is the kicker) hda7 was used on the bootpage commands.

I will try your suggestion. I tried everything else I could think of and with 0 success.


Tried the find command and netfilter does not exist on my hard drive. If I need it, how do I get it?


Here is a sure fire way to know you have the correct tivo partition mounted for hacking
do a cd /tivo/etc/rc.d
now do ls

you should see the following listed
StageA_PreKickstart
StageB_PostKickstart rc.arch
StageC_MediaInitialization rc.sysinit
StageD_PreMfs
StageE_PreApplication
StageF_ApplicationLaunch

if those are not there, you have the wrong partition mounted.

__________________
Gunny - have I told you that your avatar always makes me smile? Waldingrl
Zipper Wiki
Join us in Vegas!
Gunnyman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-28-2005, 10:44 PM   #160 (Print)
Scott D
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Pasadena, Texas
Posts: 711
So far, the files of superpatch-67all-NutKase-1.0.tcl and set_mrv_name_67.tcl are not on my machine. Doing an umount wiped out the files. Var was then again empty. I found that out by rebooting the drive and checking there and they were gone.

I am now checking which partition got upgraded. Be back shortly.


I don't have that. What I do have is this....

finishinstall.tcl
rc.arch
rc.sysinit that's it.

Do I need to start over? I have a backup made.

Last edited by Scott D : 05-28-2005 at 10:50 PM.
Scott D is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-28-2005, 10:46 PM   #161 (Print)
Gunnyman
Hamob
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Beautiful Downtown Greenville SC
Posts: 9,368
if that is the case, the kernel copy step was not successful
var getting wiped after a reboot is a sign of this
It's also a possible sign that you were in the old system partition whn you were hacking.

__________________
Gunny - have I told you that your avatar always makes me smile? Waldingrl
Zipper Wiki
Join us in Vegas!

Last edited by Gunnyman2k3 : 05-28-2005 at 10:53 PM.
Gunnyman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-28-2005, 10:54 PM   #162 (Print)
Gunnyman
Hamob
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Beautiful Downtown Greenville SC
Posts: 9,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott D
So far, the files of superpatch-67all-NutKase-1.0.tcl and set_mrv_name_67.tcl are not on my machine. Doing an umount wiped out the files. Var was then again empty. I found that out by rebooting the drive and checking there and they were gone.

I am now checking which partition got upgraded. Be back shortly.


I don't have that. What I do have is this....

finishinstall.tcl
rc.arch
rc.sysinit that's it.

Do I need to start over? I have a backup made.


Yeah start fresh
(tomorrow) your frustrated enough

__________________
Gunny - have I told you that your avatar always makes me smile? Waldingrl
Zipper Wiki
Join us in Vegas!
Gunnyman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-28-2005, 10:56 PM   #163 (Print)
Scott D
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Pasadena, Texas
Posts: 711
Answer to your PM

Are the two scripts ON the tivo now?
No. I do not have those files on the drive.

If not, are you still having trouble getting ftp to work?
Yes I am having trouble. Bash prompt is there (bash2.02#) something like that, but cannot connect using FileZilla.
Scott D is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-29-2005, 06:39 AM   #164 (Print)
David Platt
Large Ebony Rooster
 
David Platt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 4,949
Send a message via AIM to David Platt
A tip for those of us who've hacked our 6.2: the FSI (free space indicator) is in a different location than on the 4.0 software. From the ToDo list, press 0 and Thumbs Up to access it.
David Platt is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-29-2005, 07:24 AM   #165 (Print)
David Platt
Large Ebony Rooster
 
David Platt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 4,949
Send a message via AIM to David Platt
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott D
Answer to your PM

Are the two scripts ON the tivo now?
No. I do not have those files on the drive.

If not, are you still having trouble getting ftp to work?
Yes I am having trouble. Bash prompt is there (bash2.02#) something like that, but cannot connect using FileZilla.
First, you need to step back and take a couple of deep breaths. You're throwing so much information out there so quickly and so randomly that it's VERY difficult to keep track of what's going on with your upgrade.

Okay, you say you have telnet access, which is a good thing. First, let's try to figure out what's going on with netfilter. From your telnet prompt, type "cd /etc". Now do a ls command.

1. Are there any files that start with netfilter there, such as "netfilter-enabled", "netfilter-notenabled", or "netfilter-disabled"?

Now, move to the /etc/rc.d directory: "cd rc.d". Do a ls command there.

2. Do you see a bunch of files that start with 'StageA", StageB", StageC", etc.?


Answer those two questions ONLY; don't start off into everything else that's going wrong.

Last edited by David Platt : 05-29-2005 at 01:04 PM.
David Platt is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-29-2005, 08:39 AM   #166 (Print)
owlhooter
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Platt
Now, move to the /etc/rc.d directory: "mv rc.d". Do a ls command there.




Might want to change to the directory using "cd rc.d" not mv.


But hey Gunnyman, love the guide.. Hacked both my Tivo's yesterday by following it. Worked great.. I think I got my second one done within 30 minutes..

One thing I did notice after I did the whole process.. It happened on both Tivo's, was that when going into the now playing list for the first time it took it awhile to load any of the shows and gave me the scroll arrows and I could scroll through a blank list endlessly until it finally populated the shows. Kinda bizarre, but I'm not too worried about it as after that it seems to be pulling up fine on both units.. Thanks again for writing such an excellent guide.
owlhooter is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-29-2005, 08:57 AM   #167 (Print)
Gunnyman
Hamob
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Beautiful Downtown Greenville SC
Posts: 9,368
I heard from Scott and all is well.
He started over restoring a backup and got it done.
YAY Scott!

__________________
Gunny - have I told you that your avatar always makes me smile? Waldingrl
Zipper Wiki
Join us in Vegas!
Gunnyman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-29-2005, 09:16 AM   #168 (Print)
Scott D
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Pasadena, Texas
Posts: 711
I started over. Restored the backup copy I made before I did any of this. Netfilter was found and all the commands on the instructional page went through without a problem.

Before I unmounted everything, I made an additional directory and stored the superpatch and the set mrv name files in there since trying to copy them over on a running tivo wasn't possible. They ran just fine.

I got the music and videos on the main menu and a but load of information in the system information screen.

Next thing to do is learn how to use it.

There could be a router firewall blocking some things. I guess that's my next step.
Scott D is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-29-2005, 09:19 AM   #169 (Print)
beejaycee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: N'Awlins
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunnyman2k3
I heard from Scott and all is well.
He started over restoring a backup and got it done.
YAY Scott!

to Scott! And for being smart enough to have created a back up when he started. (Why do people skip that step? NOT that I ever have! ) Thanks for filling us in, Gunny.

Last edited by beejaycee : 05-29-2005 at 01:35 PM. Reason: Typo fixed
beejaycee is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-29-2005, 09:50 AM   #170 (Print)
bnm81002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,359
Gunny,
have a suggestion for you, can you please edit your "guide" with dates along with it, everytime I check on your "guide" I see that you updated/edited something and it's hard to keep track on it,
example just something like 5-29(edit) that's all nothing major, thanks

__________________
Philips DSR704(2 of these)
Pioneer DVR810H
bnm81002 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-29-2005, 09:53 AM   #171 (Print)
Gunnyman
Hamob
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Beautiful Downtown Greenville SC
Posts: 9,368
Trials and tribulations last night caused me to do some fixes this morning.
I'll update the date revised, next time I'm in front of the PC with Frontpage installed on it.

__________________
Gunny - have I told you that your avatar always makes me smile? Waldingrl
Zipper Wiki
Join us in Vegas!
Gunnyman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-29-2005, 10:01 AM   #172 (Print)
bnm81002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunnyman2k3
Trials and tribulations last night caused me to do some fixes this morning.
I'll update the date revised, next time I'm in front of the PC with Frontpage installed on it.



THANK YOU
totally forgot your "guide" looks GREAT but still dunno which way and guide to use either yours or David's 6.2 slices guide, they both look good and easy to use

__________________
Philips DSR704(2 of these)
Pioneer DVR810H
bnm81002 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-29-2005, 10:02 AM   #173 (Print)
Scott D
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Pasadena, Texas
Posts: 711
I knew I could do this. The only way to learn is to dive right in.
Scott D is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-29-2005, 10:10 AM   #174 (Print)
Gunnyman
Hamob
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Beautiful Downtown Greenville SC
Posts: 9,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by bnm81002
THANK YOU
totally forgot your "guide" looks GREAT but still dunno which way and guide to use either yours or David's 6.2 slices guide, they both look good and easy to use

If you have 4.0 and don't want to lose recordings, or you want wireless with 6.2, dellanave's guide on 6.2 from slices is definitely the way to go.
I was only able to go wireless on 6.2 by slicing from 4.0 to 6.2

__________________
Gunny - have I told you that your avatar always makes me smile? Waldingrl
Zipper Wiki
Join us in Vegas!
Gunnyman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-29-2005, 10:38 AM   #175 (Print)
Gunnyman
Hamob
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Beautiful Downtown Greenville SC
Posts: 9,368
revisions noted and dated, thanks for that suggestion.

__________________
Gunny - have I told you that your avatar always makes me smile? Waldingrl
Zipper Wiki
Join us in Vegas!
Gunnyman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-29-2005, 12:57 PM   #176 (Print)
III Claws
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1
I had a problem finding the Netfilter last night but thanks to Gunnyman he figured it out. I was in the wrong partition. Everything worked perfectly after figuring that out so I wanted to give a big thank you to Gunnyman for this "not a guide" and his personal help. You are the man!!

Side note: WOOHOO my first post
III Claws is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-29-2005, 01:11 PM   #177 (Print)
David Platt
Large Ebony Rooster
 
David Platt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 4,949
Send a message via AIM to David Platt
Quote:
Originally Posted by owlhooter
Might want to change to the directory using "cd rc.d" not mv.
Whoops-- good catch! Had mv on the brain since I had just typed "move to the directory!"
David Platt is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-29-2005, 01:18 PM   #178 (Print)
outerlimits
SKI BUM. Got Snow?
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Berryville, Virginia
Posts: 295
First let me say many thanks gunny. The guide was great and easy to follow. Took me 1 try to copy all the files and get up and running.

I do have 2 problems.

1. Cannot connect via ftp. I get the following message:
An established connection was aborted by the software in your host machine.

2. The hours do not match with the hard drive capacity. Currently the system information screen shows 243 hours. I thought that is the dual 137 limit. I have dual 200 GB hard drives. Do I need to do anything additional to unlock the full capacity? I thought the 3.1.5 kernal was LBA enabled?
outerlimits is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-29-2005, 01:28 PM   #179 (Print)
bnm81002
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunnyman2k3
If you have 4.0 and don't want to lose recordings, or you want wireless with 6.2, dellanave's guide on 6.2 from slices is definitely the way to go.
I was only able to go wireless on 6.2 by slicing from 4.0 to 6.2



opps forgot to mention I still have 3.1.1e and a new Seagate 200GB drive waiting to be hacked, just have no time to do it yet

__________________
Philips DSR704(2 of these)
Pioneer DVR810H
bnm81002 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 05-29-2005, 01:40 PM   #180 (Print)
Gunnyman
Hamob
 
Gunnyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Beautiful Downtown Greenville SC
Posts: 9,368
Quote:
Originally Posted by outerlimits
First let me say many thanks gunny. The guide was great and easy to follow. Took me 1 try to copy all the files and get up and running.

I do have 2 problems.

1. Cannot connect via ftp. I get the following message:
An established connection was aborted by the software in your host machine.

2. The hours do not match with the hard drive capacity. Currently the system information screen shows 243 hours. I thought that is the dual 137 limit. I have dual 200 GB hard drives. Do I need to do anything additional to unlock the full capacity? I thought the 3.1.5 kernal was LBA enabled?

As for problemmo number 1, make sure tivoftpd is running. from bash prompt execute the ps command. If it's running, it will be listed there. If it's not, start it at the bash prompt by typing tivoftpd.
If it IS running, there have been reports of telnet working but ftp not if netfilter is still enabled.
As for question number 2, the 3.1.5 kernel is indeed LBA48 aware. I think you have hit a limitation within MFS itself, but someone more experienced with that should chime in.

__________________
Gunny - have I told you that your avatar always makes me smile? Waldingrl
Zipper Wiki
Join us in Vegas!
Gunnyman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Underground Playground > TiVo Underground

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index