TiVo Community Forum

TiVo Community Forum Archive 2
Covering threads with a last post date between
July 1, 2004 and December 31, 2005.
THIS IS A READ ONLY SITE
 


 

SEARCH  |  ARCHIVE 1 MAIN SITE

 
Forum Jump
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-17-2005, 10:31 AM   #1 (Print)
javahmo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,536
Galleon 1.1.0

The open source Galleon 1.1.0 media server for TiVo is now available.

This version includes the following:
  • Made screensaver configurable.
  • Added new skin with TiVo look-and-feel.
  • Improved default port logic.
  • Support more image formats: jpg, png, gif, bmp, wbmp
  • Added play to top-level music, iTunes, photo, organizer menus.
  • Fixed app removal.
  • Movies app.
  • Fixed web images update bug.

Here are some screenshots of the current version.

This version includes a Windows installation wizard which will install Galleon as a service. An OS X installation will be supported later.

Your TiVo needs to be running at least version 7.1 software.

__________________
galleon.tv
javahmo at users.sourceforge.net
javahmo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-17-2005, 11:00 AM   #2 (Print)
jubrand
Temporarily Stairs
 
jubrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 277
Send a message via Yahoo to jubrand
All the new features are working! Good thing you didn't release this yesterday!
jubrand is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-17-2005, 01:19 PM   #3 (Print)
DigitalDan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North of Dallas TX
Posts: 21
I downloaded this today. My first experience with Galleon. The install went very well. I set up the Weather app and the TiVo to go app and they work great. I then tried to set up the email app and can't get it to work. When I select it, it just sits there. I am sure my POP information and account information are correct. When I could not get it to work, I deleted the app. It no longer shows in Galleon but is still on my "Music, Photos & More" screen. Any suggestions?

Dan
Dan
DigitalDan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-17-2005, 02:49 PM   #4 (Print)
drhatcher
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by jubrand
All the new features are working! Good thing you didn't release this yesterday!



Boy would that have triggered some confusion!!
drhatcher is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-17-2005, 03:07 PM   #5 (Print)
ACraigL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 398
Galleon Rocks.

__________________
  • TiVO Series 2 155 hrs > BuffaloTech WLI2-TX1-G54
  • Humax Series 2 80 hrs > Netgear WGE101NA
  • Harmony H688
Archos PMA430 Tips and Tutorials
ACraigL is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-17-2005, 06:15 PM   #6 (Print)
Esschoir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 44
Still No Go

Quote:
Originally Posted by javahmo
The open source Galleon 1.1.0 media server for TiVo is now available.

Just for the heck of it, uninstalled Galleon 1.0, JRE, and Bonjour Rendezvous and thought I'd start all over with a clean system (rebooted between uninstalls).

No joy. Galleon 1.1 Network Wizard still can't find my Tivo.

(Incidentally, the first install was "interrupted" claiming a failed JRE 5 install, which I don';t think is accurate - Add/Remove shows the program fully installed).

Re-ran the G install without the JRE checked to complete the setup.
Esschoir is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-17-2005, 06:34 PM   #7 (Print)
javahmo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalDan
I then tried to set up the email app and can't get it to work. When I select it, it just sits there.

Sits where? On the TiVo interface or in the configuration? Did you try the other protocols?

Quote:
I am sure my POP information and account information are correct. When I could not get it to work, I deleted the app. It no longer shows in Galleon but is still on my "Music, Photos & More" screen. Any suggestions?

Restart the Galleon service.

__________________
galleon.tv
javahmo at users.sourceforge.net
javahmo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-17-2005, 06:35 PM   #8 (Print)
javahmo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by Esschoir
Galleon 1.1 Network Wizard still can't find my Tivo.


Do you see the Galleon apps on your TiVo anyhow?

__________________
galleon.tv
javahmo at users.sourceforge.net
javahmo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-17-2005, 07:01 PM   #9 (Print)
Esschoir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by javahmo
Do you see the Galleon apps on your TiVo anyhow?

Nope. Only tried the Quickstart apps so far, they are running per the applet, but do not show on my Tivo.
Esschoir is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-17-2005, 07:35 PM   #10 (Print)
altobeeper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 4
Galleon didn't discover my units either

Galleon didn't find my TiVos (not any of the 4 of them) so I punched in the IPs myself. After I did, two showed up. Once I re-booted the others all showed up.

It totally rocks now - even allowing for Samba drives (ARQ) to show in music. Much nicer then TiVo apps!! Keep up the great work
altobeeper is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-17-2005, 07:37 PM   #11 (Print)
Esschoir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by altobeeper
Galleon didn't find my TiVos (not any of the 4 of them) so I punched in the IPs myself. After I did, two showed up. Once I re-booted the others all showed up.

It totally rocks now - even allowing for Samba drives (ARQ) to show in music. Much nicer then TiVo apps!! Keep up the great work

Punched in where, exactly, in the configuerator?
Esschoir is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-17-2005, 08:47 PM   #12 (Print)
jubrand
Temporarily Stairs
 
jubrand's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 277
Send a message via Yahoo to jubrand
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalDan
I downloaded this today. My first experience with Galleon. The install went very well. I set up the Weather app and the TiVo to go app and they work great. I then tried to set up the email app and can't get it to work. When I select it, it just sits there. I am sure my POP information and account information are correct. When I could not get it to work, I deleted the app. It no longer shows in Galleon but is still on my "Music, Photos & More" screen. Any suggestions?

Dan
Dan


Try using "pop3s" instead of "pop". That's what I had to change to get it to work.
jubrand is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-17-2005, 09:14 PM   #13 (Print)
kd_cooke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 23
Strange.... Since upgrading to 1.1.0, my music organizer seems broken.... All the sort options are still present, and the app still shows that I have 9800 or so MP3s, but when I select and of the sort views, they are all empty -- no music files anywhere?
kd_cooke is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-17-2005, 09:23 PM   #14 (Print)
javahmo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by kd_cooke
Strange.... Since upgrading to 1.1.0, my music organizer seems broken.... All the sort options are still present, and the app still shows that I have 9800 or so MP3s, but when I select and of the sort views, they are all empty -- no music files anywhere?


Email me your logs.

__________________
galleon.tv
javahmo at users.sourceforge.net
javahmo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-17-2005, 09:45 PM   #15 (Print)
Stormspace
Disruptive Influence
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 897
Send a message via AIM to Stormspace
Quote:
Originally Posted by kd_cooke
Strange.... Since upgrading to 1.1.0, my music organizer seems broken.... All the sort options are still present, and the app still shows that I have 9800 or so MP3s, but when I select and of the sort views, they are all empty -- no music files anywhere?


I'm seeing the same behavior.

__________________
180hr Series 2
w/Blitzz BWU613 NetWave Point USB
80hr Series 2
w/linksys WUSB11 USB Adapter
Galleon 2.1 on 260GB WIN2000

"No daddy, it's a 181 hour tivo" - Margaret
Stormspace is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-18-2005, 10:33 AM   #16 (Print)
DigitalDan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North of Dallas TX
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by javahmo
Sits where? On the TiVo interface or in the configuration? Did you try the other protocols?


When I select email from the Music Photos and more screen it goes to a screen with my email name on the top and just displays that screen. I let it sit for 30 minutes and nothing happens. I called my ISP and they said to use POP3, if that is what you mean by protocols.


Quote:
Restart the Galleon service.


This took care of it, thanks.
DigitalDan is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-18-2005, 02:14 PM   #17 (Print)
loganizzi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 41
Problems seeing music

I am also having issues seeing my music listed in the Music Organizer. The number of songs is being displayed properly however if I look under any of the categories (Artist, Album; Genre; etc.) the folders are completely empty.

I've tried rebooting and restarting the Galleon server, but neither had any effect.

I am able to play my playlists back without problem, and the Weather and Movie apps are working fine.

I've attached my log files.

Thanks

-Chris
Attached Files
File Type: zip logfiles.zip (20.6 KB, 20 views)
loganizzi is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-18-2005, 03:23 PM   #18 (Print)
Dougieha
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by altobeeper
Galleon didn't find my TiVos (not any of the 4 of them) so I punched in the IPs myself. After I did, two showed up. Once I re-booted the others all showed up.

It totally rocks now - even allowing for Samba drives (ARQ) to show in music. Much nicer then TiVo apps!! Keep up the great work


Where did you punch them in?
Dougieha is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-18-2005, 04:32 PM   #19 (Print)
ACraigL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 398
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dougieha
Where did you punch them in?

File > ToGo > Tivo's tab

__________________
  • TiVO Series 2 155 hrs > BuffaloTech WLI2-TX1-G54
  • Humax Series 2 80 hrs > Netgear WGE101NA
  • Harmony H688
Archos PMA430 Tips and Tutorials
ACraigL is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-18-2005, 04:49 PM   #20 (Print)
Dougieha
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACraigL
File > ToGo > Tivo's tab


I've done that, and the current shows on the Tivo show up in the Recordings tab, but the Tivo still can't be found on the network from the Properties... window where you test the connection to find Tivos on the network.

Does this work for you?
Dougieha is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-18-2005, 05:35 PM   #21 (Print)
angel35
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NEW YORK CITY
Posts: 269
Send a message via AIM to angel35 Send a message via Yahoo to angel35
Can some one help. I see galleon 110 on my tivo the only thing i dont see is the logos along side the apps on the tivo

__________________
WE LOVE WE SEE AND WE ARE GONE

Toshiba RS-TX20

Pioneer DVR-57TH

Tivo-540
angel35 is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-18-2005, 06:43 PM   #22 (Print)
javahmo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalDan
When I select email from the Music Photos and more screen it goes to a screen with my email name on the top and just displays that screen. I let it sit for 30 minutes and nothing happens. I called my ISP and they said to use POP3, if that is what you mean by protocols.


Do you have any unread email in the inbox of that account; otherwise you will see nothing listed in the app.

__________________
galleon.tv
javahmo at users.sourceforge.net
javahmo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-18-2005, 06:47 PM   #23 (Print)
javahmo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by loganizzi
I am also having issues seeing my music listed in the Music Organizer. The number of songs is being displayed properly however if I look under any of the categories (Artist, Album; Genre; etc.) the folders are completely empty.

I've tried rebooting and restarting the Galleon server, but neither had any effect.

I am able to play my playlists back without problem, and the Weather and Movie apps are working fine.

I've attached my log files.

Thanks

-Chris


There arent any errors in the logs. Enable debug logging using the File/Properties menu in the Galleon configuration GUI. Then remove the organizer app, restart the Galleon service and then add the organizer app back again. Wait until the total displayed in the app matches your total MP3 files. Then email me all of the log files in the Galleon logs directory (my email address is in my signature)

__________________
galleon.tv
javahmo at users.sourceforge.net
javahmo is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-18-2005, 07:09 PM   #24 (Print)
bmgoodman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Northern VA, USA
Posts: 198
I am still having lots of freezes with Galleon, even with 1.1.0. I have no problems with Tivo Desktop 2.1. Additionally, the music organizer is set to catalog a single folder and it shows 29xx files while there are only 16xx .mp3 files in that folder.

I am including my logs from this evening.
Attached Files
File Type: zip log.txt.zip (87.8 KB, 18 views)
bmgoodman is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-18-2005, 08:42 PM   #25 (Print)
Stormspace
Disruptive Influence
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 897
Send a message via AIM to Stormspace
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmgoodman
I am still having lots of freezes with Galleon, even with 1.1.0. I have no problems with Tivo Desktop 2.1. Additionally, the music organizer is set to catalog a single folder and it shows 29xx files while there are only 16xx .mp3 files in that folder.

I am including my logs from this evening.


Today for some reason my Tivo completely locks up when I use Galleon. Yesterday with the exception of the organizer everything was working.

__________________
180hr Series 2
w/Blitzz BWU613 NetWave Point USB
80hr Series 2
w/linksys WUSB11 USB Adapter
Galleon 2.1 on 260GB WIN2000

"No daddy, it's a 181 hour tivo" - Margaret
Stormspace is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-18-2005, 08:48 PM   #26 (Print)
kd_cooke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 23
JavaHMO -- I just emailed you my logs per your instructions above....
kd_cooke is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-18-2005, 09:07 PM   #27 (Print)
greg_burns
Now in HD
 
greg_burns's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Slower Lower Delaware
Posts: 1,442
Send a message via MSN to greg_burns
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stormspace
Today for some reason my Tivo completely locks up when I use Galleon. Yesterday with the exception of the organizer everything was working.


Mine does the same. Usually I have to restart the service to "unfreeze" the Tivo.

Doesn't seem to be any app in particular. Just tried again tonight and it did it with the movie app after just viewing two listings.
greg_burns is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-18-2005, 09:47 PM   #28 (Print)
Norgoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 119
I am having what seems a multitude of problems now. I have not had any real issues before downloading and installing 1.1 over 1.0. At this point I cannot get Galleon to recognize my second tivo(this is the one I use most often), nor can I get the Tivo itself to enable the HME feature(ie: I cannot get it to say Music, Photos and More). I believe I am going through the proper procedures, but it just keeps staying at Music, Photos. As of a couple of minutes ago now, Galleon cannot find the server. I might try a brand new clean install, including Java. What and how please should I uninstall the applications to get a clean install?

I also just realized that though the tivo is connected via my wireless network and is seen by the router and Tivo Desktop, Desktop is not seeing any of my recorded shows on that tivo. The server application does see the tivo though.

Thanks.
Norgoth is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-18-2005, 09:57 PM   #29 (Print)
greg_burns
Now in HD
 
greg_burns's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Slower Lower Delaware
Posts: 1,442
Send a message via MSN to greg_burns
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norgoth
nor can I get the Tivo itself to enable the HME feature(ie: I cannot get it to say Music, Photos and More).


You are aware of the "problem" over the weekend? link

If you haven't yet, I would force a connection (or two) and reboot your Tivo.
greg_burns is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
Old 07-18-2005, 10:03 PM   #30 (Print)
Norgoth
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 119
Thanks so much. I just found the whole thread and was just reading it when I came back to edit my post. Thanks for the heads up. Of course, I already unloaded Galleon. Now I will have to reinstall it, doh!!
Norgoth is offline Report Bad Post Report Post
 
Forum Jump
Thread Tools

Go Back  TiVo Community Archive2 > Main TiVo Forums > TiVo Home Media Features & TiVoToGo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C)opyright - All Rights Reserved. No information may be posted elsewhere without written permission.
TiVoŽ is a registered trademark of TiVo Inc. This site is not affiliated with TiVo Inc.


Spider History Index